We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Vere Venues Wokefield Park

Save Saved
You added De Vere Venues Wokefield Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“It could have been so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just returned from spending a golf weekend here, from Friday 13th to Sunday 15th Sept. I guess I should have paid more attention to the Friday the 13th thing at the time I booked. First of all, on arrival, it wasn't at all clear where we should book in. There are two main blocks, the “Executive” and the “Mansion” and there is a fair distance between their receptions. We were in the “Mansion” though the package had us booked into the Buffet in the “Executive” block. It was heaving down with rain when it came time for dinner so when we arrived at the “Executive” block to be told that the whole block had been booked by a company and our meal was back in the “Mansion”, you can imagine that there were a few choice words as to why we hadn't been informed of this change when we booked in.

Having said that, though the menu was very limited, the meal was alright and the staff very helpful and attentive.

The rooms were large and roomy but in need of some maintenance. The shower head needed attention, the door to the shower staff leaked all over the floor and one of the side lamps in the bedroom didn't work.

The golf course is ok but there are parts of the fairways which are more like hard packed mud, though I expect this is more a sign of overuse than lack of care.

Breakfasts were buffet style, which is fine, however there was also a reasonably large convention in the Mansion which certainly placed a strain on the catering staff. When a lot of people want to eat, some forethought and planning can make it more pleasant for the guests. For example, the scrambled eggs ran out, the fried eggs were underdone, the bacon and sausages were as tough as old boots, and there was only one of those rotating toasters which take forever and it didn't work anyway.

My guess is that this hotel has a management issue. Lack of inspection of the rooms, signage could be improved, and catering arrangements need to be improved.

Would I recommend it? No, life’s too short.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to your visit here at Wokefield, we do take all feedback on board and address and action any issues or concerns with our team, here at Wokefield we strive to meet all guests expectations and I'm sorry if on this occasion you felt let down in some area's. we have a new maintenance project in operation to help keep our bedrooms to a required standard, once more I apologise if you felt let down by your visit. Again I thank you for taking the time to feedback.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    256
    213
    185
    115
See reviews for
144
262
34
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here for a retreat weekend (13th to 15th Sept) with other ladies where we had a block booking. We had single (sole occupancy) and double (shared occupancy) room bookings.
Sole occupancy guests stayed in the 'Mansion House' whilst the shared occupancy guests stayed in the 'Wellington Lodge'.
The subject of my review is the Mansion House Rooms. Some rooms were extremely nice, spacious and of a 5* standard whilst some were extremely small, ugly and of a 1* standard both charged at the same price!
This is totally unacceptable and the managers on duty were unrepentant and reluctant to change the rooms or even move the aggrieved party to Wellington with the excuse of 'we're fully booked'. The 1* star room had no headboard with dirty walls, a long brown locker as a 'wardrobe', the room felt 'closed' and claustrophobic whilst the 5* was 4 times the size with 2 huge armchairs, a fireplace, a huge double bed, huge wardrobe, huge beautiful bathroom and generally beautiful decor and ambiance.
On the plus side, the food was excellent! Freshly made soups, freshly baked breads, lovely good sized variety. Big well done to the Mansion House chefs.

Room Tip: The best rooms are 231, 237 and others similar to that style. Please avoid/reject 234, 233; these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, whilst all rooms across site are different we do take onboard your comments and action accordingly. I have passed on your comments to the chefs and they were delighted to here your food comments. I do hope that your previous visit will not put you off returning to Wokefield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Firstly the good points. All staff were extremely friendly and courteous. My room was fine with an excellent shower. The breakfast was fine also although dirty plates were left lying on tables for over 20 minutes.
Sadly, the poor points outweigh the good. It took between 5-10 minutes to find my room, if I'd been directed properly it would have taken two. The evening buffet was decidedly average with overcooked food. We ordered wine before our starters and it finally turned up as we were nearing the end of our mains. The bar completely ran out of beer on the Saturday night and also ran out of wine glasses. The hotel was heaving with guests and yet there barely seemed to be any staff in key areas.
The golf course was over congested, it took us 5 hours on both the Saturday & Sunday.
De Vere need to up their game, on this performance the likes of Premier Inn are out-performing them in just about every area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
May I first and foremost apologise that you felt some aspects of your visit did not meet you expectations here at wokefield, we do strive to ensure all guests have a memorable visit. We have looked at the staffing levels and increased numbers to ensure guests have the experience they deserve. I would like to also thank you for the great comments that you provided regarding the staff, I have passed on all your comments to the team. I do hope that your experience here at Wokefield will not put you off returning sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratfield Mortimer hotels

Kings Langley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel to meet up with five other friends on the weekend of 6-8th Sept 2013, to play golf, have a few beers and enjoy ourselves. However, the service that we received was dreadful, especially in the Steam Bake and Grill restaurant. They serve a buffet style meal, which I am not against, but it was poorly laid out, was little better than a canteen. Whilst the staff worked hard and tried their best, there were not enough of them, meaning that we had almost finished our main course, when the wine arrived, and our plates where not cleared away.

