We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of theft problem in parking lot” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1815 Aeroplaza Dr., Colorado Springs, CO 80916   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #46 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware of theft problem in parking lot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Last night someone used bolt cutters and stole a motorcycle from our trailer in the parking lot. The police came and told us that is a common problem for the area, especially right now. They have had many car break ins too. They believe someone is watching the parking lot as people check in to identify opportunity crimes. Police told us there was nothing else we could have done except not stay there. We followed all common sense ways to avoid being victims. We should have stayed somewhere with cameras in the parking lot.. The thieves know they don't have them here.

The room was very cramped - less than 18 inches between the bed and the TV. Bathroom was tiny too. No mention of the major renovation going on on the website or when booking. 1/2 of the parking lot was not usable. Staff was nice and professional but that didn't make up for the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Make sure you can see your car from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Lara F,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

I am truly sorry for the troubles you have encountered in our parking lot. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you. These certainly are not usual and we will be looking into these further and rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by the hotel's management.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    26
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
25
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked room for two nights using Priority Club Award points; have stayed here several times in the past. Room was clean, but very average. Bed was substandard for the HIE; air conditioning unit in our room did not work properly; Wi-Fi in our room did not work at all; and they were out of breakfast food items.

When we reported the AC needed work, we were told that there was no maintenance man on duty that day; when asking about Wi-Fi we were told there must be something wrong with our computer ( we had 2); didn't even bother to ask about breakfast---didn't have to as several other families were asking about it.

It is a clean, decent place to stay. But we will not plan to stay here again--many other options in area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon c, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you, for informing us about your stay. We strive to provide you with the best possible service, and when you feel that , we have failed to meet your expectations, it is important for us to know why. We apologize for any distress this might have caused.

To ensure that my staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, I have notified the proper departments with your concerns.

Your patronage is important to us, and I hope that you'll you will give us another opportunity
to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our second time to stay at this location. The first time was wonderful and now we experienced again such people given to hospitality. The manager is dynamic! She has a way in making you that special feeling that you have known her all your life. Our highest regards and recommendation to this hotel. The manager makes the place!

Room Tip: Room 100 is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon c, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you, for your kind words. It is our desire that we make your stay a home away form home.
We are here to serve you. We are making changes everyday. We have remodeled our
Lobby added a Mini Mart, Our Breakfast Bar is in a new location and has a fresh new look.
and in 2014 we will be adding some more Healthy choices to out Breakfast Bar such as: Turkey sausage, Greek yogurt and fresh fruit. Please, come back and take some time to sit back and relax in out new Indoor pool and hot tub. In the fall of 2013, we will be remodeling our guest rooms. They will have a contemporary look and our Bath and Body Works Citrus Bath collection also, you will enjoy our Simply Smart Bedding Collection. Stay tuned for many more updates and as always STAY SMART! Thank you, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel was close to the airport but was a bit far from the major attractions, but didn't give us a big problem. There was a gas station and subway close by. They served hot breakfast for free every morning which is delicious. The front desk guys were very friendly. They had room service everyday and maintained it very neatly. They had a coffee pot, mini fridge and a microwave in the oven. The bathroom was spacious and so was the room. It was worth for what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon c, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you, for your awesome comments, And we have some many improvements in the works.
We have completely remodeled the Lobby, Front desk, Breakfast Bar and Fitness Center. Along
with new Indoor Pool and Hot Tub your will not want to leave and in the Fall of 2013 we will be remodeling out Guest rooms. Each room will feature contemporary styling, complete with 32 inch. or 42 inch HD Flat screen T.V.'s, comfortable queen and king beds, two room suites and in room coffee makers with 100% Arabica Coffee. Guest Bathrooms feature the simply Smart Kohler Shower Heads, Bath and Body works White Citrus Bath products and you will enjoy our simply smart bedding collection. We look forward to seeing you again soon. So come stay with us and Stay Smart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was o.k. I booked it on Hotwire for about half the regular rate, had I paid the regular rates, I would have been upset. The employees all seemed nice. When I asked for a room away from the elevator, because I had read that they disturbed people (and I have a 3 yr old and 3 month old) she gave me a funny look and her response made me feel embarrassed for asking anything additional. By the comments made about the price I got for the room, I felt like they thought, I should take what I got and not expect very much and was punished for getting the deal. After loading my kids to the room, we had to go back to the front desk because the pillows had long dark hair on them. They sent a nice woman into change them, but those had even more hair on them. I saw a vacuum in the hallway by the housekeeping cart and considered asking to borrow it, because it obviously had not been used in our room for long time. Although our window was to the west, you couldn't see the mountains or anything just the construction going on to add a pool. Even with the Hotwire deal, I wouldn't stay there again until they finish the pool at least. But for the regular rate... there is Holiday Inn next door I would look into.

