We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1623 South Nevada Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906-2289 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #68 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
1 review
“Poor.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked through an online travel membership club, and when we got there the desk clerk (owner?) said the payment from the travel club had been declined. Had to call the travel club. Turns out he was charging their card for more than they had authorized because taxes had increased? We finally got checked in, got to the room....it was dirty. Hadnt been cleaned at all. So we go back to the office, and the guy already has a new room for us...i guess he realized after we left that it was a dirty room. So we go to the new room, and its fine, but there is all sorts of trash between the wall and the dresser, the bed is really crappy, my pillow feels like im sleeping on a wadded up jacket, and theres no conditioner. Also, the neighborhood is pretty shady.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayManagber, Owner at Rodeway Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Sorry for your experience. I would like to point out that many times guests are better served by booking with the hotel directly rather than using a travel club. There is no question room quality varies form hotel to hotel but did you know that room quality varies from room to room in the same hotel? It does. In the summer when we are busy and all our rooms are sold we have to assign rooms. Some arrivals booked directly with the hotel. They may be paying a $70 rate for example. We have other guest that went through third party entities and still paid $70 for the room but the third party takes its share and the hotel may be left with $56. Now the hotel must select rooms for arrivals and sees there is one guest that is paying $70 and the other is at $56. Say there are only two rooms left and one is new furnishings and the other not. Maybe one had an inconsiderate guest the night before that decided to smoke in the non-smoking room. Which guest will get the better room? We are not trying to provide anything but quality to every guest but some guests are much harder on rooms than others. During a busy summer with maids calling in sick, others feeling overworked due to covering for others missing work, some days you just have to patch things together the best you can. If you have a poor pillow however, call the desk and we will gladly get you a better one. It is very rare we check a guest into a dirty room but it happens, most often this occurrs when guests are checking in early, prior to check in time and we are attempting to accommodate them. Again it is rare and irregardless of the time this guest was checking in, I am sorry that it occured and caused you this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    16
    9
    20
See reviews for
15
19
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here 3 days in July. It was very handy to Pikes Peak, and all the attractions we were visiting. It was pet friendly with a nice area for the dogs. The room was nice size and clean. The first day we noticed in the faucet, you could not get any cold water, only warm. The shower would be hot, the get to the point of scalding. The controls for the shower were not working. The night manager came down and said they were in the process of changing these valves in the shower wall, but it was a big job. He set the shower control and said leave it in that position, and it would be fine. It didn't, it just got super hot again. By the 3rd night night we decided it was just too dangerous to use. The maid service just had to empty the trash and change towels. They took dirty towels, didn't leave any. The floor lamp in room had broken switch. The area around the pool looked like the grass hadn't been trimmed around for weeks. Talked to the owner when checking out. He again stated they were in process of fixing shower valves. He gave us a little discount on our bill, and was very understanding. The fact is though that scalding hot water with a faulty valve is dangerous.,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayManagber, Owner at Rodeway Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. I would like to add a little clarification on a couple points. Since your stay, we did change out the shower handle valve in the room we thought was contributing to the problem. I did not help. We had a plumber look at it and he couldn't understand it either and really did not know where to start except tracking the lines. I crawled the plumbing chases and found some places where the hot water pipe and the cold water pipe were in contact under dirt. The best guess I have is that there is heat transfer from the hot line to the cold. Also, this is a problem only in three rooms of the 52 in the hotel. We have now discovered that by running the tub on cold for about a minute and a half, the hot water evactuates out of the line and the problem of getting a shower is solved in those three rooms. As far as the switch on the lamp, they have been removed. The lamp is controled by the on off wall switch by the door. We were having a problem of guests often throwing away our working light bulbs because the switch at the door was in the off position so the guest would go to the lamp, turn it on and no light. They would frequently then decide to help us out by throwing away what they thought was a bad bulb. The lamp switch was removed and the lamp works by the wall switch. No excuse for the towels that one day. Sorry your stay did not meet your expectations in everyway. Thank you for staying with us for three days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, New Mexico, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I drove in from Bozeman, MT and had to get directions by phone as I find Colorado Springs a confusing town to drive in. I had a non smoking room reserved but the evening person gave me a room by the pool which did smell like smoke. I abhor smoke and asked for another room. I got a room upstairs which had a large ash box outside. It had a few butts in it and it smelled like smoke. I was very pleased that the room was immaculate and did not smell like smoke. I had a friendly experience with the staff who accommodated me immediately. In the morning I checked out and spoke with the nicest general manager in the world. I have worked on and off in hotels and think that these older ones that are cheap draw a smoking crowd but you can always ask until you find one that does not smell. I think that the housekeeping staff should dump the ash box regularly. This is a very sweet hotel and I plan to stay there again.
Jennifer

Room Tip: Be patient and the very nice staff will find you a really good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a decent place with a great wait staff! Our stay of 4 days went well with the included continental breakfast, use of the pool and our room at the back of the motel. Our first room was right off the road and night time driving woke us up at times. We moved to the back of the motel and it was pleasant. Bill and Edward are two very nice people that helped us with our stay. If you do not need the glitz and you are looking for value this is your place.

Room Tip: More towards the rear of motel to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

All of the bedding is extremely old, pillows are small and almost not visible, cleanest is about 2 on scale 1 to 5.
It was fun to see at night a raccoons on the second floor!
Just one positive moment is very helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayManagber, General Manager at Rodeway Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Not a good review but no doubt an accurate reflection of your experience. We have been buying pillows and so many rooms have better than what you may have had also, in our defense I would say that June is a transitional month for us. e have to bring on new housekeepers for the much busier summer season. As hard as we try, there is a learning curve. I apologize. We certainly strive to provide clean, comfortable rooms. Any one else with a pillow concern should know to call the desk and we will bring you extra pillows to make you comfortable. We understand we are only as good as our worst room so thank you for helping us stay on our toes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stinky rooms, old sheets, seedy part of town. I am traveling alone with young kids and felt uncomfortable in the motel safety wise. TV had few channels, generally not pleasant. Hope others have a better stay than I did.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayManagber, Owner at Rodeway Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Sorry about your experience. I would point out that non smoking room(s), do not reek of smoke. Possibly, this guests room may have but that is room singular. Also, many of the third party sites book guests into smoking rooms when no non-smoking rooms are left and then request the hotel place the guest in non-smoking. Unfortunately there are none as they are all reserved. I'm not sure if that was the case with this guest however it has been a problem so guests reserving at any hotel should be aware of it. Television stations, we have 25. All the local channels, HBO, USA, Fox movie channel and 19 others. Regarding safety, we can not impact the way people feel by a tremendous amount. I have run the hotel for over 10 years and and the facts are we have to be one of the safest hotels in the country as far as our record goes. I am not blind and can see why people might draw inaccurate conclusions because of some of the pedestrian traffic that from time to time passes the hotel on public property. However, the facts is the biggest safety problem we have had is a perception problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, Kansas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I used to work as housekeepers at a hotel so we are very picky about cleanliness. We looked at our room first and were impressed. We stayed for a week and would definitely stay there again. The staff were friendly and the price was cheap.

Room Tip: room 108 was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn and Suites

Address: 1623 South Nevada Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906-2289 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.