We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damaged Vehicle & Luggage” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Elevation Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Elevation Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Gothic Road, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Crested Butte
Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Damaged Vehicle & Luggage”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We ran into several problems during our stay at Elevation Hotel. Upon checking in, we were told that we could either valet park our car or self-park. Valet and self-park were the same price. We chose to valet the car, unaware that, unlike many hotel valets, the valet parkers and self-parkers were parking in the same lot. Additionally, the parking lot was difficult to navigate because it used to be an old theater and had unusually-placed posts.

When the valet brought up our car the next day, there was a large scratch in the passenger-side door. We brought this to the valet's attention, and eventually she brought a manager down to handle the situation. The manager, Christy, was actually extremely helpful and apologetic. She spoke to the valet who parked our car the night before, and he claimed that the car was fine when he parked it, and that a self-parker must have scratched the car.

This is where we started to run into problems with the hotel. Although Christy comped our stay for the damage to our vehicle, she was unable to do anything with an insurance claim. She referred us to the man who did, but we were unable to get anywhere with him. Because the valet claimed he hadn't scratched the car, the hotel said they were not liable for any damage to our vehicle. He told us that parking in their lot was the same as parking at a grocery store; the business is not liable for damage to the vehicle. We pointed out that normally valet lots are separate in order to determine liability, and that is wasn't anything like parking at a grocery store as our car was in the care, custody, and control of their staff when the car was scratched. He agreed that this would be the case if the valet admitted to some fault around the scratch, but since he didn't, the hotel wouldn't take responsibility for it.

At this point, Christy offered us a free stay in the future, but as you can imagine, we were frustrated enough to not be interested in coming back to the hotel. In addition, we don't live near Crested Butte, and it seemed unlikely that we would be back anytime in the semi-near future. We asked if we could just have some money to help cover the cost of the repair, but she was unable to do this and referred us to the general manager.

She gave us the phone number of the general manager, and we held off quite a while on this review hoping that we could reach her in order to find resolution to this problem. We hoped the hotel would be willing to at least chip in the cost of the repair. Because of how deep and long the scratch was, the repair was going to be about $600. I called the general manager repeatedly, and I got one voice mail back, but upon returning her call several times, I never heard from her again. I even contacted Christy, who said she would mention it again to the general manager, but it was clear the general manager had no interest in responding to our concern. We never received another call back despite repeated attempts to contact her. At this point, we considered making a small claim against the hotel, but it was unrealistic because of the distance to court. We were extremely disappointed that the hotel manager didn't care enough about our concern to return our call.

We had other problems with the hotel, including that upon check-out, the bellwoman damaged one of our dog kennels loading it into the car. I guess we should have known at this point not to trust them with our belongings. The room didn't have air conditioning (not mentioned on their website that I saw), and although keeping the windows open kept the room kind-of cool, we happened to be there during a festival and were woken to the noise outside around 7 am every single morning of our vacation. Yet our only choices were to not sleep because we were sweltering or wake up early on vacation.

Because of the hotel's unwillingness to assist in the repair of our vehicle, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    66
    17
    13
    11
See reviews for
97
124
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vail, colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

drove from eagle to crested butte over mcClure and Kebler passes. very busy roads, but the aspens were PEAKING! got into crested butte to find wood nymphs decorating main st. for vinotoking. Elevation was a plesant surprise! awesome room, with a view of the mountain. awesome bed + linens + robes. the kitchenette was beautiful, well-designed, + equipped with cutlery, dishes, glasses, corkscrew + can opener. my only complaint? no hair dryer! we were also surprised by how much we loved crested butte scenery, town, and mtn. we're coming back for skiing this winter, and will definitely book ELEVATION again. It's like one minute to the chairlift. And the bar of their main restaurant has a great deck, with fire pit, right at the bottom of the ski resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We learned of the Elevation Hotel and Spa through a Living Social deal, and to be honest, it was a steal! This hotel has the best location on the entire resort, not to mention immaculate, spacious rooms and state of the art amenities. The gym was impressive, the spa left nothing to be desired, and the Asian-inspired cuisine was a real treat. We were most impressed with the friendly and knowledgeable staff. Needless to say, we’ll be going back with or without a Living Social deal.

Room Tip: Slope side during the fall is magical because the Aspens are all turning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Co USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Elevation Hotel & Spa over Labor Day weekend (2012). The hotel & and ALL staff were wonderful (no A/C but open window/balcony door with ceiling fan kept it cool at night). If you go to Elevation please note that it is in Mt. Crested Butte, not Crested Butte, so if going by way of Gunnison you'll pass thru Crested Butte and head a short distance up the mountain to Mt. Crested Butte (ski village). There were two lifts running, one of which will take your mountain bike up with you (rentals are available, please remember to rent knee & elbow protection along with the helmet - if you see Izzy at the clinic, please tell her we said "hi"!) A single lift ticket was included with our room rental but you can upgrade to an unlimited lift pass for a small fee - well worth the upgrade fee.

In Crested Butte, we went to the rum distillery (brought some home); the all-you-can-eat family style restaurant (they serve steak or chicken as the entree. The steak was superb but they ran out - still charged the all you-can-eat price, bummer); the little bar/restaurant where they diffuse all their drinks - drinks were yummy, didn't have time for food (located on the side street across from the hi/lo outhouse - sorry can't remember the name of the establishment, it had been a miner's cabin - visited there after the distillery...)

We will be going back to the area to take a boat ride into the Black Canyon of the Gunnison river (runs Memorial Day weekend thru Labor Day weekend). Reservations can be made by calling 970/641-2337 - wish we had known about the reservation option before our trip...oh well. At least we were able to eat at Pappy's (Elk Creek Marina in the Curecanti Nat'l Rec. Area). This is a 45 minute trip from Crested Butte but the boat ride would have made the trip worthwhile.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade charge for a mountain view but try to specify a "ski mountain" view rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The staff at this hotel are some of the best I've met. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure our stay was effortless. Though there is a $15 per night fee to park your car they have a black SUV that will shuttle you from town and back for free. Not a shuttle bus, more like a chauffer service, which we loved. Our mountain view room was beautiful! We brought our dog Bella. So great to find such a beautiful pet friendly hotel. We will be back next year for sure. Only negative is I wish the pool was outdoors.

Room Tip: The extra cost for a "Mountain View" room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, UT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently stayed with our family and had an outstanding stay. The hotel is beautifully remodeled and in great condition, and the amenities for a family are outstanding. We took advantage of the Adventure Camp for our kids (an amazing day care), and they loved it! Our kids were begging for another day. The onsite activities are great, as is the access to trails, and restaurants.

We actually prefer staying on the Mountain rather than closer to the historic downtown. Staying downtown sounds fun, but having a pool and all the amenities is much better.

This is a great property anytime of the year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We booked at the last minute on Priceline and had no idea what to expect. The room was clean, nicely furnished, and included a fridge. It's right next to the ski lift, which is convenient during the winter months. Front desk staff was very helpful in providing local information. This hotel was a pleasant surprise, and we look forward to returning.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Elevation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elevation Hotel & Spa

Address: 500 Gothic Road, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elevation Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elevation Hotel & Spa is the only full-service ski-in / ski-out hotel at Crested Butte Mountain Resort. The completely renovated property features 262 rooms and spacious suites. Enjoy first-class amenities and services, including swimming pool, hot tub, wireless internet, Spa treatments and Fitness Center, and valet, bell and concierge services. The on-site 9380 Prime Restaurant & Bar serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Elevation Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate slopeside luxury and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Elevation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elevation Hotel And Spa
The Elevation Hotel Crested Butte
Elevation Hotel Crested Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elevation Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.