We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crested Butte Wild Flowers!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elevation Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Elevation Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Gothic Road, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Crested Butte
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crested Butte Wild Flowers!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Elevation Hotel & Spa has nice large, newly decorated rooms. Staff was wonderful. Location is the best. We didn't have any children with us, but this is a very kid friendly place. It was fun watching the kids do their activities. Many summer activities. Next time we will bring our bikes to go down the mountain. Did a lot of hiking. Do drive the dirt roads to see the fabulous wild flowers. One of the prettiest places we have ever been to. We were there in mid July. Rooms were a little hot at night because there is no A/C.

Don't eat at "9380". View and service were great, but food was awful! Quality of food poor. Processed cubed chicken in nachos was tasteless. Chicken wings were not fully cooked and skin was rubber. Hot wings sauce was out of a can and blue cheese dip had no blue cheese in it. We left the food, it was so bad we could not eat it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    66
    17
    12
    11
See reviews for
97
124
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Summer at the Crested Butte is an experience. The whole town is bustling with activity. My husband and I stayed one night at this hotel. The room we had was spacious, roomy and had a small kitchenette, which was perfect for a couple on a road trip. The bed was really comfortable. As we checked in we were told we were invited to a wine tasting....for free! What a nice welcoming idea. It was not really a wine tasting, but a choice of house red or white. Don't get me wrong, because it was a perfect gesture, just the same, to be able to relax in the lobby with fellow travelers.

We had dinner at the restaurant, which was quite good. The outside deck for dining is great. Our room also included a lift ride up the mountain, which is in walking distance of the hotel. The wildflowers were in bloom and the day was glorious, who could ask for anything more for a mountain stay!

Room Tip: Dogs are allowed at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked a room expecting a classy experience at a spa for our engagement. After parking in a building (extra $$$) nowhere near the check-in, we ended up with a room right above the late night bar with no A/C and blaring music all day (so no use opening windows to cool off). After voicing our concerns, we were offered a room down the hall ,which would have put us in the room right next door (also right next to the bar, an all day mediocre cover band, and a relay race finish line compete with hamburgers and climbing wall). We love Crested Butte and may get married here, but you can do better than this hotel. May be a great resort for families visiting Colorado or those that want to zip line (literally) right outside their room, but a crap spa for anyone looking to get away, relax, and see one of the most beautiful places in the state.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great location; great staff; great room; great value; great amenities, etc., etc., etc. Almost can't say enough about the facility and staff. Only drawback was that the west-facing room was very warm. (We were there in middle of summer and our room did not have A/C.) We should have taken staff's offer for a portable air conditioning unit, but we enjoyed having the door open; although, street noise was a little bothersome, even from 5th floor. With door closed; however, the room was quiet. We would definitely stay there again. Everything you need is just steps from your room: shops, spa, pool, ski/mtn. bike slopes, chairlifts, etc. The room was spacious and comfortable; came with very handy kitchenette.

Room Tip: If staying in summer, ask for room facing mountain (east) on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Gorgeous mountain view room with small balcony. Really nicely decorated with lots of room for sofa bed and additional baby cot. Small kitchenette useful.
Hotel is lovely with super friendly staff and lots of facilities from spa, gym to pool. Only reason i'm not giving this place 5* is because the room was very very hot. They did warn me that there was no air con in the hotel but we did have a tough night's sleep due to the heat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel (originally called the Grand Butte) sits at the base of the Crested Butte lifts, making it perfect for ski season and also convenient to summer activities at the resort. Rooms have been tastefully redone since my last visit. We had a mountain-facing room and wished only that the small balcony had a couple of chairs, so we could sit down to hear the music playing below in the evening. Still, it was nice to be a distance from the speakers that over-amplify music when closer to the stage. We were glad to be on the mountain side of the hotel, which has no air conditioning. I think that a "courtyard" room might have been too stuffy for comfort. Hotel seems busy this summer. We had booked an economical courtyard room on last-minute special and were upgraded without having asked. Very happy about that. We were offered a box fan if we wanted/needed it, but our house is not air conditioned either, so we were OK. Mt. Crested sits a couple of miles above the historic old town of Crested Butte. A paved, wildflower-flanked.path connects the two, and the hotel is very close to the transportation center with free shuttle bus service every 15 minutes or so.

Room Tip: Mountainview rooms are preferable -- more fresh air and, of course, something besides a wall to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a really fun stay in Crested Butte at the Elevation, in spite of a few problems.

The room was very big, and well appointed. I paid a little extra for a mountain view room, perhaps that's why we had the great bathroom pictured on the website, unlike the reviewer below. Our biggest problem was the serious heat and stuffiness in the room. It was borderline uncomfortable for me (a Southerner) during the day, and too hot to sleep at night, even with the balcony door open and the ceiling fan going. Which is odd, because the outside nighttime temps were cool enough for me to need a sweater after sundown. It just couldn't penetrate our stuffy room until around 4 in the morning...just about the time the noise from the road began to pick up. The second night we had a box fan sent up, and it was better, although still a little uncomfortable. My Wisconsin-raised husband was livid, and still hasn't caught up on sleep even though we've been home a couple of days now.

My only other issue w/ the room was the crappy quality of sheeting, although they were triple sheeted. Nice robes, nice fridge, good bath amenities.

The parking garage was a massive cluster, the check-in drive through was apt to block the entrance (which doubled as exit) to the parking garage. On the other hand, they only charged me for 1 day parking ($15) even though we stayed 2 days.

The whole property was very nice. I loved having a Camp4Coffee nearby, we used the free lift tickets that came with our package and it was spectacular! Also enjoyed the firepit and the free concert on the 4th of July. There was free wine in the lobby from 6-7 every night, but we never tried it. It was a good location for mountain biking, with quick access to the rec path and situated between the Snodgrass and Lupine trailheads on/off of Gothic Rd. I would stay there again IF I failed at finding a place in CB with air conditioning. I would also make sure to ask for the non-sunny side of the bldg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Elevation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elevation Hotel & Spa

Address: 500 Gothic Road, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elevation Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elevation Hotel & Spa is the only full-service ski-in / ski-out hotel at Crested Butte Mountain Resort. The completely renovated property features 262 rooms and spacious suites. Enjoy first-class amenities and services, including swimming pool, hot tub, wireless internet, Spa treatments and Fitness Center, and valet, bell and concierge services. The on-site 9380 Prime Restaurant & Bar serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Elevation Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate slopeside luxury and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Elevation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elevation Hotel And Spa
The Elevation Hotel Crested Butte
Elevation Hotel Crested Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elevation Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.