We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell Short” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   7110 Commerce Center Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80919   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #44 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Southwest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fell Short”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights recently. The hotel is perfectly located for reaching the Air Force Academy and conveniently located near restaurants and shopping.

I usually like Holiday Inn Express for short stays & business travel. They're consistently good for this purpose. However, I was disappointed with my room which was quite small. Although the rest of the hotel seems to have been recently updated, my room definitely fell short. This was evidenced most in the bathroom where a couple of inch+ sized chunks of grout were missing (you could see the mortar) in addition to many cracks in both the tiles and grout. Worse, the bathroom offered a faint urine smell. This scent disappeared upon entering the shower where there was an overpowering smell of mildew. The shower is badly covered in mold and needs some serious work...even if it did have one of the "rain" shower heads which have become standard at Holiday Inn Express. Just as an added note, coffee makers in the bathroom also seem to be the standard for Holiday Inn Express. This one was no different. Why they think beverages & bathrooms go together is really beyond me - gross.

In spite of my less-than-impressive room, all of the common areas including the pool, exercise room, reception & hallways were great. The bathroom near the pool being the only exception, as it should have been serviced more frequently and to a higher standard. The pool and hot tub were both great...and the perfect temperature! I also loved that the exercise room was very cold. Great for a long run!

The staff were friendly and helpful. I found some broken glass on the patio near the pool and they were quick to act. The breakfast was also good. They have the usual continental fare (bagels, muffins, toast, fruit, cereal, milk, juices, coffee, tea, etc.) in addition to biscuits and gravy, a meat (bacon or sausage on alternating days) and an egg (cheese omelet thing or scrambled on alternating days).

The most annoying problem with my stay was the poor WiFi reception in my room. It was very bad - almost unusable at the desk. If I sat on the floor by the door, it was marginally better. A strong internet connection is essential in a business style hotel, so I found the poor connection rather unacceptable. The hotel needs to get on top of that right away.

You can probably find a better value elsewhere, but this hotel is okay. If they fix up the bathrooms & the WiFi, they'd be a good choice for a short to medium length stay. They'll never be a good choice for a long stay because the rooms are too small (in my opinion).

  • Liked — Location, Pool, Breakfast, Exercise Room
  • Disliked — Poor WiFi Connection, Bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    50
    25
    13
    12
See reviews for
62
22
3
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Not a bad hotel, but the hot tub was not working correctly the night that we were there and the manager really didn't care.
There is very little level parking, most is in the back of the hotel which you have to access via the first floor (basement) and continuing down a slanted walkway. Not very convenient for unloading/loading luggage. The pool, hot tub and excerise room are on the lowest level (basement) ... not the same level as the lobby.

  • Liked — convenience to attractions
  • Disliked — parking lot
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

We booked a king bed suite on a AAA discount by walking up to the front desk. The woman at the front desk was very friendly. The hotel was nice and clean. There were lots of kids around, possibly for a tournament, but the hotel was still fairly quiet. The room was nicely laid out with a few tables, a good sized couch and a small chair. The bed was very nice with a throw blanket on top, a light down comforter and fluffy pillows. This is one of the most comfortable beds. If you get a room on the back of the hotel, the view of mountains is excellent. The only drawback was the bathroom in our suite seemed small and cramped. The internet was wired in the rooms and didn't work the morning we left. The hotel is located within walking distance of a few restaurants with more just minutes away. The main Colorado Springs attractions are about 15 minutes south on I-25 and the Air Force Academy is not too far to the north.

