We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Broadmoor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Broadmoor to your Saves list
The Broadmoor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 107 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We originally were given a room on a low floor in west building with a "lake view"which was not a lake view because of the trees. We contacted Bogi at the front desk who went out of her way to find us a nice room ,larger and with a mountain view.Doors open to let in the mountain air and give u spectacular views.
Restaurants are plenty. The new Italian restaurant was ok food wise but service was poor. The best restaurant for food, wine list and service was Summit on the property.
If u want to go off property try Walters Bistro,less than 2 miles away. Great service and food.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,445
    253
    87
    52
    24
See reviews for
416
537
52
602
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

You really can't beat the 5 star luxury that The Broadmoor offers. Rooms are beautifully appointed, staff is incredible & there are many activities to partake in at the resort. You really don't even have to leave. Our room was a standard near the lobby in the South Bldg., which is older. It was a bit small, but nicely decorated & a great location. The bathroom also small. Not enough counter space to set out makeup, tolietries etc. A tray of cheese, fruit & wine was waiting for us in our room along with a welcome note. It was a nice touch. The bed is extremely comfortable! The shower head is an orchid so you have 3 different options from wand, body to head. Turn down service was nice with robes, slippers & chocolates. Our room was tidied up then & we appreciated that. We had a nice kitchenette in our room with a fridge, sink & Keurig. The resort itself is simply beautiful. European elegance, historical intrigue. You can easily wander the property & get lost in the setting & beauty. Walk around the lake, ride the paddleboats, swim at the infinity pool with 2 water slides. The pool loungers are deeply cushioned. Cabanas are available. Plenty of staff there. Staff at the hotel are very friendly. Plenty of places to relax around the hotel. The indoor pool & jacuzzi is very nice as well. A great option on rainy afternoons. The spa is amazing! Toto toliets, many relaxation rooms overlooking the golf course & mountains. Great fitness center too. I did the bootcamp class, which was complimentary & it was excellent. Great food at the restaurants. The coffee place off the lobby has a wide selection of doughnuts & pastries, along with quiches, burritos, salads for a quick grab & go.
Plenty of activities to partake in. Movies, summer bee bunch camp, shuttle services. You can't go wrong with this resort!

Room Tip: There are several buildings at this large property. Consider asking to be close to the pool if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We really had a wonderful stay at The Broadmoor. The property is spectacular, the staff is very friendly and the golf courses are outstanding.

So, why a very good rating you ask. Great question. The rooms are small for the price, the beds are grooved and the pillow tops were lumpy. The bathroom is again,given thus price range, pretty average. The amenities were nice, but small for two guests.

However, my biggest complaint is that they allow dogs in their guest rooms. We were preparing for dinner and placed black articles on the comforter and upon removal noticed that they were covered with white pet hairs. I love pets, but I shouldn't have to deal with their hairs on all of my clothes. Also, it rained a great deal while we were there and saw wet dogs tracking all over the hotel. This really is unacceptable at this price point.

Speaking of price point, everything is priced to the limit. A can of diet coke cost $3.75. I know you should expect this, but I still find it hard to accept.

Valet parking is $24 a night, while self parking is $22. Really!

The mountain and lake views are really nice.

We still loved our stay, but it could have been better!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I went to The Broadmoor for a business conference the early part of July, otherwise, I probably would have never had a chance to stay there. The staff were unbelievable! Top notch! I have never stayed at a five star resort before, so I was impressed.
I landed at the Colorado Springs Airport, which is small and very nice. I had called the transportation line at the Broadmoor for reservations for transfer before I my trip. I arrived at 8:30 a.m. and had to wait for an hour at the airport for the transfer(GRAYLINE), which I thought was way to long, but I understand things happen.
I checked in early and had a awesome room on the West side that had just been completely remodeled. Bed was wonderful...everything was great! K-cups and all!
Our conference had the meetings on the other side of the Main Hotel and all meals were there also. The food was ok, lacked flavor. Presentation was grand, but taste blah.
Beautiful walk way around the lake and great for early morning walks.

Room Tip: West hotel just remodeled and gorgeous spacious rooms! No noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

When in Colorado Springs, this is where you want to stay. It is top-notch from its service to its rooms to its food and grounds. We just love it. It is a home away from home. Small problem with valet service that was followed up on quickly.

Room Tip: last stay was in one of the cottages. we booked a 2 bedroom cottage and it was just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I've written separately about our disappointment with the Tavern, but we were not happy with the off-hand welcome both from the guy who finally allocated us a room or with the bellboy.

Perhaps we were regarded as less important because our booking had been made through an internet booking site? But that doesn't excuse the impertinent comments about Broadmoor in the UK. If you haven't heard, it's a high security prison for individuals with serious psychological disorders. (I refuse to apologise for being English)

The pool area was wonderful and the young attendants were totally charming and welcoming. The facilities are idyllic and this experience rescued what was shaping up to be a very expensive mistake.

We accidentally went to the wrong place for breakfast. Lack of signage I'm afraid. One of the staff curtly removed the scrambled eggs from my friend and told us to go elsewhere. Surprising attitude!

But in the place we should have been directed to , they were wonderful and the food was excellent.

There are training issues here - serious ones.
People don't mind paying outrageously high prices for good (or preferably excellent) service. Sadly, that isn't understood by an unacceptably large number of the front line staff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I live only an hour away and had been to the Broadmoor for lunch, but never as an overnight guest. I felt like I'd been transported across the planet to a magical land. The resort is absolutely gorgeous. Our rooms, in the newly renovated West Building (Building 4) was a great value compared to the main building. The rooms were huge, clean, and fabulous (ok, not historic - but I was happy not to pay 2x the price). We played the West golf course -- which was beautiful & difficult; supposedly the Mountain course is even more beautiful. If you're a tennis player, I highly recommend taking tennis with Sharon Walsh - she is a superb coach.

Room Tip: West room has great values
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
6.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#4 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham G...
#3 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
10.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#26 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force A...
#5 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 13 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
10.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#7 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadmoor

Address: 1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Broadmoor 5*
Number of rooms: 779
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BROADMOOR is the longest-running consecutive winner of both the AAA Five-Diamond and Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star awards. Our Colorado Springs resort is located on 5,000 lush acres, plus an additional 2,000 acres at The Broadmoor Wilderness Experience properties of The Ranch at Emerald Valley, Cloud Camp and the Fly Fishing Camp (scheduled to open in Spring of 2015), under the shadow of the Rocky Mountains and offers an award-winning day spa, fitness center, mountain biking, mountain climbing, hiking, two swimming pools, three outdoor hot tubs, one lap pool, 54 holes of championship golf, six tennis courts with tennis camps, children's programs, 24-hour room service, valet parking, 26 specialty retail shops, 19 distinct dining options and we are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Broadmoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs
Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broadmoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.