We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, convenient resort and great ski mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Lodge Crested Butte to your Saves list
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Emmons Loop, P.O. Box 1369, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good hotel, convenient resort and great ski mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel(s) are clustered at the base of the ski resort. With ski storage at the base, it is very convenient and easy.

The mountain and the lifts are excellent. The cruising runs are long and reminded me of Deer Valley with full grooming and just enough slope to make things interesting. I'm long past skiing the "bumps" and Crested Butte provided everything my wife and I want in terrain at a ski mountain.

Room Tip: I asked for a "quiet" room and was placed on the top floor of the Grand Lodge. If availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    123
    34
    16
    23
See reviews for
153
148
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful lodge in a beautiful location! It is right at the base of the mountain. All the staff were very friendly, especially Jake. He went above and beyond! Thanks! We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALLAS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We love the Grand Lodge and have stayed there numerous times! Everyone there is always so happy and eager to please. The location CAN NOT be more perfect - ski in ski out! It is also a perfect spot to catch the bus to go into town which is always a blast. The Grand Lodge is not uber expensive either and well worth every penny!

Room Tip: Choose the 5th floor so you can see the top of the Butte!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Grand Lodge. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. It was so nice to pull up to the hotel with all our bags and equipment, and the staff ready to unload our car. They had us checked in and ready for our room in minutes.
We stayed in an Emmons studio. It was clean, comfortable, and perfect for our family. All of the kitchen appliances where new and they had everything we needed. The Murphy bed was comfortable and so easy to put up for space during the day.
Heads up on getting dinner reservations in town. You need make them far in advance. The concierge, Nick, worked very hard to help us with our dinner reservations. Thanks Nick!
Getting to the lifts is so easy too. You can access them with just a short walk through Moutaineer Square, right next to the transportation center. Don't forget to take advantage of storing your equipment at the Outpost before heading back to the Grand Lodge.
We were so busy skiing that we did not take advantage of all of the amenities that they have to offer, but having the little things like cookies out by the fire place, sleds for the kids, friendly smiles, and a staff that really want you to help you, was what made our stay perfect. Thanks Grand Lodge!

Room Tip: The Emmons studios have all you need to make meals in the room and save money on eating out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Not ski in- ski out but close enough for us. This hotel is pretty new, clean and staff was helpful and friendly. We are staying in a 2 king unit which consists of a king bed and king Murphy bed for the teenagers. The hotel offers rooms with pull out sofas but our kids think they are uncomfortable so we chose this layout to try. A little cramped at night but good for bonding .
The hotel is very close to the free shuttle to town so we didn't have to drive every night to town to eat. There was a kitchenette in the room but only good for very light breakfast so we went out for dinner. Restaurants fill up quickly at holiday time so we headed out about 5:00 each day so there was no wait. That is the 3rd stop on the bus route at city hall to be near restaurants. There is a restaurant on site that we haven't tried yet that offers breakfast and dinner.
We stayed next door at the Lodge at Mountaineer Sq a few years ago which is a little closer to the lifts and is very nice but we like to try out new things.
There is a small grocery store at the end of the street in walking distance but we went to the grocery in town on the shuttle route. The snow is great this year so we're having a wonderful time. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great place to stay on a ski vacation. Nice clean rooms, friendly staff, good price and great location. I will be back as soon a possible. I liked how close we were to the lift, just a short walk from the hotel. I also enjoyed that they check our ski's for free right by the lift. Didn't have to carry them all over. The location is very close to other dinning and drinking locations as well as shopping. The bus into town picks up and drops off about 20 yards from the front door every 15 minutes. The Ice bar on the mountain is a very cool place to hang out when you need a rest. Sara the bar tender was very sweet and friendly. There is also a liquor store right across the street. The town is awesome and the locals are very friendly. I have visited many ski resorts in Colorado and by far CB is my favorite. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

we stayed at the Grande Lodge in CB for the 3rd time. the staff is great, the hot tub is best in CB. My family and I enjoy the mountain, there is something for everyone, wife likes wide open easy runs, son loves to be challenged and to stay in the trees. great town, great folks, and mayor Jim drives the shuttle bus back to airport!!

Room Tip: choose pool side, looking at CB
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Lodge Crested Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Address: 6 Emmons Loop, P.O. Box 1369, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge Crested Butte 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Lodge Crested Butte features 226 oversized hotel rooms and spacious suites to accommodate all types of travelers. Every room is surprisingly affordable and includes comforts and conveniences to make your stay ideal, any time of the year. Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Climate Control Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Consistent with most Colorado mountain resorts, the Grand Lodge does not offer air-conditioning in guest rooms. Pet Friendly Property The Grand Lodge welcomes well-behaved dogs of all shapes and sizes. Pet friendly rooms are limited, so please reserve in advance. A nightly $30 fee for each pet will be charged to your room, and a portion of this fee will be donated to P.A.W.S., a local animal rescue service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Lodge Crested Butte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Resort Crested Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lodge Crested Butte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.