Room Tip: A room on the west side might have a view of the mountains, but you would probably have to be on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear mountaintrekker1,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies over the unsatisfactory service you received at check-in and over the cleanliness of the sheets. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is the second time my group and I have used this hotel in Colorado Springs and it was the same excellent experience as the first time. I've looked at the other reviews here and wonder if we are talking about the same hotel! Lauren, the new manager, is very outgoing, friendly and helpful. The rest of the staff follow her lead in being welcoming and helpful. There IS renovation going on in putting in a new pool, upgrading the lobby and breakfast areas and some hallways but that didn't impede us in any way nor was there excessive dust or dirt. New TVs were being installed throughout the common areas and even the workmen were polite and thoughtful. We would definitely stay there again. The rooms were clean and plenty of room. The bathrooms were clean and sparkling. The breakfast was plentiful. And the staff was great.

Room Tip: There are suites available with balconies and sitting areas that would probably benefit a larger gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon c, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you, for your wonderful comments. It is awesome guest like you that make us so happy.
Thank you for staying with us again. We have had so many improvements and upgrades. We completed the new indoor pool and hot tub along with a out door patio and gathering deck.
New breakfast bar, Fitness center and A fresh contemporary lobby. Come stay with us again and stay smart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I don't know about some of these other reviews, but I've stayed at this Holiday Inn Express a number of times and each time have been very pleased. Yes, they're undergoing renovation to put in a pool, but it didn't impact my stay at all. Lisa at the Front Desk, and Sharon, the Manager were awesome! My 93 year old mother was staying here and I was concerned about how I was going to get her a wheelchair since we were limited with time. Sharon and Lisa arranged it all and I couldn't have been happier. Our party had 3 rooms and they were very comfortable as usual, and the bathrooms were spotless. The breakfast was always incredibly prepared and full of all kinds of items. Every day we'd hear someone come by our rooms and ask if everything was OK. The service here is wonderful and I'm looking forward to coming back when they have a beautiful pool. As a result of having a great experience here I always look for a HI Express when we travel. I'd give this hotel a 10 if I could.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Pike's Peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon c, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and you sincere comments. We are always very happy to help in any way we can. I just wanted to tell you about all the changes we have made. There are changes everywhere, new signage, new pool and hot tub, new breakfast bar, new fitness center, new contemporary lobby. However, we kept, what you love the most, a comfortable retreat for a relaxing night's sleep and a generous complimentary Express Start Breakfast to get you day started with a nutritious meal. Come stay with us and stay smart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport

Address: 1815 Aeroplaza Dr., Colorado Springs, CO 80916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Airport Offers Comfort and Convenience Getting there has to be fast and convenient too. Only 2.5 miles from the Colorado Springs Airport (COS), we are your ideal destination. Begin your day with our 'Express Start' breakfast which features a variety of delicious breakfast items, including our exclusive cinnamon rolls, omelets, biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage and much more. No matter what brings you to Colorado Springs, your room is your personal retreat. The key word is comfort with our Simply Smart luxurious bedding, expanded cable with HBO, refrigerator, microwave,flat screen t.v., DVD players as well as our exclusive Kohler showerhead. NEw pool And Hot Tub. Imagine having all the tools you need for business, high-speed Internet, spacious desk with ergonomic chairs, 24 hour business center, copying and faxing services for your convenience.A choice location for the business traveler we are less than 2 miles from Peterson Air Force Base, Lockheed Martin, ITT, Northrop Grumman, Boeing, Ratheon, SI International, Serco, Arinc, Coca Cola, Siemens, and General Dynamics. Families appreciate this great location. We are situated off of I-24 with easy access to several local attractions. Come and rise the Cog Railway to the top of Pikes Peak America's mountain, tour the awe-inspiring Garden of the Gods, take a chance at the Cripple Creek Casinos, Cliff Dwelling and see a concert at the World Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport Hotel Colorado Springs
Holiday Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.