We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came , we saw, we did not want to leave.....EVER !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elevation Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Elevation Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Gothic Road, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BVI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We came , we saw, we did not want to leave.....EVER !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We had no idea of Crested Butte, friends recommended it. I have never experienced what we did there. If anyone is in doubt about where to go skiing, do yourself a favour and try it, it is a guaranteed win !
The slopes are amazing, the staff on the slopes are amazing, the ski patrols are brilliant. The base is amazing, the Elevation Hotel is beyond words , the bus service to take you into town runs like clockwork, making so many more restaurants available.
All in all ,, just go there, we are sold on Crested Butte and its people and will be going back forever.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    118
    30
    21
    22
See reviews for
148
184
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Great location, large comfortable rooms and friendly staff. There is no AC at this hotel and rooms can get warm during night. Valet parking only at $15/day. There is no need for a car. Great free shuttle service.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

This hotel is well located... very close to lifts. I had the impression from the online listing that this is a new hotel... it is not... it is a hotel that has been substantially renovated. Some areas still need work... the elevators were noticeably well 'broken-in'.

Our guest room was new and spacious with beautiful finishes... our only complaint with the room was that it was dark... the windows provided minimal light and there were not enough lights to illuminate the room well... it was very difficult to find things in the closet because we just couldn't see. Darkness seems to be a theme throughout the hotel... apparently a limitation of the original architecture.

For the most part we found the service to be exceptional... the front desk, concierge, parking valets/bell-hops, ski valets, gym attendants... all very nice and helpful.

The restaurant service and food left something to be desired... it seemed to be understaffed.. no host to greet you... didn't seem organized. We had a sub-par lunch there. Attempted to have breakfast but finally gave up when we couldn't get service even though there were only 3 parties eating at the time. Fortunately, there are many restaurants within easy walking distance.

The gym here is exceptional for a hotel gym... surprisingly well equipped, and the locker rooms are beautiful. They also offer spa services.

Other things to consider:
There is no free or self parking... valet parking only;
Check-out is 10AM;
The jacuzzi is indoors... not really what you are looking for at a ski resort.

An OK place if you get it at a bargain price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

This was our first trip to Crested Butte, CO and was concerned when choosing a hotel. The Elevation was a great choice for 2 main reasons...the proximity to the ski lifts was the closest of all hotels and the room was very nice. The room was very clean and the kitchenette was small but very functional. The service was excellent. My wife and I also tried out the spa and had a couples massage. Besides the difficulty in making the reservations the experience was very pleasant. The restaurant in the Hotel (9380) had very good food but the service was terrible. There is also a firepit and bar on the backside of the hotel which is nice to relax after skiing. I would stay here again if we came back to Crested Butte. Also, if you travel with pets, this hotel is very, very pet friendly. There is only 1 room in the entire hotel that doesn't allow pets.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Elevation Hotel in Mt Crested Butte March 6-9, 2008. The staff was great & the rooms were comfortable. The hotel is located right at the base of one of the main ski lifts, and within walking distance of all ski related services. The hotel has a ski shop that we rented our equipment from, and you get free storage there as well. Buy your lift tickets & reserve your equipment online prior to your trip for discounted rates!

The only down side, there is no parking other than valet, and its $15 a night. However, we discovered there are free town shuttles that run every 15 minutes to take you into town. So for us, our rented car was a waste of money!

We ate at the hotel, as well as in town, but once we discovered the Avalanche right outside the hotel, we ate there most, it was cheap & good! We would stay at this hotel again for sure.

  • Liked — Perfect Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aledo, tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

Stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms. Nice Kitchette, extra closet space, and nice bedding. Hotel offers "escalade" ride anywhere into town, and will pick you up with just a phone call.
Spa is just mediocre. One would think using "spa" in the name of the hotel would mean the spa was wonderful. It was a room with 2 closets in it for massages.
Food at the hotel restaurant was pricey but good. Portion sizes enough to split with someone else. Would definitly stay here again. They offer a ski valet conveniently located and free.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

We checked in on 12/29/07 and stayed through 1/2/08.

