We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, Cozy and Great View!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nordic Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Nordic Inn to your Saves list
The Nordic Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 Treasury Rd, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Comfy, Cozy and Great View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Nordic Inn was a pleasure to stay at over the long Memorial Day weekend. The rooms were very comfortable, bordering on luxurious - though on the smaller side. The intent of the small room is to make you feel comfortable while in them, but encouraging you to explore all of what Crested Butte has to offer. I only wish there was seating on the upper balcony to relax with a glass of wine or just to sit and really take in the incredible view from the Inn.

The weather was impeccable, which lead to a want/need to be outdoors as much as possible. The Innkeeper Kim was well versed in the surrounding trails that were no longer snow packed this early in the season. I went for a hike on the Snodgrass Trail and the Lower Loop Trail, both recommended by Kim.

The Snodgrass Trail (7 miles round trip) is a moderate hike that starts with an uphill climb that is immediately rewarded by spectacular views and a moderate walk through a woodsy area. It was a great workout - the only downside was the number of mountain bikers sharing the trail - I would recommend getting an early start to avoid the bulk of the bikers which seemed to hit the trail between 11am - 1pm. Don't forget your camera!

The Lower Loop Trail (not sure of distance, walked out for an hour and then back - could have gone further though) is a very easy walk along the local river. Pretty views which are pretty much around every turn in Crested Butte and enough shady areas to make the walk very pleasant. There is a "restricted parking" area closer to the trail head that we didn't park in, but everyone else on the planet did - I would recommend parking there and ignoring the "restricted parking" sign. Don't forget your camera!

The continental breakfast at the Inn is light and convenient, which was great for my long hike day. If you are looking for a more hearty breakfast head into town to Izzy's which is in an alley, but totally worth it! They are known for the latkes and are included in just about every dish they serve. Kim will be able to direct you on Izzy's location. Brick Oven Pizza (recommended by Kim) is also a great place to grab a seat on the patio, have a beer and people watch (the pizza is pretty good too!) The shops in town were a little disappointing - Estes Park and Breckenridge have much better shopping. The poor shopping only made me want to relax more - which was the goal of the mini-vacation.

A very pleasant stay at the Nordic Inn and Kim really made me feel comfortable in my surroundings. I was by myself for the first night and felt completely safe at the Nordic Inn as well as in Crested Butte town. I will go back again someday for sure! Regards, EllenT.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    25
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
97
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from our weekend away in Crested Butte and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The location is amazing, with close proximity to the mountain, as well as a 2 minute walk down to the bottom of the ski village where you can catch a bus into town that runs throughout the day and late into the night! The Nordic Inn is charming and comfortable. We brought our two pups with us and they felt just as welcome as we were. Kim is very accommodating and very enjoyable to be around. She remembers your names, asks what you did and if you need recommendations, etc. Feels like we've known her many years even though we just met. If you are looking for a cozy, inviting place to stay within reach of anything you need-this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have yet to even stay at the Nordic Inn and Kim has made me feel at home and has saved my little mini vacation. I purchased a Groupon, so not even a full rate customer and she went out of her way to help me out.

I had some unexpected scheduling conflicts with my weekend excursion and started to freak out a bit internally. Kim was able to help me change my reservation which in turn kept me calm and made it a very easy process. Her relaxed demeanor helped me continue my day without being flustered.

Thanks Kim!! We look forward to our stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Job well done with the renovations!

However, the service was what makes me want to come back. Kim is an amazing owner operator...she's definitely real, down to earth and hospitable. Taylor did a great job during breakfast and check out.

Charming, charming, charming!

What an excellent home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here the last time that they offered a deal on Groupon. It was so amazing. The new owner, Kim, is very sweet, always chatting and making sure you feel at home. The breakfast is AWESOME and the skiing is unbeatable. The Nordic Inn embodies what Crested Butte stands for- a small, warm, home-away-from-home getaway. I can't wait to get back, and I will never stay anywhere else as long as Kim and Ken are around!

As a side note, I actually pulled the sheets completely off the bed in a vein attempt to see who made the mattress. It was the most comfortable bed I have EVER been in. Don't over-plan your stay; it's way too comfortable staying in :)

Room Tip: We had a corner room in the newly remodeled section of the Inn. It was gorgeous. The shower temperat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My fiancee and I just returned from a long weekend away in Crested Butte. And all we can say is-- WOW! Kim, the owner, was genuine and personable. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return--it was home away from home! When we called the weekend before to cancel a reservation because of a family emergency, Kim was flexible, and had a room for us the following weekend. Everything was brand-new, and beautifully redone. She made recommendations for dinner, and let us know the scoop around town. Hands-down the best hotel experience in a very long time. The Nordic Inn is close to the mountain (with views of the runs at the resort from the hot tub!), a shuttle, and city bus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in Crested Butte! Kim and Ken are the most inviting and friendly people who love Crested Butte and want to share their passion with all of us. They made us feel like old friends! We wanted to snowshoe on our second day. They have a full range of snowshoes at the Inn, gave them to us for free along with many maps and local suggestions on the best places to go. The summer sounds fantastic down there too -- with tons of mountain biking and hiking. Their newly renovated rooms are absolutely stunning -- elegant, simple and beautiful. The location is perfect with an adorable ski shuttle taking you right to the entrance of the ski resort.
The main lobby area has a huge fireplace and is so warm and inviting. The breakfast is delicious and all of the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. They made lunch reservations for us at an adorable local place called Izzy's and we LOVED it!
We will go back again and again.
I just can't say enough about the Nordic Inn! Go and say hi to Kim and Ken!

Room Tip: Try out one of the newly renovated rooms. They also have a junior suite with small kitchen which ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nordic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nordic Inn

Address: 14 Treasury Rd, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Nordic Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nordic Inn is a part of Colorado skiing history... a Crested Butte original.Only 500 yards from the lifts at the base of Mt. Crested Butte. The Nordic Inn is truly a slice of nostalgia from the early days of skiing in Colorado and now represents a part of Mt. Crested Butte's history from its colorful early days. The feeling of the classic past meets present day with luxury accommodations, amenities, and services of a contemporary boutique bed & breakfast hotel.The Inn is the longest operating lodge in the county. Owned and managed over the past 40 years by Allen and Judy Cox who became known for their genuine hospitality, sense of humor, and personal connection with their guests. A culture and tradition that the new owners plan to carry on. Beautiful renovations combined with the charm of the original hotel make this mountain inn an unforgettable one-of-a-kind experience. Begin each morning in the warmth of the breakfast room with a wholesome continental breakfast to start your mountain adventure. After a day of playing hard, you are welcomed back to a roaring fire in the hotel's great room where you can relax, socialize, play games, or just take in the amazing views of Mt. Crested Butte. The Nordic Inn features a range of room types from a basic lodge room to luxury custom accommodations. The Nordic Inn is the perfect location in both summer and winter to enjoy all that is special about Crested Butte ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Nordic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nordic Hotel Crested Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nordic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.