We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel in a classic setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Broadmoor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Broadmoor to your Saves list
The Broadmoor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 107 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Classic hotel in a classic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This resort has so much history and grandeur. Had the opportunity to attend a conference in June for a few days. Flew into Colorado Springs and took a shuttle from the airport to the grounds of the hotel (not free as the hotel charges a shuttle fee).

The resort is quite large. Checked in at Broadmoor West (building across the lake from the original building). Line was quite long when I arrived even though there were 5 people behind the desk. Was given a room in the West Tower which was quite a hike from the lobby but you get to see the bowling alley and a long line of pictures of folks who have visited the Broadmoor.

Room itself was large with high ceilings (ground floor one bedroom suite). Bed was extremely comfortable. Large walk-in closets, comfortable chairs, work desk and flat screen tvs. 2 bottles of water were left every evening after the turn down service.

Used the swimming pool (the outdoor lap pool was actually disappointing in that it was full of bugs/leaves) but the gym was marvelous with plenty of machines and new equipment). Locker room was available.

Our hosts catered all the meals during our event and I would say that the food was excellent each meal. Probably gained weight.

Check-out was fine. Overall the service was excellent with great staff (trained well). Enjoyed my stay and would consider coming back with my family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,439
    252
    86
    52
    24
See reviews for
413
536
52
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Broadmoor never disappoints! Such a beautiful resort with something plenty of amenities to keep everyone happy. The staff always goes above and beyond what is expected and seem very happy to accommodate your requests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

There are so many words that can describe this place! Pulling up to the main entrance I felt like I was coming to a place that Arthur Bach would frequent. I could picture Rolls and Bentleys out front. Everything is 5 Star and 5 Diamond. Everything is sooo nice here I don't wanna go home. All the amenities are great, the property is BEAUTIFUL! All the staff are so helpful. Everything is perfect here! If you have the chance to stay here, DO IT!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Broadmoor is a wonderful place with superior service. We brought our dog and had a great time. They were truly accomodating, and didn't just "tolerate" our dog, like some other properties do. We attended a small convention, so many of our meals were banquet, but we did eat in the tavern and enjoyed it greatly - the Berkshire pork chop and the trout were both fantastic. Be realistic about your budget, this is an exceptional property and not at all inexpensive.

Room Tip: West tower if you have a dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Extremely relaxing environment.
Reminds me of the Greenbriar with an great view of the mountains.
If you like to be pampered, this is your hotel :)
Plenty of activities for all ages.
Indoor movies theater, boating, hiking swimming.
Near Pikes Peak and NORADs Cheyenne Mountain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here on the first night the new wing opened and the stay was unbelievable! One of the best places I've stayed. The spa services were fantastic. I can't say enough about the hotel. Check out the cool entrance to the pool and the water slides in the pool were fun for kids and adults.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Agree with Michael C that the Broadmoor needs to respond to legitimate problems. My family (myself, husband and 23 yr old daughter) reserved a classic room with 2 queen beds only to arrive to one large king bed. We were never told of this change to the reservation-quite a shock when we walked into the room. We shared our disappointment with the front desk and concierge but never got any apology or compensation for their error. Because the hotel was full, they did provide a roll away with pokey springs and removed a chair from the room at my request so it would fit.
There also was much confusion with trying to get our luggage in from our valet parked car (we parked before checking in due to having to making a dinner reservation). They could not find our car despite having put our name sign in the dashboard window and took half an hour to get our luggage to the room.
The next day, we tried to find a chaise at the pool, but since they all were occupied, we requested chairs outside our room by the lake. This required speaking with 2 concierges only to have 3 plastic folding chairs arrive an hour later. We were joining another family with children at the resort and were unable to spend time together with them at the pool due to lack of space. When we finally did find space at poolside, we ordered lunch which took about 45 minutes to arrive.
Since our housekeeper came to clean our room at 3 in the afternoon, we decided to try the afternoon tea service. There appeared to be no table available so a very awkward server let us sit at a desk. He was unable to give a clear explanation of how the service worked. We were finally served our tea and delicacies but had actually finished eating them before our napkins/utensils/jams were brought after many reminders. For the price, it was quite hilarious! And once again, no apologies.
What was annoying throughout our 3 night stay was the hotel staff who would constantly greet us and ask how everything was but before we could answer, would smile and say they were glad or "great".
Upon checkout, I was asked by the receptionist how our stay was and for the umpteenth time described out room disappointment. He suggested speaking with one of the managers. So I explained the bed disappointment to a manager and she actually replied that bed requests are just that: "requests". If you need and reserve two beds at the Broadmoor, don't expect that you will get them and don't expect that you will be told that you are not getting them. I've stayed at lots of chain, non 5 star hotels and can't ever remember this happening.
Upon reviewing my reservation and our bill, the manager cheerily said "well I see we comped the cot" as in provided it at no charge! I laughed to think that they would even consider charging for it! At which point she finally agreed to compensate us somewhat by removing the parking fees.
On the plus side, the resort is beautiful, well manicured, rooms are plush, the spa treatments were amazing, but pricey. We loved the the Garden of Gods jeep tour which was part of our package-provided by a contracted company. The Natural Epicurean restaurant was great. Espresso was great for light to go breakfast/pastries and eat outside. "Play" was good especially with fun bowling. You've got to really love pub food to like the Golden Bee.
Lots of nice assets at the Broadmoor but it is disappointedly missing the essence of real hospitality.

Room Tip: There is no guarantee that you will get the number of beds you request...and you will only know what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
6.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#5 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham G...
#3 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force A...
#4 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#26 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 13 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
10.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#7 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadmoor

Address: 1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Broadmoor 5*
Number of rooms: 779
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BROADMOOR is the longest-running consecutive winner of both the AAA Five-Diamond and Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star awards. Our Colorado Springs resort is located on 5,000 lush acres, plus an additional 2,000 acres at The Broadmoor Wilderness Experience properties of The Ranch at Emerald Valley, Cloud Camp and the Fly Fishing Camp (scheduled to open in Spring of 2015), under the shadow of the Rocky Mountains and offers an award-winning day spa, fitness center, mountain biking, mountain climbing, hiking, two swimming pools, three outdoor hot tubs, one lap pool, 54 holes of championship golf, six tennis courts with tennis camps, children's programs, 24-hour room service, valet parking, 26 specialty retail shops, 19 distinct dining options and we are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Broadmoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs
Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broadmoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.