We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Vere Venues Wokefield Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added De Vere Venues Wokefield Park to your Saves list
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Kadoma, Zimbabwe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely views and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great location with lovely views and relaxing atmosphere both indoors and outdoors. We went to the hotel for an Easter conference and found it a pleasant place to be. The staff was always helpful and friendly although i found it a little weird when one of the room service attendants tried to charge me for an already opened and used tube of toothpaste when we asked for one to be delivered to the room. The food was fine and i might say i was impressed by the hotels ability to cope with our large group of people; bearing in mid there were other groups there having their Easter conferences too. Fair and fine place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your very complimentary review. I’m really sorry about the toothpaste; an honest case of human error and one that won’t be repeated! We are very lucky to be able to cater for many different guests and group needs and this is what makes our venue very special. Hope to see you again this Easter!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    283
    253
    226
    179
See reviews for
174
306
39
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our second stay here. The first time (Aug 11) we absolutely fell in love with the place, beautiful grounds, large room, fantastic leisure facilities - we couldn't wait to return. Unfortunately some of the shine had worn off by the second visit, the bathroom was, although perfectly functional, in desperate need of refurbishing and the food was average at best. However on a £35 per night deal there is absolutely no room to complain. Free hot drink stations, pool complete with jacuzzi and sauna and a nintendo games lounge, definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased that you are a fan of what we do but am sorry to hear that we didn’t quite have the same shine this time around. We are working all the time to provide exciting new and delicious menu’s and have a small number of rooms left on our list to refurbish over the coming months to the standard you expected with these rooms in the meantime still representing great value and comfort. Thank you for highlighting just some of the great things Wokefield Park has to offer our guests and we hope to see you again soon for an even better, amazing value stay soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed on the 1 January & first impressions were very good: extensive grounds, impressive building & pleasant staff. I stayed in the Executive Building, which was fine & expected - our 33rd floor room was clean & spacious & we had a lovely little balcony overlooking the golf course.

Only real issue was that as we walked along the corridors, there were numerous empty bottles / glasses, etc, lined up outside many of the rooms, presumably there from the night before (New Year's Eve.) Now I'm no party-pooper & when I saw all of this on check-in, around 4pm, turned a blind eye - however none of it had been cleared away when I checked out the next day!! (For all of this to be still there - from 31 Dec to 2 Jan is pretty slack & not really acceptable.)
Added to this, the whole place was deserted & there was no atmosphere whatsoever (due to the day we stayed obviously & not the hotel's fault!) but it meant that it all seemed a bit bland & souless; would like to revisit on another day however to see if there would be an improvement.

