We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Run Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elk Run Inn to your Saves list
Elk Run Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   627 W. Victory Way, Craig, CO 81625   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Craig
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at this motel one night on our way home from visiting relatives. The room was super clean, the bed very comfortable and the management friendly and helpful. There was a full kitchen that was actually equipped with everything needed to prepare and eat a meal which was a very nice change from most "kitchenette" places. We have been living in motels for the past 3 weeks so it was a real treat to be able to eat in for a change. We had good Wifi and TV. The bathroom was small but manageable. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHTtraveler, Manager at Elk Run Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
We appreciate the time you took to post this review. We have had many compliments on the fact that our kitchens are stocked with basic pans and dishes. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit through Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
16
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Probably most tourists coming to quiet and non-pretentious Craig - Wyoming are traveling to, or coming from, Yellowstone. The small town does not have special attractions. On our way to Yellowstone we found this Inn a good choice. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The room offered no excessive luxury but was otherwise quite complete with kitchenette, fridge, coffee maker e.s.o. The bed was comfortable and the shower was perfect; moreover the room was clean. There were really no clear problems and we liked our one-night stay in this coal-mine city, also considering the price: (2 adults, 1 night) $ 70.83.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Elk Run Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for the review. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again when you travel through this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed at the Elk Run when hunting in the area last year. It is an older motel that caters to hunters and fishermen and everyone else! The rooms are clean, nicely appointed and quiet, but basic. Most are finished in a motif connected to area history in some way. The rooms and suites are equipped with either full kitchens or kitchenettes including pots, pans, dishes and silverware. It has ample laundry facilities and the motel even has a skinning rack. There is a nice full service grocery store next door. All very convienient for the traveling Elk hunter.

The owners Randy and Cindy are very friendly, accomodating and helpful as are the staff members I've met. The Elk Run Inn is probably the best overall lodging value in the area and they have earned my business in the future.

Room Tip: The motel has rooms with multiple beds and suites with seperate bed rooms. Ask the owners for a reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHTtraveler, Manager at Elk Run Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We try to accommodate our hunters in the fall. All of our rooms have full kitchens. We hope you had a successful hunt and return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We traveled thru Craig Colorado twice on this trip, so we stayed here both times. We all were traveling on Harleys and wanted to stay somewhere where we could walk to a resturant. We found Elk Run Inn to be pretty basic but clean and the owners were very accomodating. Rooms were inexpensive and all had a theme. Clean, with full kitchens, some of the rooms bathrooms were quite small, but since we were just there to get some sleep and get back on the road, it was fine. Beds were comfortable. Coin operated laundry, which is a plus when you are on a motorcycle. They even had a two bedroom, which worked out for a couple and their niece that were traveling with us. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHTtraveler, Manager at Elk Run Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
One of the advantages of being an older location is our downtown proximity. As you found, you can easily walk to different businesses and leave the bikes at the motel. We are in the process of remodeling all of our rooms to have a local theme. Each room is different and represents something that can be found in the Craig/Moffat County area. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you next summer if you come this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

While an older motel, it was totally clean, bed comfortable, kitchenette & dishes, etc. in good shape. Manager very friendly. Small room, but had table and chairs for eating and apartment-sized fridge. Easy to find and convenient. Would definitely choose it again if went back to Craig.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed with 2 couples in this nice motel in July.
Every room got a theme , very well done .
( we in the Indian room , my sister in the Eagle room )
We liked it very much here , nice and clean motel , the rooms have everything what you can need , there also is a full kitchen.
Restaurant Village Inn on walking distance.
Enjoyed it very much here , will sure come back and can recommand to everybody.
Suzanne

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, FL
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the price was reasonable. We had a room on the first floor of a separate unit with a full kitchen. This is an older motel, but our room was updated and the air conditioner is a newer model and very quiet. The room was small, but not uncomfortably so. Cable TV and wifi were provided and worked very well. We would definitely stay here again when traveling through here and we can recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Run Inn

Address: 627 W. Victory Way, Craig, CO 81625
Location: United States > Colorado > Craig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Craig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elk Run Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk Run Inn is a family owned and operated motel in Craig, Colorado. We have 23 rooms and all of them have full kitchens. All rooms have a stove/oven, refrigerator, microwave, toaster and coffeepot. All of our rooms have been remodeled as theme rooms. All theme rooms represent animals, people or things native to our area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elk Run Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Run Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Run Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.