We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not this one...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Colorado Springs - West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Colorado Springs - West to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Colorado Springs - West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5855 Corporate Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80919   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #61 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Minnesota
1 review
“Not this one...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

As a former employee of Extended Stay Hotels, I am sad that I have to write such a poor review of this hotel.

The location was o.k., but somewhat of a drive to the attractions that we wanted to see.

Our room was dirty. There was grease spots on the refrigerator, cupboards and stove backsplash. The bathroom vent had 1/4 inch of dust on it. The bathroom door lock was broken. The tub had scum stains. The carpet was dirty-needed a good shampoo. Our telephone did not work, even when getting a new one from the front desk.

The hotel itself was o.k., although the front trash bin was overflowing for 2 days and the stairwells were dirty.

The staff at check in was pleasant enough, but the other staff had a ho hum attitude.

I would not stay at this ESA. Two nights earlier we stayed at the Des Moines location and our experience was much better.

  • Liked — Discounted rate
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    11
    10
    13
See reviews for
17
9
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

The hotel is located in North Colorado Springs and it’s a typical Extended Stay America hotel. Nothing is special. Probably I expected more courtesy from the front desk. The location is good to visit all the attractions of Manitou Springs and Colorado Springs. The hotel is also close to Academy Blvd where you can find stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Bay
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

This is a no frills suites hotel on the north side. There was constuction going on all around the hotel which is situated in a buiness park area. The room was reasonably large with basic furnishings, nothing special. With great effort we managed to open a window (filthy) but then could not close it again. Finding how to get there was extremely confusing because of closed roads and all the construction. We probably would not stay there again, there are many other alternatives.
We had a very nice dinner at the New South Wales restaurant in the same complex.
Our stay in this hotel was part of a 53 day US tour that took us over 10,000 miles, 36 different hotels, and a different restaurant every evening. We were on a budget so did not stay in luxury hotels or generally eat in expensive restaurants. This review is relative to what we found on average. We booked all hotels in advance over the internet, when available, and checked them all against reviews on TripAdvisor.com which we found very helpful.

  • Liked — No room service allows more privacy
  • Disliked — Construction all around
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the New South Wales restaurant
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Because we only needed a room for a 1 night shopping trip, we chose to get a cheaper hotel on Hotwire. After taking careful note of the name, pictures of the place, and address, we departed.

The only thing in this list that applied to the hotel was the address. The name is no longer "Extended Stay America", but "Crosslands". When speaking with the clerk during Check-In, she reminded me to take anything that I didn't want stolen to the room.

As my wife and I climbed the stairs to our room, we noticed that most of the doors were open to the night air. Upon arriving in our room, I understood why - no air conditioner. The room smelled terrible, the bed had been slept in, and the bathroom was FILTHY. I went back to the desk and requested another room, this time with better results. This was only after the desk clerk asked "What? Is it not good enough?". The next room was clean, but only a full size bed, shower (no bath), and pretty small.

Overall, this hotel was OK. The second room was clean and for the price, it was fine. But, as stated in other reviews, you would be better off looking for another hotel further north (better neighborhood and more options). Even if you have to pay slightly more, avoid "Extended Stay America/Crosslands".

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and staff
  • Tips/Secrets — OK if you're looking for value while sacrificing other things, otherwise forget it.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2006

I stayed here for one night recently. There was nothing really wrong with the place - it was clean, the bed was okay, and I had heat. However, I still didn't really like it, and it's hard for me to put my finger on why.

I would note that the room was not large. To call this a "studio suite" is somewhat misleading. It's a hotel room, and not a big one at that.

But it was fine - nothing, like I said, really wrong with it - and you won't be too disappointed.

In closing, I will also note that I have stayed at the TownePlace Suites a few miles away. I would say that if you could get the TownePlace for the same price as this hotel, or only a few bucks more, to go for it. It's a larger room, and it also has a certain je-ne-said-quoi about it that makes it feel like a classier place than the Extended Stay America.

Oh, and the location of the TownePlace is much more convenient. You can walk to a 7-11 and it's two blocks to a grocery store, Starbucks, a post office and a bunch of restaurants. The Extended Stay America is in the far, far back of an office park near NOTHING except I-25.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2005

Stayed at ESA for 3 weeks while finding a home. Small room w/minimal kitchen, but a good price ($42/night). Staff was friendly and really tried to make stay pleasant. Great animal policy saved us big bucks. Located right beside I-25, but road noise was never an issue (we were on the far side). Running trail/biking trail right outside hotel was a bonus. This is not Holiday Inn, not as clean, not as many perks, but not as expensive either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2003

We stayed at ESA in February and had great service and a great room.
All rooms are equipped with full kitchens--refrigerators, stove top, microwave, double sink and cooking utensils. The room was large and very clean. They have basic cable tv. Housekeeping is provided only once a week but you get clean towels daily. The best part is the price, right around $40 a night. I would recommend it to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Colorado Springs - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Colorado Springs - West

Address: 5855 Corporate Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Colorado Springs - West 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Colorado Springs - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Colorado Springs - West Hotel Colorado Springs
Extended Stay Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Colorado Springs - West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.