We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Questionable Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Izzy's

Izzy's
218 Maroon Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
970-349-5630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 57 Restaurants in Crested Butte
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Westford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Questionable Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I really wanted to like this place, given all the great reviews. However, after my experience, I would never go back. I can't say how the food is because we never got the opportunity to eat any. Okay, I will preface this by saying that we visited on July 5, and maybe it truly was abnormally busy. However, this place is not a sit down restaurant, so you go and stand in line to order at the counter. After standing in line about 15 minutes, we reached the counter, only to be told "It'll be a 55 minute wait" for food. There had been a girl coming through the line to expedite coffee orders, which seemed nice initially, but how could she have failed to mention, oh by the way, it's going to be an hour wait for food once you get through this line? So then we're stuck holding these drinks that we now have to pay for and don't really want, since we're clearly going to have to go someplace else to eat. Which was no easy feat. From my experience, Crested Butte is weirdly underserved by breakfast places.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    17
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great breakfast, wonderful vibe and a nice strong cup of coffee. Killer location right off Elk. I'm going back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

wonderful place to have breakfast
The eggs are awesome sit outside watching the river go by
coffee is grerat

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Latke is super good! Classic bagel sandwich is freaking amazing. The owner Craig is always super positive and a pleasure to be in the company of. A for sure go to spot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little place with great food and amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Craig the owner and chef is a master at creative breakfast and lunch choices. You've got to try the "Harlan Daze" - a delicious tasty spin on Eggs Benedict. The French Toast was amazing made with Challah and the grilled cheese and bacon sandwich my son had was delicious! Craig takes great care of the Crested Butte locals and his place is such a treat -- you really must go!!! He is incredibly passionate about the area and will give you all kinds of helpful ideas from how to take best advantage of the skiing conditions, to the best places in the summer for biking, hiking and ATV-ing! Go and eat at Izzy's!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izzy's also viewed

 
Crested Butte, CO
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to Izzy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Izzy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.