We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Plain Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 E Cheyenne Mtn Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & Wifi
Ranked #28 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kansas City MO
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just Plain Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is an exceptional and unique hotel! The design is not what you'd expect. To begin, the lobby, check-in, and main restaurant are all together when you enter the place, and that first floor area is HUGE. Well-lit, well-maintained, and very welcoming. Plenty of areas to meet with friends and family. The meeting rooms that we needed for our event were clean and close by to all those areas, which made it exceptionally easy to conduct meetings.

The sleeping rooms were comfortable and spacious and if you can snag a mountain view room, you'll wake up to magnificent views every morning.

The staff is very on the ball and prompt when it comes to service. Great shuttle service, including transportation to nearby shopping areas and restaurants. The hotel location is just off the Interstate, but the rooms are most definitely quiet. I found that getting around from the hotel to local points of interest was quite easy.

The restaurant, the main lounge (with food service) and the "quiet" lounge were all good, the the main lounge was great for families, singles, relaxing after work on business, or talking a little business--and that's something you don't see very often.

Yes, it's an older hotel, it's been kept up well, and I think it is exceptionally welcoming. The staff is one of the best of the many hotels I've stayed in. Would I stay there again when in Colorado Springs?

In a minute!

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank you for such a nice response to your stay with us....I will certainly pass this comment on to our staff that love reading these. Nice to have you visiting us . Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    188
    86
    56
    24
See reviews for
165
111
33
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Dealing with the Event Planners was the Best Experience ever! They went over and Above the Call of Duty to help my Daughter with her Class Reunion on short notice. We cant Thank them enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay and business functions held here at the Colorado Springs Doubletree. Your comments enable us to continually improve and we will specifically pass along your comments regarding “above the call of duty” we always set the bar there and I am delighted that we met and excited your expectations. It was our pleasure to serve you and your guest/clients. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Springs area.

Regards

Tom Mamalis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I just spent four nights at this hotel which was the venue for a line dance event. We were picked up from the airport and greeted with warm, fresh baked chocolate cookies and bottles of cold water......welcomed in the heat! Our shuttle driver, Ron, was so friendly. Once we checked into our rooms, Ron then shuttled us to a nearby Safeway to pick up some groceries. The rooms at the hotel are really large and I had the quietest room ever. I didn't hear a thing from anyone beside me. The staff at this hotel are so accommodating and I came down to the lobby several times for their cookies! A nice lobby with a restaurant as well as a bar/restaurant with a couple of small dance floors which were packed the night we came in. There's a Target directly across the road, along with Chili's. A Safeway and several other stores are about 3-4 miles away and the shuttle will take you there. My only complaint with the hotel is that the rooms do not come with fridges. They are available at a $10 charge per day. With so many hotels including them in their room fees, I think fridges in room should just be standard now. Other than that, this is one of the best places I've stayed. Good staff, good service, good location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and finding our location convenient to your needs. We are defiantly not your typical city / suburbia hotel and we do take pride at that. Our customer service training and attention to details allows us to serve the guest needs easier as well get to know their needs. We truly appreciate your business and the opportunity to serve you and your group. Please let us know what we can do on your next visit to ensure we do better than the last stay.

Regards,
Tom Mamalis/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The comments regard the age of the hotel are right. It is old. It reminds me of an old casino in Vegas--you know, the one nobody goes to anymore? The lighting in the hallways and areas surrounding the ice bins and vending machine is dim and the carpet is worn. Further, the elevator is a lawsuit waiting to happen, as it closes fast and hard. It groans as it moves between the floors. The door leading to the parking lot closes in a similar, and it was so strong it knocked my daughter down onto the sidewalk because it closed as she was passing through right behind me.

Yes, the place is clean and yes, the service people are friendly for the most part. However, if you like air conditioning, don't stay here. The AC never gets cool and the fan blows on one speed--low (no matter what the dial says). Debbie at the front desk was helpful in that she let me try another room, but all the rooms are the same. Her response? "Well, it's been warm so the AC is not working that well." So, doesn't that defeat the purpose of an AC? Debbie says, "Well, sometimes things don't work the way we want them to." That's all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I’m very pleased that you seen the cleanliness and friendly staff being one of our top priorities of the team. It’s definitely one of the major features that make our hotel so special. I am sorry that you felt our hotel is “tired” we recently completed a major renovation of our guest rooms and are making our way to the stylish public areas. Please accept my apology for issues you had with mechanical system, we are working hard to make sure that this issue doesn’t come up again in future. We look forward to your next stay.

