We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spring Break Ski Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge at Mountaineer Square to your Saves list
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Park, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best Spring Break Ski Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Everything about spring break in Crested Butte is easy. Fly into Gunnison airport, take the Alpine shuttle to the mountain resorts and your skis await you at the rental shops, which are then stored on the mountain so you don't have to carry them far after the day of skiing. The resort accommodations at LMS are all well kept and the staff attentive. The private ski lessons were fantastic and the kids had a blast in the terrain parks. Truly a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    18
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
71
83
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Look no further. This place has it all! Friendly helpful staff. Fantastic rooms and easy access to slopes. They will go above and beyond to fit your needs. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

if you want to stay almost feets away from the lifts , with a big and clean roon , you should choose this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have stayed in the Lodge At Mountaineer Square several years in a row. This slope side hotel is great. The suites are beautiful; the views of Crested Butte are awesome; walking out your door almost on top of the ski lifts is convenient; and the service ethic is just fantastic. Everyone was helpful, pleasant and appeared honestly interested in making sure we were happy. Our three bedroom suite must have had 31 places to sit, 4 large flat screen TVs, blue ray players in every room, 4 phones, the most comfortable beds/linens, etc. So, when we weren't skiing or shopping we felt surrounded by luxury. Chuck Donnelly is a great General Manager and pays constant attention to his guests needs. Ruby, our house keeper, was also amazing. Every day she left an inspiring note on our counter with an interesting quote and she checked on us at least twice a day, if not more, to make sure there was nothing that we needed. You can tell that she loves her work and it's not just a job. As I mentioned initially, we have stayed in the Lodge before and it has always been great but this year was even better. The flat screen TVs were larger, the blue ray players were new, and they had an amazing 80's party with a phenomenal band over the weekend. It drew a fun mix of guests, employees, and locals with everyone having fun. The band is out of Denver (6 Million Dollar Band) and they played for over 4 hours and every song was great. The crowd was really into it. I haven't even mentioned the great mountain and quaint town. Crested Butte has some of the best back country advanced skiing around, but not at the expense of blue and green trails. My wife is a beginner and she had plenty to ski. I am comfortable with single black diamonds and also skiied all week without getting bored. My daughter was searching for cliffs and woods and never ran out of terrain. And lift lines? Forget it, there are none. In addition, the town of Crested Butte is fun and has a surprising number of great restaurants. We really liked Soupcon, Marchitelli's Noodles, Ryce Asian Bistro, and Wooden Nickel. Uley's Cabin (the ice bar) is another great dinner spot half way up the mountain). Crested Butte might be a little harder to reach then Park City or Vail but it's a great resort and Lodge at Mountaineer Square is the best hotel at the resort!

Room Tip: Ask to face the mountain for amazing views of Crested Butte but even if you don't there are stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was out third year in a row at the Lodge, which we found to have the best accommodations overall in Crested Butte. We had a two bedroom condo with well-equipped full kitchen and a great view of the slopes. Beds are super comfortable, excellent flat screen HD t.v. with DVD player in living room, and HDTVs in bedrooms. Staff are wonderfully friendly and accommodating, without exception.

Only caveat is that the fitness center and pool are small (though the hot tub is fabulous!). You'll need to go to the Elevation Spa and Fitness Center next door for a real workout. However, the rooms at the Lodge are the best, so we stay here when we're in CB.

CB is a special place--one of the last non jet-setter ski resorts left in Colorado. The town is charming with many more excellent restaurants than you would imagine for a small town. We almost hate to write this, as it may entice more people to come : ).

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the slopes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed in a one bedroom condo February 2012. The staff was top notch in every way. We used the private shuttle several times and had every question answered to our satisfaction. The condo was serviced every day (which I am definitely not accustomed to!) including loading/unloading the dishwasher.

The unit actually had two bathrooms, each one quite large. Several other reviews indicated the bed was too soft. We prefer firm beds and the one in the unit we stayed in was perfect.

The area does shut down fairly early so don't wait until 10 p.m. to try to find someplace to eat at Mt. Crested Butte. You will have to plan to go downtown!

Room Tip: We asked about our view. She assured us that if we were not happy with the view, we could come down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very nice and helpful staff. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and they're nicely laid out so quite roomy for two. Proximity to the slopes, resturaunts and town with the shuttle can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 11 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plaza Condominiums
The Plaza Condominiums
#4 of 11 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 11 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#2 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crested Butte Mountain Resort
Crested Butte Mountain Resort
#5 of 11 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Mountaineer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Address: 620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Mountaineer Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the ski lifts, the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in Crested Butte, Colorado features premier studio, one, two, three, and four-bedroom suites with deluxe amenities, including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna and fitness room, bell, valet, concierge services and a full-service front desk. Relax in front of the fireplace and enjoy a drink with friends or associates at the on-site Trackers Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Lodge at Mountaineer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Mountaineer Square Hotel Crested Butte
Hotel At Mountaineer Square
At Mountaineer Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Mountaineer Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.