We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly, Helpful Staff, Great hotel Breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   7110 Commerce Center Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80919   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #48 of 107 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Colorful Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly, Helpful Staff, Great hotel Breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Most people don't think that Hotel Breakfast is ever good, they all eat it and then all complain, but this Breakfast was really good, the breakfast staff was very attentive to items as they were getting low and they didn't monitor how much everyone was eating like so many other hotels seem to do. It may have been the beautiful view of Pikes Peak while eating breakfast out on the patio that made it taste better. We stayed two nights and was able to get to all area attractions quickly with easy access to the highway. Check-in an check-out was a nice easy no hassle procedure. All the staff we encountered was very helpful and not pushy or nosy from the Front Desk, Breakfast and Housekeeping staff. We had a good size clean room at a great price, the only thing that could have made this stay better was if we would have had a nice view instead of one of the parking lot, which is probably what everyone wants and understand when that is not what we get. Also do not like being woke up at 6:00am on a Sunday morning by the noisy, inconsiderate guests above us!

Room Tip: We always ask for a room on the top floor with a view, that's not always what we are given..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    59
    30
    15
    13
See reviews for
73
27
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've stayed in many hotels in Colorado Springs, and while this certainly isn't the best hotel it is far from the worst. The rates here are lower than most in the area, and if price is what you're concerned about then this is the hotel for you. The rooms are clean. The staff is friendly. A full breakfast is included in your rate. This isn't a standard bagels and coffee. They have eggs, biscuits, sausage etc... It's certainly not a five star breakfast, but again.. it's free. The staff was always available and willing to help. When I checked in the young man working the front desk realized that I would be staying for 10 nights, and offered to moved me to a room with a refrigerator and microwave. My boss booked the room, and I had no idea it didn't have one. I thought that this was excellent service on his part. My only complaint would be the noise from the air conditioner, but it is an older hotel so I feel as though it should be expected. The pictures that the hotel provides very accurately depict the room. Again, this isn't a five star hotel. This is however a great place to stay for a great price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Liz L,

Thank you for taking your time to review our property and give us your feedback. I am happy to know that you liked our clean rooms and friendly staff. However, we apologize for the noise which has negatively impacted your stay with us. The review we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Despite your disappointment, we do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Super friendly front desk, nice big clean quite rooms. Very happy with the value. Easy to find, plenty of parking. Good location. Nice big breakfast. Great hotel with a great staff, you will be happy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not brand new, but it's in good condition. The room we stayed in was very large! Great views, close to the freeway, several places to eat & very near the academy. Garden of the gods is 2 exits away.

Beds are comfy, staff is super, and I enjoyed it better than embassy suites we stayed at last time.

I'd certainly recommend it to any friend passing through!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our family loves staying at HIE&S (FREE breakfast for 5 anyone?) We had a two queen plus a fold out queen suite. The staff was helpful (extra towels, directions, etc.) The pool and hot tub were clean and extra towels were available. This location sometimes gets visited by a bear - we love Colorado! The only downside to this room was a broken lamp. The staff assured us it would be fixed for the next guest. Easy access to the interstate and minutes to local attractions. Great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imboden, Arkansas, USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were in Colorado on vacation and had been camping for days. We were ready for a hot shower, good bed and quiet room. We found it! This is why we love Holiday Inn Express! The night front desk staff lady was very helpful as well. She gave some great recommendations as to places we should check out!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you Jess M, we appreciate your review! I'm glad your visit with us was so comfortable and relaxing. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here over a long weekend for a friend's wedding and our experience here was one reason our trip was great. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and we found the room and hotel as a whole, clean. Room service was prompt and thorough. The free breakfast was great with lots of options. Per night rate seemed a bit on the high side but may be the location. Overall- recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you Hme8qd,

We are happy to hear that your visit was so pleasant! We are proud of our hotel and its staff, so it’s good to hear we were able to make yours stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#14 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Central Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Cen...
#29 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#7 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#26 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force A...
#6 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs A...
#22 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy

Address: 7110 Commerce Center Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs-Air Force Academy is conveniently located on the north side of Colorado Springs, just one exit south of the US Air Force Academy and easy access to I-25. Additional hotel features include: Deluxe hotel accommodations 28 suites with microwave and refrigerators. Complimentary Continental deluxe breakfast, 24 hr business center and complimentary local phone calls, high speed internet in all guest rooms. Indoor pool, whirlpool and workout facility. Walking distance to many local restaurants. Attractions Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Old Colorado City, Manitou Springs, Seven Falls, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, Focus on the Family, World Pray Center, US Olympic Training Center, Pine Creek Golf Course. Business: Hewlett Packard, MCI, Federal Express, Oracle, Boeing, Stellant, Current, Lockheed Martin, Ford, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Intel, Bank of America, Progressive insurance, California Casualty, USAA Insurance. Military: USAFA, Fort Carson, NORAD, Peterson AFB and Schriever AFB. Visit Colorado Springs, CO and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Holiday Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.