Regards,

Tom Mamalis General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

First of all, I really don't understand all of the negative comments. I did not feel as though it was "old". I thought our room was a very good size and very clean. (and the beds were very comfortable!)The front desk, and actually most employees, were very nice and helpful.
We chose this hotel because of its free airport shuttle so I was afraid of plane noise, which was not an issue at all. The location was perfect for freeway access and neighboring restaurants, movies, and stores.
Our only negative was the air-conditioning was awful! (and it has been HOT in Colorado) We had a very nice worker come and try and fix it (after he fixed a blown fuse) but when we came back later that night, it was still not very cool. (This is the only reason I struggled with giving it an "Average" or "Very Good".)
All in all, I would definitely go back....just to a room that had air-conditioning. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit to the hotel, the good and the bad. The hotel team appreciates your candid comments. It’s great to hear you were able to take care advantage of our complimentary airport shuttle and the surrounding area. We are fortunate to be close enough to the airport so it is convenient but far enough away that the noise is not an issue. We understand your disappointment in our AC mechanical system being down; we do make every effort to correct issues as they arise so our guests can have they comfortable stay they expect. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay and we are looking forward to having as our guest the next time your travels bring you back to our city.

Regards,

Tom Mamalis/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Having stayed with family for 6 days a night in a hotel seemed like a hassle to me..just the thought of packing up to unpack again. However, the front desk staff met us with warm smiles. Also, since we are preferred HHonors members we were given warm delicious cookies and bottles of cold water too. The staff was great, pool clean, and I would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor away from elevators and a great view of the courtyard. There was no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit to the hotel. The hotel team appreciates your candid comments, and thank you for being a preferred HHonors member, and loyalty to our brand. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay and we are looking forward to having as our guest the next time your travels bring you back to our city, the cookies and cold water will be ready for you and your family!

Regards,

Tom Mamalis/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

While the staff was very professional and tried to be helpful, the hotel has a long way to go to be a real Doubletree. In no particular order, my issues were scalding hot water out of the shower and faucet, disgustingly dirty outdoor water feature, no air flow in gym and dirty balconies with pigeon droppings. In addition, one of my friends had a room literally had a cat litter box left in his room with litter still scattered on the carpet. And finally, as a diamond hilton member, I was initially given a ridiculously small room.

I had stayed here before 4 years ago and it was marginal then. I'm disappointed that it seems that there hasn't been much improvement.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room and the hotel in general. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests, especially you being one of our most loyal guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff so this situation doesn’t happen again. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you’ll consider staying with us again, please feel free to contact me personally prior to your arrival.
Tom.mamalis@hilton.com or 719-576-8900

Thank you,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 1775 E Cheyenne Mtn Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#28 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the DoubleTree by Hilton Colorado Springs your first stop when traveling to Colorado. Our Colorado Springs hotel is just off of I-25 and offers a complimentary shuttle to the Colorado Springs Airport. Walk to the World Arena Event Center just two blocks from the hotel. With scenic Colorado Rocky Mountain views of Pikes Peak and Cheyenne Mountain, our hotel is the perfect place to relax for both business and leisure travelers. Walk into the warm ambiance of our newly renovated Colorado Springs hotel and immediately feel like family as our friendly staff welcomes you with a warm chocolate chip cookie and superior customer service at check-in. During your stay, you can enjoy a convenient, casual breakfast, lunch or dinner in our hotel restaurants, Maxi's Bar and Grille and Atrium Cafe. If you prefer to go out, our ideal location is within walking distance of the restaurants, shopping and a 20-screen theater. Once you return to the hotel from a long day of business or leisure activities, we have plenty of ways to unwind and enjoy yourself. From dancing to a relaxing glass of wine in our new Quiet Wine Bar, heated indoor pool, inviting exterior courtyard, fitness center, and beautiful guest rooms (complete with ultra, high-speed wireless internet access), you're sure to find the perfect setting for your Rocky Mountain getaway. Don't forget to check out our DoubleTree Colorado Springs hotel specials for additional savings. Book one of our packages today, there's one for every budget. Check out all the great activities nearby: • Pikes Peak & the Cog Railway • Cheyenne Mountain Zoo • Seven Falls • Cave of the Winds • Ancient Native American cliff dwellings at Manitou Springs • U.S. Olympic Training Center • "Garden of the Gods" • Royal Gorge You can also enjoy hiking, fishing, horseback riding, golfing, sightseeing, jogging or hot air ballooning in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.