We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bikes rock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B to your Saves list
The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
624 Gothic Avenue, Crested Butte, CO 81224   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bikes rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We came to Crested Butte with no reservations. Based on the photos of a brochure from the chambers of commerce we did not call the The Ruby. After going to a couple of places around town, many of them recommended The Ruby. We drove by and took a look what they had to offer. We were pleasantly surprised. Very clean, great amenities satisfied the whole family. They also provided bikes for us to ride into town. From the baked cookies and wine in the evening my family decided on one of their movies to watch before bed. It was a great experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
210
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Ruby was perfect, in every way! My boyfriend, now fiancé surprised me with a stay at the Ruby the day we got engaged. After he proposed to me on kebler pass, he told me he already had a place booked for us that night in town. When we pulled up to The Ruby, I knew this place was special! We stayed in room #4, and was so perfect. Roses on the bed in the shape of heart, and a bottle of champagne waiting for us on ice. We used the tandem bike to get to dinner. So fun! We also loved having our dog able to stay with us. She loved the treats waiting for her in the room. Breakfast the next morning, was delish! We really enjoyed talking to Cassie! She suggested a great hike for us to do, that was on our way back to Steamboat. She made us feel right at home! The Ruby was a perfect place to celebrate such a special occasion! We can't wait to come back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We only spent one night here, but I'm confident we will be going back. The room was very nice and comfortable. Fresh flowers in the room and we had a great view of the mountains. The breakfast was fabulous - very tasty! The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is walking distance to the downtown area with shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: We were in room 3 and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just returned from a weekend getaway with the girls and we cannot say enough about the exceptional stay we had at the Ruby. The staff was wonderful and attentive and made sure we were pampered. Fresh cupcakes and flowers in our room, yummy breakfast, complimentary beverages and lots of great advice about what to do made it a five star experience. The town cruiser bikes were fun! Beds were comfortable. Games, books and dvds provided lots to do. Thanks so much to the entire staff for being so wonderful. We look forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two level suite, which sleeps up to 6. All the rooms were adorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My daughter and her husband (and our dog) hiked from Aspen to Crested Butte and my husband and I (and their dog!) took the easy way out and drove to Crested Butte. We met them in Gothic and then went straight to The Ruby. My husband and I stayed at The Ruby when they first opened about 8 years ago and it is even better now than it was then. It is a great building with lots of "public" areas to relax in and the rooms are terrific. We booked the Penthouse so we could all stay together and there is plenty of space for 2 couples (and 2 dogs!). We borrowed bikes (compliments of The Ruby) and rode to town, had dinner and a wonderful time, and rode our bikes the short distance home. We were met with homemade cookies! Breakfast is beyond wonderful-actually 3 courses!!!! We loved chatting with our chef (who also is the owner) and just had a wonderful time. We all felt we had been on a week's vacation and we were only gone over night. This is THE place to stay in Crested Butte if you want to be pampered! The bed was so comfortable I actually checked to see what kind of mattress it was@!

Room Tip: If you need a big room for 2 couples, the Penthouse is the way to go.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have wonderful all natural biodegradable bath products which smell divine!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived (when Andrea offered to bike in the rain to a hotel on the other side of town to pick up some things I had packed in a friend's suitcase), we knew this was a special place. Nothing fancy, just homey and comfortable, but the service was outstanding. We had a large group and most were in another inn - everyone was jealous that we got the Ruby! We loved the bikes for riding around the town; the breakfast was fabulous; the staff warm and friendly. My husband forgot his hiking boots when we left the next morning - and no problem, they were mailed to us immediately. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Ruby is one of the most, if not the most, tasteful and perfect places in Colorado. Owners Andrea and Chris have created a friendly but super classy place that embodies so much of what there is to love about Colorado. We enjoyed the clean hot tub after a long hike, had a blast on their name-sake red cruisers, which made us instantly part if the in-crowd in Crested Butte, and loved being encouraged by the staff to enjoy all that we could rather than being barraged by reminders of rules. I have recommended it to all of my friends!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B

Address: 624 Gothic Avenue, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated #1 Colorado Bed and Breakfast Inn by TripAdvisor, and recommended by Sunset and Southern Living magazines! Colorful. Authentic. Connected. Truly Crested Butte! The Ruby is Crested Butte's premier Bed and Breakfast Inn for the discerning visitor seeking gracious treatment, abundant amenities, and a destination where affordable luxury and environmental responsibility create an exceptional guest experience. The Ruby is located in historic downtown Crested Butte in the heart of the coveted Bed and Breakfast District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.