The golf course, was not in very good condition, and they had over booked the number of tee times on Sat and Sun..

Would not go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback here at Wokefield. I do operate a buffet style service on occasions in our Steam Bake and grill restaurant, I have fed back your comments to the team and apologise if you feel this did not meet your expectations. I do hope that this will not stop you returning to Wokefield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here on business, wouldn't return by choice. Food was not bland and shower was freezing cold, not ideal preparation for an important meeting, washing in a small sink! Reception staff were disinterested when the issue was reported to them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for providing the feedback from your stay here at Wokefield. I have fed back your feedback to the team, I apologise if the some members of the team seemed disinterested, here at Wokefield we do believe in Great customer service and it saddens me to here you did not feel this on your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I wasn't going to post here but I haven't had a reply fromDevere customer.services( sent yesterday).We were there from Friday 6 Sep to Sunday 8 Sep..I won't go into everything but the bar was understaffed ,2 of the beers were off and weren't replaced by Saturday night or Sunday Lunchtime..the food in the steam bake grill wasvery poor and the whole organisation in that restaurant was chaotic...as for the golf course... on Saturday the first tee was like Piccadilly Circus...due to the amount of tee time bookings the course is a mess..the fairways do not look to have a sprinkler system ,the greens were shocking and the yellow tees were practically on top of the red tees...if it wasn't for the fact we played 2 other courses our weekend ( which we were all looking forward to) would have been a complete disaster..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
May i take this opportunity to apologise for the issues you encountered on your recent stay here at Wokefield. Whilst every effort is made to ensure all customers experiences are met i am sorry you felt let down on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Myself and a group of friends from all over the country go away every year for a weekend of golf. We last played here around 8 or ten years ago. It has not improved but has got worse.

HOTEL:- Arrived at check in to be told rooms would be available from 1pm. We were required to pay for the room in advance (bizarre). Got key cards at 1 PM room was not ready, but at least we could dump the bags.

ROOM:- Room was small but adequate, although only two coat hangers were provided and a trip to reception to request more was in order (on positive side I forgot my toothbrush and was given one free at reception).
The door handle to the room was loose which meant the key card did not always work unless you jiggled the handle around a bit.

CLEANLINESS- I returned to my room on the Saturday evening to find that the cold cup of coffee and the empty crisp bag had not been cleared from my bedside table. Shower screen in bathroom was ill fitting and had mould

MEALS:- The evening meal(s) which we had booked were okay, however breakfast was a bity of a joke with food being served out by people with dirty aprons on which was kinda off-putting. Glasses to put cold orange juice in were warm and paradoxically the plates that you wanted to put hot food on were cold. Came down to breakfast on Sunday to find the table set out with paper cups for your tea/coffee, come on guys!!!

BAR:- Apart from the normal exorbitant drinks costs in these places it was distressing to find the bar ran out of Marstons Pedigree (BTW tasted a bit ropey to start as if it had been lying in the pipes for a while) on the Friday and when the Boddingtons ran out on the Saturday the place was so understaffed that nobody could be spared to go and change the barrels.

THE COURSE:- Around a five and a half hour round on the Friday, around five hours on the Saturday and a comparatively rapid four hours on the Saturday. The course is long at around 6,900 yards with long walks between the tees (9th-10th is around quarter of a mile). All buggies were fully booked which impacted on some of our older golfers. Course did not lend itself to rapid play due to overgrown grass in rough which necessitated in people in the parties in front wasting time looking for balls thereby adding to the slow play. Pro shop not shy in charging; a fiver to rent a pull trolley, come on, my club only charge £1.50. Golf balls as ever in these places were not cheap.

OVERALL:- There are other , better places to play your golf and have a good time, do yourselves a favour and go there. Free coffe was a nice touch

Room Tip: Room 702 has a dodgy lock and pr4obably only two coat hangers again
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to your visit here at Wokefield, we do take all feedback on board and address and action any issues or concerns with our team, here at Wokefield we strive to meet all guests expectations and I'm sorry if on this occasion you felt let down in some area's. I do hope that this experience does not put you returning to Wokefield in the near future. Again I thank you for taking the time to feedback.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Vere Venues Wokefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Venues Wokefield Park

Address: Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stratfield Mortimer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stratfield Mortimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Vere Venues Wokefield Park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion House has 87 luxury bedrooms each with unique features and Wellington Lodge has 40 modern en-suite bedrooms. All refurbished accommodation features en suite, free high speed internet access, LCD TV with Sky Channels, DDI telephones and hospitality tray. Meeting & Syndicate Rooms: 18 meeting rooms & 36 syndicate rooms with main rooms offering natural daylight and a maximum capacity of 450. Leisure-time: Indoor pool, mini-gym, fishing, ropes course, golf - 18 hole championship course, driving range, pro shop, putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your De Vere Venues Wokefield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park Hotel Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.