We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge at Mountaineer Square to your Saves list
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We decided to try the hotel based on others recommendations on tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed! Check in was wonderful. Staff were very accommodating and informative of the area. We were in our room in no time. Maintenance was called to check on television reception and arrived and fixed the problem in less than 5 minutes. The front desk even called to check on our satisfication. Like others said there is a shuttle to go back to town every 20 minutes and the hotel will provide their own service to and from town if a bellman is available. We were so impressed we decided to stay another night!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. They are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    15
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
71
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is an excellent resort. The staff are very friendly especially 'Ruby' our housekeeper. She gave us advice, extra bottles of water, and friendly notes each day. The location is superb. There is a shuttle going back and forth to Crested Butte each hour. The room was clean and well maintained. The activities around the resort range from hiking, biking, swimming, fishing to zip-line and rafting. The restaurants in Crested Butte are definitely fit for foodies!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We decided to have a long weekend as a quick honeymoon after getting married. My husband and I have spent many weekends in Crested Butte camping and riding, and decided to step it up for a weekend by spending the weekend at the Lodge at Mountaineer Square. We were totally impressed with our housekeeper, Ruby, who welcomed us warmly, sent us off with well wishes and kept our room tidy and cozy. We were kindly upgraded upon arrival, utilized the shuttle service to town every night for dinner, and just had a fantastic time! CB has amazing dining options for a small resort town, and I highly recommend eating out as often as possible! (Great French Restaurant by Clarks! Jengo's right in the Square, Izzy's for breakfast, and the Pita place were all great!) We love CB and WILL return to stay at this Lodge! Only downside...small pool area...but soo many other things to do...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a wonderful choice. Very pleasant and knowledgable staff. Beautiful,very clean,quiet room with a very comfortable bed. Housekeeping (Ruby) is the best!! A hotel located within easy access either by car , bus or on foot to any location. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed with 2 older children (11 and 14) and had a great time. We booked on Hotels.com and got free gondola passes to go to the top of Mt. Crested Butte - about a $60 value. The scenery was magnificent. Of all the places in Colorado, we have only found Telluride to be as scenic... but there are so many things to do in this area. The food in the town was great - especially pizza at The Secret Stash. We had a marvelous time in a clean and quiet condo. We stayed in a one bedroom; 2-bath suite and found it well-appointed. The $20 per day parking garage fee is not an issue with us as it is the only place to park and is easy to access.

Room Tip: Rooms right at the elevator will hear the loud "dings" when the elevator arrives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while we were in town for a wedding. We are a family of 5 and booked a two bedroom suite. The two bedroom was large enough for all 5 of us (the staff brought us a reasonably comfortable cot for our youngest child). The suite had a well appointed kitchen, a large dining room table, a good-sized family room with comfortable chairs and a pull-out sofa bed, two large bedrooms, and 3 full baths. It was also really nice to have a decent size washer/dryer in the suite. Our balcony had a view of the courtyard and was very large. We sat out there often. Everything was very clean and nicely decorated. We had to call maintenance once to fix a leak from the dishwasher and they responded right away and came at a time that was convenient to us. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (I'd have to say downright some of the nicest people that we met on our trip!). Free bus into town is also a plus. Lots to do right there as well with hiking, mountain biking, Adventure Park for younger children, etc. Pool is indoor/outdoor and smallish but very pleasant and clean. Nice hot tub too! Try out the "Camp 4 Coffee" located just outside the hotel back door - YUM!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had visited Crested Butte many times to ski but never during the summer. On a cross country trip we booked the Lodge for 2 nights to check it out. We found the room very nice and the staff helpful. We were somewhat disappointed that the rate we expected was not what we had to pay due to many add ons such as parking and resort fees. These extra costs were not included in the reservation when booked. Unfortunately, this check in surprise colored my entire stay in a negative way.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask when booking about all expected expenses and where the property is located. The summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge at Mountaineer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Address: 620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Mountaineer Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the ski lifts, the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in Crested Butte, Colorado features premier studio, one, two, three, and four-bedroom suites with deluxe amenities, including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna and fitness room, bell, valet, concierge services and a full-service front desk. Relax in front of the fireplace and enjoy a drink with friends or associates at the on-site Trackers Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Lodge at Mountaineer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Mountaineer Square Hotel Crested Butte
Hotel At Mountaineer Square
At Mountaineer Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Mountaineer Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.