We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Lodge Crested Butte to your Saves list
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Emmons Loop, P.O. Box 1369, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location, nice room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Offers free WiFi, but not breakfast in normal room stay. The room was pleasant, offered in room safe which is always a bonus, the bed was comfortable and nice location to ski resort. Town was only a short drive away...2 minutes maybe...

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    111
    31
    16
    22
See reviews for
137
141
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ault, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Practically perfect in every way. Beautiful place in a beautiful place! A balcony would have made it ideal. Comfort and convenience made for a lovely weekend. No AC, so follow the instructions for keeping your suite cool during the heat of summer and you will be fine. A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of The Mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked the Grand Lodge Crested Butte along with four other families. We all chose the King Suite (either Corner or not Corner) since we were traveling with two adults and two children. In our case we got the King Corner Suite. Our son slept on the pull - out couch. We paid an extra $25/night for a roll away twin bed for our daughter which was also in the kitchenette area. It was a little packed, but it worked. The kitchen is really not designed to make hot meals. We were able to have breakfast of oatmeal and cereal with smaller container for a mini-fridge. We did stock the pantry with bread, deli meat, snacks so we packed our lunch every day.

The walk from the lifts is not slope side or really Ski In. Once you walk out the lobby, you cross over the street, through the main plaza, past the ski retailers, and then get to the first lifts. We stored our skis near the slopes and that worked out fine. We wore our snow boots in to close by the lifts, then put our gear on.

Crested Butte is all about the snow and the lifts. It was awesome. We never had to wait more than five minutes tops even at the peak times. I asked a few of the chair operators if it was slow and they said No. I don't know how many runs we did a day but it had to be over 15 full mountain runs as a result and may another half dozen half-mountain runs. We had skiied Copper Mountain the year before and had 'Secret Pass' so we could skip the Spring Break lines, and I was worried we'd wait at CB. Not at all. Great snow, no wait, lots of Blues and Greens to ski, and a few doable Blacks. I did get into the weeds on a Black that was hardly skied at all so too much powder and too big moguls but if that is the worst you can say - good grief! The town was great. About the only downside is the restaurant at the Grand Lodge was below average. I think we ate their once and it was not good. Otherwise it was a terrific trip. Planning a return trip this year~!

Room Tip: Corner King Suites may be smaller than non-Corner King Suites - at least eye-balling it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The lodge and rooms were gorgeous, immaculate and huge. The staff was very friendly and helpful, full of suggestions for places to eat and things to do. I thought it was odd that the gift shop was only open a few hours a day and their selection was repetitive (the same as in town) and expensive. We had a small problem with the hot tub (the jets stopped working), but when we let the staff know it was quickly fixed. We didn't eat at the restaurant or have services at the spa because they were pricey. Would definitely go again--beginning of August was perfect time for wildflowers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed for 4 days. The decor was beautiful! The staff friendly and helpful. Morning buffet in the Wood Stone Grill was very nice and reasonably priced. They had a lovely gift shop. The hot tub at night in the cool mountain air was awesome. Enjoyed our stay and would do it all over again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We could not be more pleased with the location and staff and the wonderful room/suite. The hotel is pet friendly and the guests we met were exceptional. All of the hotel guests were nice to the dogs. The grounds had plenty of grassy areas, there were poop bag stations, and it was really nice to be able to travel with the dog. If you have your pet with you this place rocks! If you don't, it rocks anyway!!!

Room Tip: We had a king bed with kitchenette Fridge and stove and microwave were great values
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a king suite (burner, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, sink) with our Golden retriever. Although they do charge a significant extra fee for pets, they are the most welcoming for our 4-legged family members of any place we've stayed. Upon arrival we were presented with a simple "gift bag" of a couple of milk bones and waste pick up bags. You can ask for a dog bed, and they give you a tag for your door so housekeeping won't enter when your pet is there alone. Simply call the front desk when you take your pet out for the day and they promptly clean your room.

The extra little touches are nice, like 2 free bottles of Dasani water every day with housekeeping service. Extremely friendly staff, and convenient free parking. Close to activities at the resort, easy access (via 4WD) to more hiking trails than I could handle in 4 days, and free shuttle to downtown CB.

Only minor complaint was that the large hot tub only had two or three jets that actually worked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Lodge Crested Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Address: 6 Emmons Loop, P.O. Box 1369, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge Crested Butte 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Lodge Crested Butte features 226 oversized hotel rooms and spacious suites to accommodate all types of travelers. Every room is surprisingly affordable and includes comforts and conveniences to make your stay ideal, any time of the year. Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Climate Control Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Consistent with most Colorado mountain resorts, the Grand Lodge does not offer air-conditioning in guest rooms. Pet Friendly Property The Grand Lodge welcomes well-behaved dogs of all shapes and sizes. Pet friendly rooms are limited, so please reserve in advance. A nightly $30 fee for each pet will be charged to your room, and a portion of this fee will be donated to P.A.W.S., a local animal rescue service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Lodge Crested Butte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Resort Crested Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lodge Crested Butte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.