We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent French Onion Soup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpinista Family Bistro

Alpinista Family Bistro
172 Copper Circle, Unit C-1, Taylors Crossing, PO Box 4218, Copper Mountain, CO 80424
970-968-1144
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, European, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent French Onion Soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My family stopped in for a meal of Bruchetta, French Onion Soup and Chocolate Fondue. I had to take a moment to share that the French Onion Soup was one of the best I have ever had. Obviously homemade. The atmosphere and service is laid back, as is most of the restaurants in Copper. Stop in when you are ready to take some time and just enjoy the local scene. We were pleased to recieve additional discounts for early seating (ie Happy Hour specials).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    28
    10
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Bad experience overall”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited on March 17th 2013...around 645pm. The host was very friendly and accommodating. However, the waiter was apparently the only one working that night and the service was slow at best. It took 15 minutes from our seating until we were acknowledged by the waiter, who acted like we were annoying him by being there. This is unacceptable in the restaurant business but particularly so for a so called "family restaurant". We were looking for something light, and so our entire order was - one soup, a chicken sandwich, kids chicken tenders, and a kids pasta. It took over 45 minutes for the order to be delivered, during which time I had to flag down the waiter for drink refills! The table next to us, also with kids, said that they had been there almost two hours and had been waiting over 30 minutes just for their dessert. No apology was offered by the waiter until he returned with my change...

My advice ... Avoid this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
“Slowest service ever!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Food was good and the server was very helpful, but it was so slow. We were the second party seated, and were still there over two hours. When all the tables around you start conversing with each other about how slow the service, you know its slow. Had to ask to get anything, refills, desert that was included with meal, check etc. I think it was more a back of house problem as our server even told us there where no more clean plates at one point. Will not go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Bacon, Eggs, and Toast....great. If you like real good 'regular' coffee they have it. Average price for a resort. Very friendly wait staff just not in a hurry. I don't know if they have ever been trained or ??? but they are slow. Don't expect to be in and out. I have been back a few times when I have time to kill. Food is always good and service is always slow..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing find. Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Great food at fantastic prices and amazing service. The owner comes around and checks personally that your meal is to your satisfaction. The chef has the art of blending tastes and sauces perfected. Ask for the "special sauce" with the wings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpinista Family Bistro also viewed

Copper Mountain, CO
 
Copper Mountain, CO
Copper Mountain, CO
 

Been to Alpinista Family Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpinista Family Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.