We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!! Wonderful staff....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Town Inn to your Saves list
Old Town Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   708 6th St, Crested Butte, CO 81224   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Crested Butte, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!!! Wonderful staff....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is my first visit to this quaint little town and the staff at the inn were so friendly and helpful. The inn is so conviently located to everything in town and parking is great. This will be my go to place for my next visit in April..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edwards, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times. I love the staff, friendly atmosphere, quaintness, dog friendly rooms and location.
Not to mention the variety of breakfast items in the morning and the fresh baked cookies in the evening. Great basecamp for hiking and biking!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We chose the Old Town because it was one of the cheapest motel options for Crested Butte. It is your basic older motel with dark rooms. But our room was plenty large for our needs – and clean. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and they have fresh baked cookies each afternoon - yummy. The hot tub was OK but in a rather non-private area - and smelled of chlorine.

But the reason I recommend this place is its location. For one, it is across the street from the town park where a concert was held the night we were in town. Crested Butte is small and that evening with everyone scattered on the Green with blankets, chairs and food was delightful. Later, we wanted to save money so went to the grocery store immediately behind the motel for some sandwich stuff and then to a movie in the theatre next door. (All very small town touristy cute. We loved Crested Butte.) We earlier walked to both a lovely hiking trail and to the main street with all the restaurants. Neither was real close to the motel but we came to CO to hike, so we did a lot of walking. So - if you want to save money by staying less expensively, I recommend Old Town. Just don't expect an "Inn atmosphere." It is basic.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland Springs, Me
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Old Town Inn is located next to the Welcome to Crested Butte town sign. If you stay up at one of the ski resort places on the mountain - your paying 100.00 more for nothing. Since all the action is in town anyway - this is where I have enjoyed staying with every return trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We stayed here the second week of January and thought it was perfect. It's a quaint little place, right there as you drive into town. The free bus that heads to the ski resort picks up right outside, and the inn is just a few blocks from the town's main street, Elk Ave.
The service was awesome — really friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable.
For the price, you can't do much better than this in any ski town.
Will definitely stay here again the next time we're in Crested Butte.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The Old Town Inn could be just another generic hotel when you look at the rooms (which are clean and fine). But it's all of the little things that make this a great, comfortable place to stay. From the chocolate chip cookies at the front desk when you check in, to the pleasant and friendly staff, to the substantial continental breakfast, everything makes you feel at home. We've stayed here twice in the last year and both experiences were great. The continental breakfast has been expanded to include hard boiled eggs and mini-quiches since the comments were written about no proteins for breakfast. I'm already looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

When we arrived without reservations in Crested Butte, the first place we landed was the welcome center. After looking at a newer place with a higher rate per night, we spoted two Townie bicycles at the front door of The Old Town Inn. Since this Inn is at the edge of town, we thought they might allow us to use the bikes to ride down main street. We were greeted by friendly, Michael Garren, at the front desk. He immediately made us feel welcome. The rate was super reasonable. This made me a bit suspicious, so I asked to see the room. With the exception of a hike up the stairway and a pretty dark hallway, the room was spacious, very clean, and the beds were comfortable. Michael allowed us to take the bikes to town and gave us several recomendations for lunch. By the way, he was right, all of the restaurants are really great. Try Lil's for sushi.

The Inn provides a delicious continental breakfast each morning. It's a bit more than a normal continental, with sliced peaches, quiche and hard boiled eggs. I would recommend that the breakfast be kept out until 10:30. There are also cookies in the late afternoon. Nice touch! The location can't be beat. There is a supermarket within walking distance and we actually walked to town for dinner.

We think Michael and Sandy are doing a great job. We will be back!!

PS: Our IPAD worked perfectly in the room (wireless).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 708 6th St, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If the mountains are whispering your name, give us a call. The Old Town Inn makes a great home base for your Crested Butte adventures, wild or civilized. The inn offers all the amenities of a traditional hotel, but feels more like a bed-and-breakfast or European inn, where guests are welcomed like family. Here you can launch your day’s adventure with a hearty Continental breakfast and end it with home-made cookies and treats and a luxuriant soak in our outdoor hot tub. Though we offer one of the best lodging values in Crested Butte, we take excellent care of our guests. Our 33 rooms are spacious and spotless, most with two queen-sized beds (or ask about our king rooms or suite if you prefer). Rooms feature cable television with HBO, phones with voice mail messaging, wireless Internet access and daily housekeeping service. We also provide guest laundry facilities and fax service. We are located at the entrance to Crested Butte, right next to the Town Park, Center for the Arts, movie theater, grocery store and restaurants. We’re just a short walk from historic downtown’s shops and eateries and from cross-country skiing, hiking and biking trails. Just a few steps away, you can catch the free shuttle bus to the ski area. We’d love to be a part of your next mountain getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel Crested Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.