We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Broadmoor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Broadmoor to your Saves list
The Broadmoor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We absolutely love the Broadmoor. We always meet here for family reunions and it's always gorgeous. My only complaint is the lack of vegetarian options. I asked one restaurant if they had anything, and they pulled out a frozen box of veggie burgers and brought that to our table. In this day and age (especially in Colorado) it surprises me they don't offer anything on the menus. That being said, I don't go here for the food but instead the beautiful scenery and excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    205
    69
    47
    22
See reviews for
337
433
45
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had been to The Broadmoor several years before and LOVED it! So, we returned only to be HIGHLY disappointed. It is a beautiful resort in a gorgeous setting. The valet and bell team are very welcoming. Upon entering the gorgeous lobby to check-in, we were greeted by a guest's dog. Seriously? In the lobby of a 5 star hotel? Dogs are everywhere...in common areas, by the outdoor dining near the lake, sniffing on all grassy spots. I love dogs --- but not at a 5 star resort or in the hallway near my room! Line up for a pool chaise started at 7am. Yes, 7am but the pool doesn't open till 9am. All lounge chairs were gone by 9:10am. Seriously! This is how you spend your vacation time at a nice resort -- in a line?? People laying all over the grass and sitting on rocks due to lack of chairs. We, too, booked a Premier room in the West building as we needed 2 queen beds. Website says they have 2 queen beds. At check-in, front desk was adamantly rude that they don't have 2 queen beds in any room on property. Showed the manager that website indicates 2 queen beds are available. She did agree they exist. Like others have written on TripAdvisor, manager indicates rooms are not guaranteed. One king bed for a family of four travelling with 2 teen-agers is not acceptable. Broadmoor just shrugs their shoulders!!!!! We booked in April for a July visit and The Broadmoor only told us about the king size bed upon arrival at the resort. Shame, shame! You can book a stay at a one star hotel and choose bed type.
We WERE returning guests but I will not go back --unless there is a change in management philosophy. Choose another luxury resort in the area (many great ones in Vail) or save your money. This is no longer a 5 star experience!

Room Tip: room types are not guaranteed. Be aware when booking if you need more than a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This resort has so much history and grandeur. Had the opportunity to attend a conference in June for a few days. Flew into Colorado Springs and took a shuttle from the airport to the grounds of the hotel (not free as the hotel charges a shuttle fee).

The resort is quite large. Checked in at Broadmoor West (building across the lake from the original building). Line was quite long when I arrived even though there were 5 people behind the desk. Was given a room in the West Tower which was quite a hike from the lobby but you get to see the bowling alley and a long line of pictures of folks who have visited the Broadmoor.

Room itself was large with high ceilings (ground floor one bedroom suite). Bed was extremely comfortable. Large walk-in closets, comfortable chairs, work desk and flat screen tvs. 2 bottles of water were left every evening after the turn down service.

Used the swimming pool (the outdoor lap pool was actually disappointing in that it was full of bugs/leaves) but the gym was marvelous with plenty of machines and new equipment). Locker room was available.

Our hosts catered all the meals during our event and I would say that the food was excellent each meal. Probably gained weight.

Check-out was fine. Overall the service was excellent with great staff (trained well). Enjoyed my stay and would consider coming back with my family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Broadmoor never disappoints! Such a beautiful resort with something plenty of amenities to keep everyone happy. The staff always goes above and beyond what is expected and seem very happy to accommodate your requests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

There are so many words that can describe this place! Pulling up to the main entrance I felt like I was coming to a place that Arthur Bach would frequent. I could picture Rolls and Bentleys out front. Everything is 5 Star and 5 Diamond. Everything is sooo nice here I don't wanna go home. All the amenities are great, the property is BEAUTIFUL! All the staff are so helpful. Everything is perfect here! If you have the chance to stay here, DO IT!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Broadmoor is a wonderful place with superior service. We brought our dog and had a great time. They were truly accomodating, and didn't just "tolerate" our dog, like some other properties do. We attended a small convention, so many of our meals were banquet, but we did eat in the tavern and enjoyed it greatly - the Berkshire pork chop and the trout were both fantastic. Be realistic about your budget, this is an exceptional property and not at all inexpensive.

Room Tip: West tower if you have a dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Extremely relaxing environment.
Reminds me of the Greenbriar with an great view of the mountains.
If you like to be pampered, this is your hotel :)
Plenty of activities for all ages.
Indoor movies theater, boating, hiking swimming.
Near Pikes Peak and NORADs Cheyenne Mountain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Broadmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadmoor

Address: 1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#3 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Broadmoor 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BROADMOOR is the longest-running consecutive winner of both the AAA Five-Diamond and Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star awards. Our Colorado Springs resort is located on 3,000 lush acres under the shadow of the Rocky Mountains and offers an award-winning day spa, fitness center, two swimming pools, three outdoor hot tubs, one lap pool, 54 holes of championship golf, six tennis courts with tennis camps, children's programs, 24-hour room service, valet parking, 24 specialty retail shops, 19 distinct dining options and we are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Broadmoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs
Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broadmoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.