We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Kuota Lukenya Luxury House to your Saves list.
Machakos
|
Rental Home – 
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruth S
Mareeba, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable luxurious experience of wild Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2011

We travelled to Kenya and stayed at Kuota with our 4 young adult and teenage children. This beautiful house became our home for a week. The staff went out of their way to welcome us and to facilitate our dreams for our holiday. To wake in the morning safe, clean, and comfortable watching a wide array of birds in the gorgeous garden and wild animals (Zebra, giraffes, many kinds of antelope etc etc) moving through the landscape beyond the garden fence is an extraordinary privilege. This superb house was our private sanctuary for the week. We had great food, great local trips, quiet times and lots of laughter. I would particularly like to thank the staff, the Patricks, the kitchen staff and the gardeners for their efforts for our comfort.. I cannot recommend Kuota highly enough!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: that we could only stay for a week
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
James S
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“We had a lovely family hoilday in a magical place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The service we experienced during the week from the considerable staff (the 2 Patricks and Jackson being the main players) was excellent in every way.

Pick up from and to the airport was very easy and took less than an hour.

Foodwise the day started with early morning tea or coffee in our rooms followed by a delicious breakfast comprising fresh fruit and full English breakfast if you wanted it. Morning Kenyan coffee on the wonderful veranda watching the East African bird life all around. Delicious lunch by the pool washed down with rose, afternoon tea, pre dinner drinks with wonderful roasted nuts and avocado dips and then excellent 3 course dinner with South African wines.

The house itself is not done justice by the web site. Its enormous fun; very African and utterly civilized. Rooms are all very comfortable and all have great views of the garden and bush beyond. Each room has its own private balcony where we sat and had our morning tea and listened to the incredible morning chorus each day.

We found there was lots to do. At the house we played lots of family tennis and boule and relaxed by the heated pool. An almost impossible puzzle took over for a while.

From the house you can go on morning and evening game drives in the safari Landrover. Always lots to see although no predators apart from the odd hyena and jackal. The absence of predators meant you could go for walks safely. We actually did quite a bit of riding as there is a very friendly sables just next door. I discovered horses definitely don't like Giraffas!

The house also has a sizable lake about 10 minutes walk away where you can have evening drinks which was fun and watch some of the wildlife come for an evening drink. We also had a go at fishing with Brian, the property manager and caught a few frogs! If the weather is right apparently you can do a lot better.

We played golf at Machakos expecting dried out fast greens which was not the case at all. It was all beautifully green and very pleasant. Lost quite a few balls though! Definitely worth having a caddy.

There are some interesting day trips to do. We enjoyed seeing the Rift Valley. Also a day at the Niarobi Wild Life Park is definitely worth doing and is only an hour away. We also went to the elephant orphanage which was very memorable. One was only 2 months old.

In summary we just has a thoroughly enjoyable week. Kuota is a magical place.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The staff were great.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
245Nikki
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The most wonderful place for its tranquility, beauty & hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This was our second stay at Kuota. We stayed there with our teenage children before heading to the coast. Kuota was a perfect first stop in Kenya - it is in the most beautiful setting with plenty of activities on offer. The house with its attention to detail and sumptuous space is a real treat. The food was delicious and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. The birdlife in the garden was great to see and on our drives around the savannah we encountered lots of game and the highlight was sitting watching the giraffe.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The house and view
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
HeathHall...
1 review
“The house truly lives up to its name "Kuota" - my "dream" of a holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The house is really lovely, not too grand but very comfortable with helpful and considerate staff. The chef cooked delicious meals. We always had something interesting to do: tennis, swimming, walking, fishing and game drives. I could not recommend it highly enough. It really was a wonderful way to relax and see some beautiful countryside and birds and game right on your doorstep.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The friendly staff
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Christoph...
Upperton
1 review
“The Bliss of staying at "KUOTA"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We were met at Nairobi airport by the Kuota houseman who was very helpful. It took a little over the hour to get to the house, we were assigned to our delightful room and had a good nights sleep and woke refreshed, ready to start our holiday which turned out to be splendid in every way.The staff were fantastic as was the food. The house was extremely comfortable and sat very snugly in the local environment which was pure Africa, expansive and full of exciting Game.
We went on game drives every day and found them very rewarding.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The comfort of the house
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,199
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Brian N.
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2013
Response Rate: 16 %
Response Time: Within two days
Calendar Updated: 263 days ago
$10,000 Peace of Mind Guarantee
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing