We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff was amazing, the location is key and the Asian influence (decor and cuisine) made for a wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elevation Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Elevation Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Gothic Road, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
1 review
“The staff was amazing, the location is key and the Asian influence (decor and cuisine) made for a wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

We have family in Gunnison, but treated our boys to 3 nights to experience the resort and stay at Crested Butte. Elevation was just perfect. We loved the firepit at night and ventured downtown for dinner too. The location is perfect. We will definitely do it again next year!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    100
    28
    18
    16
See reviews for
126
162
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This hotel seems a bit more upscale than the Grand Lodge (and probably a little pricier). The staff were all, except maybe one person, super friendly and helpful. But it seems that pretty much everyone in Crested Butte is really friendly. Kudos to the valets/bell men for being accommodating with the bags and shuttling us around. And when they say "pet friendly", they really mean it. They didn't just tolerate the dogs. Everyone wanted to say hi to them. Again, that seems to be a Crested Butte trait. The rooms were fairly sizable and well appointed.

On the sort of down side, the pool is very small, although it is indoor, and the only restaurant right in the hotel is the fancy steak place. However, the Avalanche Bar and Grill is right across the walkway, and it is more moderately priced and has breakfast. One other little issue I had, and I can understand their stance on this, was that our vehicle was on the fritz and there was a chance we would have to stay another night. When I asked if I could reserve a room for that night, but cancel it if our vehicle was actually functioning (or fixed), they held to their 3 day advance cancellation policy. I was hoping that given the circumstances, they'd cut us some slack. We were able to get on the road anyway, so "no harm, no foul."

Last, if you don't know Crested Butte, Mt. Crested Butte is a small ski mountain. Not nearly as large as the central mountain/front range resorts (e.g., Copper, Breck, etc.). Since it's been a dry year for them, a lot of terrain was not open, so we basically covered the entire mountain in less than a day. Crested Butte is a beautiful spot and town though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I wish I was there right now! The room was so lovely and we could see all the activities in the base area and on the mountain...bands playing, bikers jumping, zip lines, wine tasting. Everything was divine!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the base area and the higher up, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The town of Crested Butte could be the setting for a western movie. Old, historic buildings line the street. Cute shops, variety of restaurants. But just outside of town (free shuttle from the hotel) is the Elevation Hotel at the foot of Mount Crested Butte, literally steps from the chair lift.
It was very quiet at the end of August so the hotel restaurant had inconsistent hours, but the food was good. A couple of other restaurants in walking distance. Beautiful spa. Large gym, indoor pool and whirlpool. The room was large, clean, comfortable beds. Nice little kitchenette. A great place to relax, enjoy magnificent scenery and be active if you like hiking and mountain biking. Or try the zip line new this summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at the Elevation Hotel & Spa and were very pleased with the room and the friendlyness of the staff! High recommend this place to everyone. You will throughly enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: We had a suite with mini fridge and kitchette. King size bed. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The staff were the nicest people we met in town. The scenery is beautiful. Clean rooms. Wonderful salon & spa! Great outdoor options!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed her for a weekend trip. The resort in general was very quiet. The room was great, except for the temperature. They don't have A/C and it did get a little warm but they did have a ceiling fan so we could get a breeze going with the sliding glass door opened. That was the only minor flaw.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elevation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elevation Hotel & Spa

Address: 500 Gothic Road, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elevation Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elevation Hotel & Spa is the only full-service ski-in / ski-out hotel at Crested Butte Mountain Resort. The completely renovated property features 262 rooms and spacious suites. Enjoy first-class amenities and services, including swimming pool, hot tub, wireless internet, Spa treatments and Fitness Center, and valet, bell and concierge services. The on-site 9380 Prime Restaurant & Bar serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Elevation Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate slopeside luxury and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Elevation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elevation Hotel And Spa
The Elevation Hotel Crested Butte
Elevation Hotel Crested Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elevation Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.