We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the photos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   7110 Commerce Center Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80919   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #47 of 107 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Better than the photos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not brand new, but it's in good condition. The room we stayed in was very large! Great views, close to the freeway, several places to eat & very near the academy. Garden of the gods is 2 exits away.

Beds are comfy, staff is super, and I enjoyed it better than embassy suites we stayed at last time.

I'd certainly recommend it to any friend passing through!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    59
    29
    14
    13
See reviews for
71
27
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our family loves staying at HIE&S (FREE breakfast for 5 anyone?) We had a two queen plus a fold out queen suite. The staff was helpful (extra towels, directions, etc.) The pool and hot tub were clean and extra towels were available. This location sometimes gets visited by a bear - we love Colorado! The only downside to this room was a broken lamp. The staff assured us it would be fixed for the next guest. Easy access to the interstate and minutes to local attractions. Great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imboden, Arkansas, USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were in Colorado on vacation and had been camping for days. We were ready for a hot shower, good bed and quiet room. We found it! This is why we love Holiday Inn Express! The night front desk staff lady was very helpful as well. She gave some great recommendations as to places we should check out!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you Jess M, we appreciate your review! I'm glad your visit with us was so comfortable and relaxing. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here over a long weekend for a friend's wedding and our experience here was one reason our trip was great. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and we found the room and hotel as a whole, clean. Room service was prompt and thorough. The free breakfast was great with lots of options. Per night rate seemed a bit on the high side but may be the location. Overall- recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you Hme8qd,

We are happy to hear that your visit was so pleasant! We are proud of our hotel and its staff, so it’s good to hear we were able to make yours stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The worst Holiday Inn Express we have ever stayed at. Phones did not work and toilet would not flush. Combine all this with inadequate parking and it's a no win hotel. Asked if we could leave the hotel at about 8 pm and not be charged for the night but they refused.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello KCABQ,

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. As we do value you and your business we were able to correct these issues for you and meet the mentioned accommodations for your stay. We would like to invite you back to our hotel so you can experience the comfortable and pleasant stay that we usually provide to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Ratings for this hotel on Trip Advisor are fairly good, but we were disappointed. Only one elevator for a multi-floored and busy facility and, in truth, this place shows a bit of age-related wear. In terms of staffing, only one very-busy-though-cordial young man working when we were checking in, and one very-busy-and-rude young woman at the desk when we were leaving. The breakfast service was OK but some small things ... no lids for the take-out coffee, for example - made for a fairly dismal start to the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello TxTrvlr88,

I'm sorry your recent visit was not what you expected. I understand how frustrating only one elevator can be in a busy hotel. Rudeness from our employees is unacceptable, even when busy, and that person has been spoken to. I am sorry we didn't have any coffee lids. I know we had an ordering error with our supplies, but that has been resolved now and guests can expect proper coffee cups/lids for their morning beverages. If you have any questions regarding any of this I invite you to contact us. Your experience is not typical with our hotel and I invite you to stay with us again and see that we can provide a comfortable and relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Friendly staff. We arrived early and they were able to let us check in. Parking is limited and small - if you have a large pickup, get ready for a challenge. The building is nice, our room was up against the elevator and we never heard it. Major plus as I normally avoid being near the elevator. Very quiet rooms. The breakfast was typical HIE - good, but nothing to write home about. Great location, beautiful view of the mountains.

Room Tip: Get on the west side for the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Steve M,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear from you. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. I understand what you mean by the parking lot being a little small. I too drive a large pick up. The view of Pikes Peak from our breakfast balcony is one of my favorite things about our hotel, so I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy the scenery. Please come visit us again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#14 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Central Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs Cen...
#29 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#26 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#7 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force A...
#4 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Fairfield Inn Colorado Springs A...
#21 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy

Address: 7110 Commerce Center Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs-Air Force Academy is conveniently located on the north side of Colorado Springs, just one exit south of the US Air Force Academy and easy access to I-25. Additional hotel features include: Deluxe hotel accommodations 28 suites with microwave and refrigerators. Complimentary Continental deluxe breakfast, 24 hr business center and complimentary local phone calls, high speed internet in all guest rooms. Indoor pool, whirlpool and workout facility. Walking distance to many local restaurants. Attractions Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Old Colorado City, Manitou Springs, Seven Falls, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, Focus on the Family, World Pray Center, US Olympic Training Center, Pine Creek Golf Course. Business: Hewlett Packard, MCI, Federal Express, Oracle, Boeing, Stellant, Current, Lockheed Martin, Ford, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Intel, Bank of America, Progressive insurance, California Casualty, USAA Insurance. Military: USAFA, Fort Carson, NORAD, Peterson AFB and Schriever AFB. Visit Colorado Springs, CO and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Holiday Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.