We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food you'll ever find in an alley!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soupcon Restaurant

Soupcon Restaurant
127 Elk Ave Ste A, Crested Butte, CO 81224
(970) 349-5448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best food you'll ever find in an alley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Located in a tiny old miner's cabin, Soupcon is a Crested Butte institution. Tucked away in the alley behind Elk Avenue, Soupcon is well worth finding. The menu changes with the seasons, but the meal quality and service are always superior. There are two seatings, 6:00pm and 8:15pm. Call well in advance for a reservation especially during busy winter and summer vacation times.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    10
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Ok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Over the Top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

This place was remarkable!!! Our waiter, Dan, was friendly, attentive and explained the menu very thoroughly! A man at the table next to us couldn't eat gluten and Dan totally went through the whole menu with him on what he could order or substitutions they could make for him. Our food was outstanding!!! Appetizer was a crabcake that was just mixed with panko crumbs -no fillings! It was cooked in a mold to hold it together. Delicious! Split the ribeye with my husband- cooked to perfection! Creme Brulee for dessert that was fabulous! Also wine list was outstanding and Dan helped us pick the perfect wine! Super experience!!!! Will go back next year!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Transported to cozy European delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

While spendy, this alley accessed intimate eatery was really delightful. The atmosphere is white linens with old world charm (local art on the walls, charming wood and color choices, soft lighting, and properly dressed staff). The food is clearly a labor of love and features amazing sauce creations. From the amuse bouche elk on toast to the highlight of the evening foie gras everything was intricately prepared and creatively presented. We are not foie gras experts by any means but the crispy pan sear with crunchy toast and tangy coulis were a spectacular (if very rich) combination. We also had the super creamy and perfectly cooked truffle risotto and New York strip steak, which was also perfectly cooked and featured a delightful Worcestershire reduction. The entree portions were sizable and we could easily have split the steak but were glad to have tried the risotto as well. Soupcon also has an extensive wine menu that did not disappoint. Overall we were amazed at the sophisticated creations coming from a little bistro tucked in to an alley in the heart of a Colorado mountain town. Chef and service were also super friendly and clearly committed to providing an outstanding culinary experience for adventurous guests. Not cheap by any means, but well worth the investment.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming restaurant, with rustic Colorado ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We dined at this restaurant back in March. It was my birthday, and we had spent the entire day skiing, not thinking about dinner. Since it was my birthday, we wanted something a bit special. Soupcon accomodated us for the early seating, we got the last table. It was truly an amazing dinner, the food was fantastic. I enjoyed the coziness of the small dining room, and it was very romantic! We will return again!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in the alley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Sometimes when you travel alone you can get a short shrift. Not so at this fine dining experience in Crested Butte. I got a 6:15 pm reservation and it appeared to be the last table in the this very small establishment. Service was superb, everything cooked to perfection and a lot of attention from the enire staff. Do not miss this wonderful palace petite of culinary accomplishment.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soupcon Restaurant also viewed

 
Crested Butte, CO
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to Soupcon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soupcon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.