We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B to your Saves list
The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
624 Gothic Avenue, Crested Butte, CO 81224   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durango, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We decided to spontaneously take a trip to CB and ended up choosing The Ruby because they allowed dogs. Upon arrival we were greeted, shown our room and given the tour of the facility...which is amazing! All the amenities of home and more. Honestly everything about The Ruby (rooms, amenities, staff, location, breakfast, etc.) was the best I have had anywhere in Colorado. We will definitely come back to The Ruby. Thank you Andrea and Chris! Top Notch!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
210
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was our fourth stay at the Ruby, which is starting to feel like our home away from home. Chris and Andrea tirelessly worked to make our stay feel comfortable yet special. The support staff are welcoming, friendly, and great to chat with. It is the feel of the place that is so unique though. Everything from the rooms, to the breakfasts, to the wonderfully snowy views from the upper living room couches... it all adds up to a very special place to live when away from home. Highly recommended!!

Green Features: Balanced perfectly with fine service. Example - bottled water is always available, but a little sign encourages other earth-friendly practices if you don't mind. Very reasonable and appropriate.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Last weekend my girlfriend and I went to Crested Butte where we were lucky enough to stay at the Ruby. It was recommended as a great place by a friend and dogs are allowed it made it easy for us and both of our dogs. We were stunned by the generosity and hospitality of the owners (Andrea and Chris) as well as the rest of the staff. From the moment we walked in we were treated very well. The Ruby is very clean and well maintained and the rooms are very comfortable- there were even dog bowls, treats and dog beds waiting for our dogs! Chris made an excellent gourmet breakfast on both mornings. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

A friend and I wanted to get away for a night and decided to head to Crested Butte. I looked online the night before at several places to stay in Crested Butte and came across The Ruby's website. I was immediately intrigued by Chris and Andrea's story of how they got started in the hospitality business and decided to book a room. Having never stayed at a true B&B before I didn't really know what to expect, but being in the hospitality industry myself for the past 12 years I truly appreciate great service. Upon being greeted by Andrea when we checked in we could immediately tell we were going to enjoy our stay at The Ruby. Andrea and Chris's passion for taking care of their guests was evident from the moment we met them. The attention to detail in the eloquently appointed rooms and common areas was impeccable. The fresh baked cookies in the evening, delicious breakfast in the morning, and the refrigerator full of my favorite micro-brewery's beer (Odell's) in the refrigerator was a nice touch.
The only downfall to the weekend is that we didn't get completely snowed in and had to leave after only one night!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our former favorite B&B in Crested Butte, the Elizabeth Anne, had closed its doors. This led us to try The Ruby. How wonderful to find another perfect spot! The rooms were lovely, the breakfasts delicious (ask the night before for the French toast!) The staff could not possibly have been friendlier or more helpful. Every inquiry was met with a smile and an answer.

An old-fashioned Coca Cola machine is used as a refrigerator off the entry way so you can grab water or a soft drink before heading out for the day. And for a pick-me-up when you return just grab a cookie in the downstairs den.

We are lucky enough to go to C.B. every year and now we have a new "home" there at The Ruby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to Crested Butte for Thanksgiving and her birthday. It's often hard for us to travel because she has a dog, but The Ruby made it simple. The dog was welcome, and she clearly felt at home immediately. She's even allowed to roam the house with us, as long as she was on a leash, which put everyone at ease.

Unfortunately, they're not really set up to accommodate dogs for long periods of time - at least not in the conventional sense of dog-sitting - which made skiing Mt. Crested Butte for the day a potentially expensive proposition (pet sitting costs $10-$20/hr depending on time of day). Great for a quick bite to eat, but a bit steep for going out and really experiencing all that CB has to offer. We ended up leaving her in the car since it was cool enough for her not to overheat.

It would be really nice if The Ruby went to the next step, and not just accept pets, but "accommodate" them too. Perhaps they could even become the de facto in-town pet sitting service. It would be a logical next-step for their current clientele. They do offer a wide variety of services for pet owners, but we did not get to experience them on this trip. It would be really nice to be able to drop the dog off in the morning and know that she'd be running around with other dogs all day.

The accommodations were lovely. The staff was sharp, engaging, and polite. The rooms were very clean, considering that pets use them. And the breakfasts were top-notch. It was a very quiet and peaceful stay, though there were plenty of people around to chat with in the afternoon and evening, in case the hot tub and comfortable naps weren't enticing enough. Every room has a view of the Mount Crested Butte, and "downtown" is just a couple of blocks away. To top it all off, the rates were extremely reasonable - perhaps due to it being early season - even if it was a holiday weekend.

The booking service on their website is a bit tricky to use - I apparently reserved a room for a total of 0 nights; thank goodness I called to confirm the dates! Watch out :)

The staff were very helpful in setting up restaurant reservations, helping me plan and execute a couple of romantic surprises for my girlfriend, and helping us get up to speed on local trails and businesses not to be missed. The staff really turned a nice weekend into something compelling and memorable. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: There's apparently a Suite which houses two-room's worth of people. I didn't get to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We (husband, sister, & brother-in-law) decided to buck the traditional Thanksgiving extravaganza and find a quiet inn where we could relax, enjoy great food, and spectacular scenery. The Ruby was perfect...from the the amazingly comfortable and cozy bed to the scrumptious breakfasts. Everyone on staff was welcoming and thoughtful. They went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. We love the town of Crested Butte and hope to find ourselves once more at The Ruby House munching on homemade cookies and laughing with friends.

P.S. Love the wine and beer fridge!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B

Address: 624 Gothic Avenue, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated #1 Colorado Bed and Breakfast Inn by TripAdvisor, and recommended by Sunset and Southern Living magazines! Colorful. Authentic. Connected. Truly Crested Butte! The Ruby is Crested Butte's premier Bed and Breakfast Inn for the discerning visitor seeking gracious treatment, abundant amenities, and a destination where affordable luxury and environmental responsibility create an exceptional guest experience. The Ruby is located in historic downtown Crested Butte in the heart of the coveted Bed and Breakfast District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.