We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7085 Commerce Center Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80919   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #35 of 107 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Hoopeston, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Everything that I look for when traveling, friendly staff, clean, comfortable room, convenient location and although I didn't make use of it , the pool looked clean too. The breakfast was the best we have seen on our 18 day road trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
13
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is an older generation FFI that renovated on a budget, and it shows. While the rooms are reasonable and the beds are comfortable, one step into the bathroom reveals that the owners ran out of money to truly get this hotel into the 21st century. Cracked, worn almond floor tile with huge, dark grout lines welcomes you back to the year this hotel was built - probably around 1985. The pitted, faux marble countertop is at a height just perfect if you're five feet tall. The toilet's deep hard water stains show that the property has never heard of a pumice stone. The one-piece tub/shower surround had about a inch of caulk caked into all joints, indicating that the solution to problems at this hotel is to simply cover up with ever-more caulk.

You'll need to set the AC unit to continuous fan to mask the noise coming in through the thin walls. Footfalls, elevator noise and other mechanical noises were common.

With so many options out there, this Fairfield Inn only makes sense if it's significantly cheaper than neighboring Hampton Inns or Holiday Inn Expresses. Those brands tend to take their renovations more seriously.

Room Tip: An even-numbered room will get you at least an oblique view of Pikes Peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I want to thank you for your feedback and sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered during your recent stay. I assure you that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and all issues in our control will be handled quickly and professionally. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you back at the Colorado Springs Fairfield Inn - Air Force Academy next time you find yourself in the area.

Sincerely,
Michael Greene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family stayed here for my sisters wedding. The hotel was nice, clean, and the breakfast was decent. Close to the highway and all local attractions. We didn't hear any highway noise and had the room closest to the highway I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had our plans change suddenly during our vacation in Colorado Springs, and had to stay an extra night. The hotel we had been staying it was booked, so we called around and were able to snag a room at this Fairfield Inn.

What a pleasant surprise after a rough day! The young man at the desk was extremely courteous and helpful to us. The room was roomy, comfortable, and spotless. We could all just relax with no worries.

I wish we had stayed here in the first place! It was no more expensive than the "budget" hotel where we had been, and not that much farther from the attractions. What's a few minutes down the interstate when your hotel is much more comfortable? If we return to Colorado Springs, the Fairfield Inn Air Force Academy will be home.

Oh, yeah, breakfast was awesome too. Healthy choices, well attended. Yummy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

After a long day, we checked in the this hotel. Both keys did not work when we got to the room, so had to go back down and have them reset. Once in the room, noticed the remote for the tv did not work, so again went back down and got a different remote. That remote did not work either, so checked it with another tv.... it was the tv. This time the night manager said, "I don't know what you want me to do about it." Explained that after a long day, really just want to crawl into bed and flip through the channels for a little bit. Blank look. Asked if there was another room available and was told yes, but it is more expensive. okay.... How about bringing a different tv into the room? "no- that isn't our policy. Some one can probably come look at it tomorrow." That was it! Luckily, my husband is an IT person and was able to reset the tv to it's original settings, so it did finally work with the remote. But that isn't something we should have to do upon check in.

Our son is attending 2 camps at the Air Force Academy so we flew out a total of 4 times over the two weeks with a different number of people each time and different agendas, so we stayed at 4 hotels in the area. Country Inn and Suites by the airport in Denever, The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs and the Embassy Suites a few doors down from this hotel. All of them have been great with very helpful staff. I'm not ranking the hotel on its location or amentities but on it's lack of customer service. There is no excuse for poor customer service in the hotel business in my opinion- there are other places that will take our money. Right next to this hotel is a Hampton Inn and the Embassy Suites- we will be staying at one of those next time! As a side note, we booked directly with the hotel and paid 99.00/night. Not impressed. Plus the Embassy has a MUCH better breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about the issues you had during your recent stay with us. Let me first apologize for the way this situation was handled by our staff and please be assured that this has been addressed with our entire staff. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and when we do not provide that service we want to know; so thank you again for taking the time to let us know. If you are going to be in the Colorado Springs area again we would like the opportunity to earn your business and assure you that issues like this will not happen again.

Sincerely,
Michael Greene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We chose to book the executive room, as it was not much more expensive than a regular room. It was spacious, with a king bed and a sofa. Just off the I25, so easy access to the highway. We did not hear any highway noise at all. The area is a bit industrial-like and not quaint in any way.
The size of the pool was small. There was a hot tub in the pool area.
Breakfast had good variety, (spicy omelettes, sausage, breakfast sandwiches, bagels, waffles, cereal, pastries, oatmeal, fruit, juice, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, milk). Coffee, bananas and apples were available in the lobby all day.
Staff was professional and helpful. They coped well with the groups that were there.
There was a fridge in our room but I don't think there's one in all rooms. The fridge worked well but it was noisy.
Parking was free and plentiful.
The hotel is close to the REI store (which can only be accessed from one side of the road, by the way) and to the Western Museum of Mining and Industry (If you go, make sure to go when a tour is being offered so that you can see the machinery in action).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Average room with two queen beds. Close to I-25 and north Colorado Springs. Breakfast was good - hot and cold offerings. Would stay again for business travel.

Room Tip: Room 105 is right across from the vending and ice machines, next to the pool, and across from the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy

Address: 7085 Commerce Center Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80919
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 107 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of I-25 in Colorado Springs, our hotel sits less than a mile away from the Air Force Academy and the shopping of the Chapel Hills Mall. Our Marriott hotel offers a great view of the Rocky Mountains and a short drive to the outdoor attractions at Garden of the Gods or Pikes Peak. Guests will be in walking distance of many restaurants and less than 15 minutes from Colorado College and the University of Colorado Colorado Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Fairfield Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.