We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location for family reunion - food, activities, and time to enjoy each other” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smith Fork Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crawford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smith Fork Ranch
Save
You added Smith Fork Ranch to your Saves list
45362 Needle Rock Rd, Crawford, CO 81415   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Crestview Hills, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous location for family reunion - food, activities, and time to enjoy each other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the ranch...came from KY, CA, FL, and CO. The instruction for horseback riding, archery, and fly fishing was excellent. We felt very comfortable trying each new activity. The food was delicious...game hen, trout, cooked to order breakfast, and fabulous picnic lunches. We had the perfect place to stay. We each had our own room in the guest house and were able to share great times around the fireplace or rocking on our porch. The scenery around the ranch is breathtaking. We would all recommend SFR to all your readers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This was our first experience at a guest ranch. What a way to start! The ranch is nestled in a wonderful little canyon where you feel completely isolated from the rest of the world. The only sound you hear is the wind blowing through the trees. We were lucky enough to be there just as the aspen and cottonwoods were turning gold. It is a truly serene and majestic location.
I would be happy in a tent and cooking on a campfire in such a location, but that would be roughing-it. There is no roughing-it at this ranch, not for the guests anyway. The food was way beyond our expectations and I loved the wine. The cabins were charming but the furniture was a bit uncomfortable.
The truly remarkable thing about the ranch is the people that work there. They seem to truly care about what they are doing and are very good at it. I don’t think I have ever felt more welcomed and attended to. My wife was a little ill one day and the staff looked in on her while I was away for the day. I didn’t ask them to do it, they just wanted to.
My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at Smith Fork. They set the standard very high for any other guest ranch that we might go to. I look forward to going back to Smith Fork.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Literally everything about the trip was amazing. Not just because I chose the place to propose to my girlfriend, but the staff, the food, the surroundings were all beyond compare. I've been to other ranches in Colorado, but this is truly intimate, and simply perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCSilva, Director of Sales at Smith Fork Ranch, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Thank you Rordan and congratulations!!!

- Mary Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I spent a lot of time in the Rockies as a kid, mostly skiing in the areas around Vail and Keystone, but had never been to the Western Slope of the Rockies. After seeing a great deal at Smith Fork Ranch through a special promotion, we decided to make a trip there as part of a Colorado vacation.

Flying into Denver and driving over to the Ranch makes for a long day (if you are arriving in Denver after noon, you might consider spending the night there and driving to Crawford the following day), but we were warmly welcomed on our arrival, just in time for a wonderful dinner with other guests.

We stayed in the West Elk suite in the guest house. This is the most private of the rooms in the guest house, as well as the most spacious. The Ranch was not very full when we were there (there was one other couple in the guest house and another foursome in one of the larger cabins), so I'm not sure how it would feel being in the guest house if it was full, but our experience was perfect.

The room had a king-sized bed and a nice couch, so we felt there was plenty of room to stretch out day and night. The bathroom was a little small but perfectly adequate, with a very nice shower (no tub). Also in the guest house are two very comfortable sitting areas (a small sitting room and a larger living room with a kitchenette) which are available for the use of all those staying in the guest house. There is also a lovely porch swing which makes a great spot for reading or watching the sunset. Again, as we were there at a quiet time of the year, we felt we had the whole place to ourselves.

Breakfasts were hearty and delicious, with buffet items and eggs cooked to order. We originally thought we would eat dinner elsewhere a couple of nights for a little variety (our room rate included breakfast but not lunch and dinner), but once we saw how remote the ranch is and how scarce the nearby eating options are, we decided we would stay at the ranch each night for dinner. We were not disappointed. The dinners were excellent, drawing heavily on the ranch's garden and other local sources for most ingredients.

Meredith in guest relations was very helpful when we called to ask some questions before making our reservations, and gave us a wealth of tips and information during our stay that helped make the visit extra special. Marley and Linda, the owners, are warm, lovely, and welcoming. Transplants from New York, they have clearly invested in being a part of the Crawford community and seem to know just about everyone around town (and are clearly and understandably very well liked). They, too, offered us some wonderful ideas to get the most out of our trip. The staff was universally helpful, well-informed, and friendly.

Everything we saw led us to believe that Smith Fork Ranch would be a great experience for families. As a couple traveling without children, we were happy to be there in the off-season for a little more grown-up and quiet experience, though if you booked a cabin (rather than the guest house), I can imagine a couple could have a great time being there any time of year.

