We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Lodge Crested Butte to your Saves list
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Emmons Loop, P.O. Box 1369, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Yes, the hotel rooms have no AC, but in September, this is not much of a problem. The room layout is nice, with a small kitchenette, a murphy bed, and sitting area, and a king bed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    111
    31
    16
    22
See reviews for
137
141
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in September over the Labor Day holiday. The room was roomy and well-equipped. It was a studio with a king bed. Had a mini-frig, mini-stove, mini-dishwasher, and mini-sink and a microwave. There was a murphy-bed in the sitting area. Bathroom is small. The room and hotel was clean. Warning! There is no A/C!! Even Crested Butte gets warm in the summer and early fall, so this might be something you would want to consider. Overall the room was very nice. The hotel was clean and well-maintained. Hotel is close to the shuttle stop that takes you to the town of Crested Butte for FREE!
Also was charged a resort fee when I was ready to check out. Was not told about it during my reservation or at check-in. Would like to see the resort company a little more upfront about this charge.
I would stay here again, but in the late fall or winter so the lack of an A/C wouldn't be an issue.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor away from elevator and ice machine. No noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has a great location on the mountain but reservation information on pricing was very poor. The first agent gave us the wrong pricing but could not reserve the room at the time and told us to call another number the next morning for that night. The price was much higher when talking with the agent but gave us 3 lift tickets. When we arrived at the hotel the room was not ready at almost 4pm. The room was ready an hour later but had the wrong name on the room. Was told that the room was 2 king beds and when we opened the door we only saw 1 king and we left the room to let the desk know. At the desk they tell us that the 2nd king was in the wall. Should have mentioned that at check in. A table & 2 chairs had to be moved before the bed could be used and the 2nd bed was not the same good quality mattress as the regular bed. We were told that is was the same type mattress (not). Upon checked I asked for a copy of the bill and was told that it was not available at the desk but only on an email that was sent at the time the reservation was made. After accessing the email it was discovered there were many hidden charges......resort fees. etc. that we were not informed of at the time of booking. We were informed of the room rate and a very tax rate of over 16%, but not the other charges! The desk clerk said she was sorry but she could not adjusted our bill from there but we could call reservation number to talk to them about it. She did say she would give us 3 free breakfast buffets but we had just eaten! (cost us about $35). Good Grief! The area is beautiful but beware of some of the sloppiness in billing and lack of information.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at Grand Lodge Crested Butte, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry there was confusion regarding our rates, taxes, and fees. To clarify, all of our rates are based on double occupancy, and any additional adults beyond two are subject to a $20 per person fee, which is a standard hotel practice. Children 17 and under always stay free at the Grand Lodge. Since we are part of Crested Butte Mountain Resort, we are able to offer complimentary scenic chair lift rides with summer reservations. However, this promotion is only available when booking through Crested Butte Mountain Resort’s on-site central reservations office. Our tax rate in Mt. Crested Butte is 16.5% as mandated by the State of Colorado, the Town of Mt. Crested Butte, and the Mt. Crested Butte Town Center Community Association. In addition, we have a $9.86 nightly resort fee (inclusive of tax) that provides parking, high-speed wireless internet access, access to the pool, hot tub, and fitness center, in–room coffee and bottled water service, a daily USA Today newspaper, and business center access to every guest. By including all of these amenities in one discounted resort fee, our guests are able to take advantage of all of these great amenities at a reduced rate instead of purchasing them a la carte per use. All of our taxes and fees are outlined clearly on our confirmations, as we pride ourselves on itemizing all charges to avoid hidden fees. Because our central reservations office uses a separate booking system than the property management system used at the hotel front desk, all receipts are emailed directly from our central reservations office. While the front desk cannot print a receipt from our system, we are always happy to contact our reservations office to send an itemized itinerary upon request.

Check-in time at the Grand Lodge begins at 4:00pm daily. We try to accommodate all early check-in requests as often as possible, but there are times when the hotel is at capacity that we cannot accommodate early check-in requests. I apologize that we were not able to check you in prior to our 4:00pm check-in.

The Emmons Studio Suite that you described does have a king bed and a second king Murphy bed that folds from the wall. I am surprised to read that this was not satisfactory, as we typically receive great praise for these accommodations because they provide floor space during the day, and the comfort of an actual mattress instead of a sleeper sofa at night. I am sorry that the room configuration did not fit your needs.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may assist further. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Lodge in the future.

Best regards,

Sarah Burke
Front Office Manager
sburke@cbmr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We got married in August 2013 at Uley's cabin on the mountain and all of our guests including the two of us stayed here. Great hotel, super accommodating and always friendly staff. The rooms are perfect, most are suites so you get a little extra room with a frig and small kitchenette. Great place to stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were pleased with the Grand Lodge. This was our first stay in Crested Butte and at this hotel. We had a King Suite for our group and we were very pleased with the layout of the suite. One of the members of our party is a huge snorer but we did not hear her. We had a few ideas to make the huge bathroom more guest friendly but all in all we had a great time there and hope to return this next ski season. We also dined at the restaurant and were very pleased with the service and the food. I would recommend they offer a happy hour and pull in more guests since it did not seem very busy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Offers free WiFi, but not breakfast in normal room stay. The room was pleasant, offered in room safe which is always a bonus, the bed was comfortable and nice location to ski resort. Town was only a short drive away...2 minutes maybe...

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ault, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Practically perfect in every way. Beautiful place in a beautiful place! A balcony would have made it ideal. Comfort and convenience made for a lovely weekend. No AC, so follow the instructions for keeping your suite cool during the heat of summer and you will be fine. A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of The Mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Lodge Crested Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Address: 6 Emmons Loop, P.O. Box 1369, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge Crested Butte 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Lodge Crested Butte features 226 oversized hotel rooms and spacious suites to accommodate all types of travelers. Every room is surprisingly affordable and includes comforts and conveniences to make your stay ideal, any time of the year. Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Climate Control Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Consistent with most Colorado mountain resorts, the Grand Lodge does not offer air-conditioning in guest rooms. Pet Friendly Property The Grand Lodge welcomes well-behaved dogs of all shapes and sizes. Pet friendly rooms are limited, so please reserve in advance. A nightly $30 fee for each pet will be charged to your room, and a portion of this fee will be donated to P.A.W.S., a local animal rescue service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Lodge Crested Butte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Resort Crested Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lodge Crested Butte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.