We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-Friendly Staff-Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elk Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Elk Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Location-Friendly Staff-Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I can't say enough about how I highly recommend Elk Mountain Lodge and staying in Crested Butte. We've been out to Colorado more than 10 times for hiking/backpacking vacations and out of all the towns we've been in, Crested Butte was the friendliest place with the most going for it and the staff and accomodations at Elk Mountain Lodge were exemplary. Because they bike, hike and live in this town to the fullest, they know the trails to get to and where to go. Our room was tucked away (3rd floor with no balcony), but we had a great view of the mountains and it was quiet, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were great and there was plenty of food. But it's the staff that excelled. They are so friendly and give lots of advice and are willing to chat about life in Crested Butte. Plus they offer town bikes to ride and are close to everything. LOVE!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    47
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
38
97
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Elk Mountain Lodge. The best part of the experience were the people. From the owner through the staff, the great employee personalities made you feel like you were visiting family. Very attentive, helpful, and genuinely interested in insuring a great trip for the guest. Breakfasts (and conversation) were great, and even the coffee was first class, which you don't find often. The property is in great shape and very charming. While some of the rooms are modest, they are very comfortable, homey, well maintained and clean. Some of the rooms are also dog friendly.
Can't say enough nice things about the facility and the staff. We look forward to returning to visit our Elk Mountain family.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms with balconies. We liked #20 which faces the front of the hotel with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first visit to Elk Mountain Lodge. The accommodations were absolutely perfect - clean, quiet, and private but also the opportunity to visit with other guests for cocktails and at the most delicious breakfast each morning. The staff went out of their way to make our family feel so welcome and helped us with anything that we might need to make our visit to Crested Butte the best vacation ever! Thank you, Bryan and Candace, and we will return with the rest of our crew in the very near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We truly enjoyed a recent stay at the Elk Mountain Lodge and would recommend it to everyone who wants something different than a hotel. When you enter the lodge you feel immediately welcome by the relaxed atmosphere, the cozy living room and the nice people who are working at the lodge. They are very helpful in giving advice to hikes etc.
Great place and perfect location!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

As we began making plans for our third hike over to CB (from Aspen), I knew exactly where we wanted to stay - again. The Elk Mountain Lodge is a comfy respite after a days' activities - and a great homemade breakfast gets you off to a great start. Mike (owner) is helpful - and all the staff is eager to provide information and make your stay in Crested Butte everything you'd hope for - and more.

CB ranks at the top of Colorado resort towns - off the beaten track, gorgeous scenery, activities for any liking, great food at reasonable prices - and the Elk Mountain Lodge to call home.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: I like the second and third floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Elk Mountain Lodge is the perfect location to take in all that Crested Butte has to offer. The staff are super friendly and accommodating and the accommodations are cozy and clean. The cruiser bikes parked outside are a great mode of transportation to all the local coffee shops, restaurants, and bars. Our family (including dog) had a great stay and plan to stay at the elk mtn lodge again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We happened into the Elk Mountain Lodge and got the last room available. The young lady at the desk was very friendly and fun. We looked at the room first and decided it was just fine! Room 4...king bed and a nice bathroom. The hallways are dark and narrow but the rooms are bright and cheery. The bed was comfortable. The weather was a bit warm so we slept with the windows open which helped with temperature and stuffiness.
It was quiet all night but once folks get moving it is easy to hear showers etc. Fine for us as we were up early.
The location is great! Super to walk around the fun downtown with great restaurants and fun shops! A short drive to some great hiking.
Breakfast was on time and self service. The food was light....and the kitchen help was pleasant.

Room Tip: Book early during the busy travel times,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, T4B, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.