I am going to list each area on its own.

Valet:
Parking is included in your stay and we were impressed with the level of friendliness of the valets..We were early for check in so they unloaded our car and stored the items for us. Even dropping our ski's across the street to be tuned and waxed! The were helpful when we forgot some things in the car and had to go back down..When we left I called down for them to get our bags and they arrived within 5 min. They even had the car running,heater and our seats turned on for us so that when we got in the car it was warm! A very nice touch on such a cold day.

Check In:
We were early and when we arrived. a tthe front desk there was only 1 person on duty who was on the phone. However an off duty employee noticed us waiting and jumped behind the counter to get us started. knowing we were early I was not expecting to get our room yet and indeed it was not ready. But when front desk called up and asked housekeeping if it was the housekeeping supervisor overheard it on his walkie and sent them to do our room right away! Once again very impressed. We were happy to go off the the bar and have a drink while we waited (took about 40 min) not only that while we were wating we saw Bill Murray in the Bar!!!

The bar downstairs:
Not sure what the name was...but I have to say I was very unimpressed with the level of service. This is not a big place and 2 bartenders were on duty and they were obviously not that well trained (hubby & I both tended bar through college) This was a theme throughout our entire stay at the Bars & retsurants. the food and drink were good but they took forever to get to you & what you ordered. 1st rule even if your busy LOOK at the Customer and acknowledge them! Don't walk past 5-6 times and ignore them. This even happened with a magager of the bar! (large blonde woman) Even first thing in the morning we went to get some breakfast burrito's and they just ignored us! Once I could have blown off, but whether they were busy or not and at all the resturants and bars this happened. Mind you this was the only complaint I had about the weekend. Some training would solve this problem easily!..

The room:
We booked an Apex King with a mountain view. Room was great, nice linens, marble counters, LCD Tv and DVD player..looks just like the pictures on the website. All brand new. Nice little balcony that overlooked the Red Lady lift. A bonus for us as we could see the snowboarding competition they has as well as the fireworks from it. Housekeeping was good if not a little slow. One morning they forgot to leave us bar towels but they brought us some as soon as I asked.

Concierge:
Fantastic very friendly young guy helped us out several times.

The Mountain:
The reason we came! Very nice lots of advanced terrain as well as a good amount of intermediate stuff (we will go back with our kids next time) Only complaint is that often when you exit a lift you go uphill instead of level or down making it difficult to get out of the way. That and I did think the could make some of the catwalks have a little more grade as we saw lots of people walking because they did not get enough speed. All in all we enjoyed it quite a bit.

Pool/Hot Tub/Sauna:
Pool was quite small but indoors and heated. The kids we saw in it appeared to be enjoying it though.

Hot Tub: seated 6 and was clean and HOT. We used it every night after skiing and only once was there another couple in it.

Sauna: Did not use but it looked brand new.

Ski check:
overall very friendly and sooooo convenient. We could ski almost to the door of the hotel pop off our ski's and only have to carry them 10 ft to the check which was right at the door. One bad experience with a guy from another country one morning..I am pretty sure he was hung over, but he was so rude. Other than that one guy everyone was friendly and helpful.

Ski Shops: had our skii's tuned and waxed, they did an excellent job, very friendly. I picked upa new lens for my oakly goggles because it was snowwing so hard I needed a different tint. very helpful, good selection.
I hope this helps someone out :) I am happy to answer any questions

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Bar & Resturant Staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elevation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elevation Hotel & Spa

Address: 500 Gothic Road, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elevation Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elevation Hotel & Spa is the only full-service ski-in / ski-out hotel at Crested Butte Mountain Resort. The completely renovated property features 262 rooms and spacious suites. Enjoy first-class amenities and services, including swimming pool, hot tub, wireless internet, Spa treatments and Fitness Center, and valet, bell and concierge services. The on-site 9380 Prime Restaurant & Bar serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Elevation Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate slopeside luxury and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Elevation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elevation Hotel And Spa
The Elevation Hotel Crested Butte
Elevation Hotel Crested Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elevation Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.