We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JJ's Rocky Mountain Tavern

JJ's Rocky Mountain Tavern
102 Wheeler Circle, East Village, Super Bee Chairlift Base, Copper Mountain, CO 80443
970 968-3062
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Food was better than expected at the bottom of the mountain and our waiter, Jim was friendly and attentive. Going again tonight with the family.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    35
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went on a Sunday night, about 6:00, during spring break. It was not crowded at all, however it started getting busy as we left. Everyone working there was friendly and nice. Server was attentive and it did not take long to get our food. I ordered the Kevins Pie pizza so I would have leftovers for lunch the next day. I thought it was very tasty and can't understand anyone complaining about it. My son liked his cheese pizza and believe me, he knows cheese pizza. They had a wide selection of beers. I can't understand the earlier complaint about beer prices. Its about the same as any place in the area, maybe fifty cents to a dollar here and there. How do you remember Fat Tire is $4 at one place and $4.50 at another? Is that really that big a deal? Even if the beer was higher, for $13 I got a pizza for dinner and lunch the next day and I thought that was a good deal. Overall, we enjoyed our experience and would definitely return for the pizza on our next ski trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“JJ's-good food, usually poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We eat at JJ's every time we visit Copper Mountain. The food is consistently good and the service is consistently poor. Jim from Midland was our waiter tonight. He was more interested in serving the larger parties than our small group. We ordered the BBQ Combo Platter, the Mediterranean Pizza, and the NY Strip Steak. All were very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We just returned from our 3rd trip to Copper. This was the first time we found JJ's, as we generally had stayed in the Center Village. It was well worth the quick shuttle ride to the East Village to eat at JJ's. We ate there twice for dinner. We were very pleased with our food both and the service both times. We will definitely eat there next time we visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“On Weekends, Expect Service as Slow as I-70”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

JJ's serves good food. No question about that. And during the week, you can get in and our reasonably quickly. But on weekends, expect to spend at least an hour for lunch if you go to JJs. The place is large (its primary purpose seems be drinking), and the kitchen is small relative to the number of tables (especially when they're seating outside). So no matter how nice the servers, expect to be frustrated, especially if you have kids with you, or if its a beautiful day and you want to get back out there and ski. You're much better off going upstairs to the cafeteria, where the food and prices are reasonable, and the cycle time is MUCH shorter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Rocky Mountain Tavern also viewed

Copper Mountain, CO
 

Been to JJ's Rocky Mountain Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ's Rocky Mountain Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.