  • Liked — The view and the room was very nice and clean
  • Disliked — Internet, small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room on the back (west) side of the hotel.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

I got the room at the last minute by phone. The room was perfect. There were firm and soft pillows from which to choose. The manager puts a goodie bag in the room with pretzels, candy a bottle of water, etc. The staff couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula, ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is close to the Airforce Academy and Pike's Peak. The front desk staff very very helpful and friendly. Although it was late, they personally delivered extra towels for us and refused a tip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We had requested a junior suite which was great. The room was clean. I was kind of nervous about opening the fold out sofa but was amazingly surprised to find a very clean mattress, sheets, blanket and pillows. No dust, no dirt, no smudges, no odor. The hotel had a great indoor pool. The free breakfast buffet was good. You have to be an early riser to take advantage of the french toast and bagles because they run out fast. There are plenty of other choices for a healthy breakfast. The view of the Pikes Peak in the morning, sitting on the balcony and sipping hot coffee was priceless. Excellent service. I recommend this place for anyone visiting the beautiful Colordo Springs.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

After trying to contact the hotel front desk for one hour (from 6 a.m. to 7 a.m.) by telephone, I was forced to call their 1-800 telephone number to try and contact a customer at the motel. Holiday Inn Express customer service rudely told me that there was no way to contact the hotel if no one answered the front desk telephone. No emergency contact information, no way to call the hotel manager at home. Their only response was that there is no way to contact the motel or a customer in an emergency. Our only choice was to call the police. After one hour of trying to contact the hotel, the night manager finally turned the ringer on the telephone console on. (trying to sleep?) This hotel, and it's customer service office at the main headquarters, obviously do not understand that you have to provide decent service to survive in today's business environment.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2005

This property was extremely busy and loud. We were promised a non-smoking room and told it was, but it was not. It was not designated on the room number plate as non-smoking and it was very stinky. There were numerous cigarette burns on the bathroom sink. When I asked the front desk clerk if it was a smoking room (after we walked in and smelled it), she said it wasn't, and that we were smelling the "air freshener spray" they spray in the rooms and asked if we wanted more of it. Our daughter has asthma and other lung issues but they would not move us to a new room. Not only that, but there was only one non-smoking room on the entire floor, which meant all that smoke came under our door (until I put a towel under it).

There were never any pool towels at the pool, so we had to walk through the property dripping wet. We were only given two sets of towels for a four-person room, so we dared not use the shower towels for the pool.

When our room was serviced we never received new cups or additional shampoo. We had to ask the front desk for a "do not disturb" sign.

The public areas, especially the stairwells, were not clean the entire three days we were there. The elevator is very slow to respond and we had a lot of problems with kids "joyriding" in it.

The business center was taken over most of the time by kids playing around on the internet. The desk staff did not ask them to leave even though they didn't have parental supervision as the sign stated.

Every morning the breakfast supply dwindled starting at 9 am (they closed it at 9:30). After that time, pitchers, items and supplies were not restocked, leaving little selection for "late comers".

The parking at this property is awful. There are a few narrow spaces in the front lot, but it's a dead end, which is hard with the large covered front area. The rest of the narrow spaces are down a hill (not easy with a physically handicapped child) behind the property.

We used Priorty Club points for our stay and think we were given a "bad" room because of that. Since it was free, we didn't make a big deal of the issues we had, but if we'd paid the high rate you can believe we would have been complaining. There are many properties surrounding this one, and even more at the next I-25 exit North (150) two of which we highly recommend - Comfort Suites and Sleep Inn. We will not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy

Address: 7110 Commerce Center Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs-Air Force Academy is conveniently located on the north side of Colorado Springs, just one exit south of the US Air Force Academy and easy access to I-25. Additional hotel features include: Deluxe hotel accommodations 28 suites with microwave and refrigerators. Complimentary Continental deluxe breakfast, 24 hr business center and complimentary local phone calls, high speed internet in all guest rooms. Indoor pool, whirlpool and workout facility. Walking distance to many local restaurants. Attractions Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Old Colorado City, Manitou Springs, Seven Falls, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, Focus on the Family, World Pray Center, US Olympic Training Center, Pine Creek Golf Course. Business: Hewlett Packard, MCI, Federal Express, Oracle, Boeing, Stellant, Current, Lockheed Martin, Ford, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Intel, Bank of America, Progressive insurance, California Casualty, USAA Insurance. Military: USAFA, Fort Carson, NORAD, Peterson AFB and Schriever AFB. Visit Colorado Springs, CO and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Holiday Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Air Force Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.