We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the comforts of home, but better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa to your Saves list
Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa
714 Gothic Ave, PO Box 1879, Crested Butte, CO 81224-2300   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home, but better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is a terrific place to stay...the rooms are very comfortable, and the additional shared living room & deck (complete with hot-tub) made it feel like home. Chris, the innkeeper, was very knowledgable, and helped us quickly find the best places to hike and eat in town (we liked the Secret Stash for pizza & the Brick for beer). Taking Chris' advice we easily found the West Maroon Pass trail, which was filled with wildflowers, perfect for the photography project we were working on. On top of that, there was wonderful breakfast (my favorite was the fresh banana-pecan belgian waffles), and chocolate-chip-oatmeal almond cookies to snack on in the afternoon. I'd highly recommend this place for a casual, fun and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durango, CO
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Crested Butte was the first stop for my wife and I on our road trip honeymoon (other stops included Salida, Steamboat, and Park City). We originally planned to spend only 2 nights in CB, but fell in love with the town and had to stay another night. Our first two nights were spent at the Elk Mtn Lodge. It was OK, but nothing compared to Purple Mtn. Elk Mtn is much more of a hotel than a B&B, with 25 rooms. With only 5 rooms, Purple Mtn is much more of the B&B feel. The reasons we would stay at the Purple Mtn again: beautiful/comfortable/clean living area, comfy/clean room, excellent home cooked breakfast, great host (Chris), great location, bike washing station, fleet of cruiser bikes for guest use, competitive pricing, and more! We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

What a perfect vacation spot! The Purple Mountain B&B had every accommodation I was searching for – from the cheerful, bright, relaxing rooms, to the incredible grounds surrounded by exquisite flowers. Chris Haver, the owner and operator, not only pampers his guests with his incredible breakfasts, but is an excellent source for local attractions, events and activities. The B&B features very unique photography of Crested Butte and nice local subtleties like Camp 4 Coffee and prints from local artists. The location is fantastic – enabling me to take part in every event / activity both the town and the mountain had to offer. The amenities offered at the B&B were top-notch, offering bikes to tour the town and my favorite, a spa and hot tub, which hit the spot after a long day of playing!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Chris (the owner/host) is fantastic. Friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. He can give you detailed navigation of every hiking and mountain biking trail within 25 miles. The house is roomy and immaculate. I'm still dreaming about the breakfasts. Great coffee. I'm usually pretty critical, but I really can't think of anything negative to say. Had a blast. Thanks Chris!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNOWMASS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We go to Crested Butte during the busiest weekend of the year for the arts festival- a truly first class juried arts and craft show.This was our first stay at the Purple Moutain Lodge B & B. The rooms were well appointed and clean and the location was quiet and within walking distance to everything. The proprietor was our host and chef for breakfast and he provided us with lots of good tips and advice. Many B&Bs require a 3 night stay during the arts festival and we only wanted to stay 2 nights. Chris was a teriffic host and we unexpectedly found out he has other family who live in Crested Butte so he knows a lot about the area. He was warm, funny, helpful and very professional. We will definitely stay there again! A & A Harris Snowmass, Co.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Rooms were very comfortable and the breakfasts were terrific!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Great and unexpected find. We don't like stuffy hotels so the friendly and homely environment was great. Chris has a flair for creating an inviting decor and gives great skiing advice. Dogs great company-You have to like dogs though.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa

Address: 714 Gothic Ave, PO Box 1879, Crested Butte, CO 81224-2300
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Purple Mountain Bed and Breakfast is Crested Butte's exclusive boutique lodging, conveniently located in the heart of downtown. We are a historically modern bed and breakfast featuring six plush rooms, each with its own private bath, perfect for a cozy, authentic experience. In the morning, you will awaken to the aroma of freshly brewed Camp 4 Coffee, a local Crested Butte mountain brew. Daily we offer a gourmet breakfast providing the fuel your body needs to enjoy paradise. Customizing each guest's stay, we work closely with our clientele when recommending and scheduling activities to make your stay truly memorable. In the winter, you may choose to ski, snowboard, snowshoe, and snowmobile, and in the summer, there is endless hiking, biking, jeep tours, fly fishing and golf. Located within walking distance to Elk Avenue, Crested Butte's National Historic District, and the free town bus shuttle to the base area of Mount Crested Butte Resort, Purple Mountain Bed and Breakfast is Crested Butte's premier setting to experience "Colorado's last great ski town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.