Don't miss the Black Canyon of the Gunnison if you travel to Crawford. We spent one afternoon there and loved it, then decided to get up at dawn the next day to go back and see the Canyon in the early morning light. This was an absolute highlight of our trip and worth setting the alarm even on vacation!

We also visited a few wineries in nearby Paonia--Stone Cottage was our favorite. Leroux Creek (in the other direction near Hotchkiss) was also a treat, as the husband/wife team who run the property make both wine and the most luscious lotions and other skin care products.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCSilva, Public Relations Manager at Smith Fork Ranch, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Over the years our family has stayed at many "high end" destination resorts which tout great service, top flight menus & organiized outdoor activities. We consider our group a challenge to impress. Having said that, Smith Fork Ranch exceeded our expectations in all areas. SFR takes the prize.

We can not say enough about the fabulous food, impressive wine collection and the wonderful people that ran dining from the chef to the servers. All of the staff at Smith Fork Ranch are proud of their product and show that pride in their care and concern in everything they do.

Our family rode well trained horses every day on well maintained trails thru the outback, caught our share of fish and rafted down the nearby Gunnison River. At the end of the day we enjoyed the hot tub and a great glass of pinot noir as we decided what we would do the next day. There is nothing like a great bed at the end of a big day and we were not disappointed , SFR gets a 5 out of 5 for the blankets, sheets and down pillows which are of the highest quality.

We have recommended SFR to all our friends who are interested in an active, family oriented vacation!

Peg and The Triple D Ranch clan

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Originally I was hesitant at the thought of "roughing it" on a dude ranch with my grandsons. But last July I took the plunge. And wow, am I glad I did. Smith Fork Ranch turned into a refuge from suburban living that everyone should have the joy of experiencing. Set in a mountain valley, along a lovely rushing river, the accommodations couldn't have been nicer -- all beautifully rugged and relaxing -- with the most wonderfully comfortable beds -- a real plus for me.

One could spend as much or as little time as you wanted with the other guests, or with your children for that matter. However, from morning 'til night the boys were entertained with activities geared to their levels, all supervised by an energetic staff who seemed more like family. From horseback riding to fly fishing and archery classes, arts and crafts, campfires, sing-a-longs and picnic lunches, they were busy and happy. Meanwhile, my days were filled with similar activities, all at my own pace. I was even able to try my hand at riding again, after many years. What a joy. The days often ended with a lovely stroll through the Aspens, before cocktails -- then on to those yummy gourmet meals, with delicious wine and relaxed conversation.

Little did we realize we were in for a wonderful 4th of July treat! There were country games and contests, musical entertainment, a fantastic barbeque. Ending with a trip to the local rodeo with fireworks, it was an experience the boys and I will never forget. Needless to say, we can hardly wait 'til this July, for our return trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinderhook, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

I waited years to go to the Smith Fork ranch, taking my daughter along for a joint birthday bash. The ranch is in a heavenly spot and many working there are truly passionate about their job. The food was OK, but not nearly as good as I would have expected, and the wines were extremely limited. Even though the staff knew this was a special birthday week-end, absolutely no mention was made of it. Given that I paid about $1000/day, it was sub par. We were given a room with twin beds and a shower - not tub. The room itself was more like a motel than a luxury hotel. They have a long way to go to be a luxury destination.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smith Fork Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smith Fork Ranch

Address: 45362 Needle Rock Rd, Crawford, CO 81415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crawford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Crawford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smith Fork luxury ranch is located on Colorado's Western Slope, approximately 7 1/2 miles east of the town of Crawford at an elevation of 7200'. The Ranch is nestled within the beautiful Gunnison National Forest adjoining the wild, untamed West Elk Wilderness Area. The luxury ranch and its surrounding areas are home to stunning mountains, abundant rivers, high altitude streams and lakes, and breathtaking views. The Ranch itself has three miles of frontage along the Smith Fork of the Gunnison River and seven trout ponds. Intimate Colorado ranch offering rustic luxury in the Rockies. Customize your unique family adventure. You can enjoy horseback riding, fishing and hiking the same land that the Ute Indians, Teddy Roosevelt and John Muir fell in love with. Experience a horseback riding vacation in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. Discover our special part of Colorado where generations of western ranch culture blend with exceptional artists, craftsmen and artisanal makers of Colorado's best foods and wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smith Fork Ranch Hotel Crawford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smith Fork Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.