The pool / gym etc seemed adequate but did not use and we were unable to eat in the restaurant as they were only serving the bar menu that evening! This was a disappointment as we had intended to eat there (& were not informed that there would be no restaurant when booking) but was just another example of the place feeling like 'the morning after the night before!' I would not however be against returning another time, when everything is operational & fully functional!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that overall you had a great stay with us. I am very sorry for the point raised about our corridors. I agree that this is not acceptable and certainly not indicative of our normal standards. Please rest assured that this issue has been comprehensively dealt with. We are always extremely careful in ensuring we communicate to our guests regarding which of our restaurants and food outlets are open at any given time and we always ensure there is an attractive offering available but am sorry if were didn’t fully outline this to you. I am also sorry that you felt you didn’t see us in full swing. We certainly do hope we see you again and am sure we will provide you with all the atmosphere, delicious menu options and points of interest of our site to your complete satisfaction on a future visit.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Footsteps Tours took a coach group for the 007 bond night 2012/13. The group stayed in the conference centre part as apposed to the main house. The rooms were all clean and adequate. The only downside was the poor lighting in the rooms. The public areas all clean and spacious, friendly staff and meals were good. Set in nice grounds & golf course. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We had a great start to 2013 at Wokefield Park and I am delighted you had the opportunity to share this with us. With regards to your comments about lighting in your bedroom, we are in the process of rolling out carbon footprint friendly LED lighting in many areas of our business. Where this has been installed we have been getting very favourable results and feedback with even higher quality light. Thanks for the overall recommendation and hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked this hotel purely on the basis of price. Reading about the facilities and looking at it's rating I was a little puzzled as to why it was so cheap, but it wasn't my problem! Arrival was no problem thanks to Google Maps, and I found the signs on the road more than adequate. The reception area was bright and modern, a bit sterile for my taste, but it was is a modern building and modern architects are known for their strange ideas.
The room was comfortable, well equipped and warm, the food in the restaurant was excellent and the service was quick, efficient and friendly.
My main praise is for the staff. Every member of staff I met were cheerful and helpful and, very importantly, genuine. These weren't the plastic corporate smiles of over-trained, browbeaten minions stuffed full of corporate jargon from HR managers high on psychobabble, but the smiles of staff enjoying the knowledge that they were valued and that they mattered in making a guest's stay enjoyable. I and my companion were made to feel welcome and valued, nothing was too much trouble and any request was dealt with promptly with no sign of it being a problem or an irritation.
All the staff we met have obviously been well chosen, well trained and are well managed. I have had enough experience in managing and being managed to know the difference between good and bad and the managers here are very good.
To sum up, I and my companion had a totally satisfactory time here knowing that we didn't need to worry about anything except enjoying ourselves and the attitude and quality of the staff made this very easy to do. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review. This is fantastic recognition for what we strive hard for as a team. As one of the venue’s Senior Managers it is brilliant to hear your praise and also share this with the team. Our customers are everything to us and we like to deliver what we do with a genuine and positive twist. With this I know you will have a similarly great experience next time you visit. Thank you again.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The grounds are beautiful, the service was great. However what let this hotel down was the double bed made up of 2 very unstable beds placed next to each other. They kept parting constantly which has brought my rating down so much. Also the edges of the bed in the middle were extremely uncomfortable. If you advertise a double bed, then use a double bed please! I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ensure that a double bed is only one bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you found our grounds beautiful and service great. I am very sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy a comfortable night’s sleep though. We have recently invested in some new beds to replace a very small minority that were coming to the end of their operational life and am very sorry if you experienced one of these prior to replacement. Some of our bed-stock are what we refer to ‘zip and link’ beds which offer great comfort and flexibility for a wide variety of our guests. I am sorry that you wouldn’t consider staying with us again on this point alone as I know we have easily rectified this and can offer you a perfect night’s sleep in any number of our comfy beds. Thank you again for your review and hope you change your mind!
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wokefield Park is in an amazing location, tranquillity is certainly the name of the game. I stayed in the old building this time which from a parking point of view is lazier and also the building has more charm from the outside. The welcome there is friendly and my room is fine. All the things i need and plenty of hot water. The staff are friendly and some i know quite well from previous visits. The conference room is well set out and the manager pops in a couple of times to check all is okay. I am sure if i wanted to be pernickety i could find fault. Maybe breakfast could have decent marmalade and not the cheap catering plastic pots (actually that would make a massive difference to me but again i can be fussy!) and maybe the coffee could come round more often, BUT i love it here with the quiet rooms, great golf course and some brilliant staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. You have encapsulated many of the elements that make Wokefield Park so great for meetings, events, golf and leisure stays. We’ll have a look into the points you raised that you would like to see us potentially change and see what we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable! I have passed on your great praise for the team here which they were delighted to receive. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes,
James Gardiner – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Vere Venues Wokefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Venues Wokefield Park

Address: Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stratfield Mortimer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Mortimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Vere Venues Wokefield Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion House has 87 luxury bedrooms each with unique features and Wellington Lodge has 40 modern en-suite bedrooms. All refurbished accommodation features en suite, free high speed internet access, LCD TV with Sky Channels, DDI telephones and hospitality tray. Meeting & Syndicate Rooms: 18 meeting rooms & 36 syndicate rooms with main rooms offering natural daylight and a maximum capacity of 450. Leisure-time: Indoor pool, mini-gym, fishing, ropes course, golf - 18 hole championship course, driving range, pro shop, putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your De Vere Venues Wokefield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park Hotel Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.