We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Broadmoor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Broadmoor to your Saves list
The Broadmoor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 107 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas,Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I decided to jettison the kids for a weekend stay. Have stayed here many times before with nothing but high praise. The good news is the location , scenery and grounds remain outstanding. The food and service are still excellent. The new Italian place is great.
They seem to be slipping somewhat in the finer details which is how I award 5 stars. My superior room in the south wing had a lovely view of the parking lot without a balcony...certainly a point that should be mentioned and discussed when reserving a room (you obviously want mountain and lake view rooms). Our room was not cleaned until late in the day and if I had waited for turn down service it would have been with me in the bed. I had my golf clubs shipped to the resort and it required all day and several contacts to find them wasting a day of golf for me.
I would classify most of these as annoyances and not significantly diluting the quality of the place but it does tend to lower my rating slightly. Still recommend but hope this was an isolated occurrence and not a trend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    257
    87
    53
    24
See reviews for
430
551
53
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst
Level Contributor
161 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Second trip and we both were very pleased with service, accommodations, property conditions and atmosphere. The golf (East and West) was challenging and pace of play acceptable for a resort (still slow because of lax marshaling). Rooms were clean and well maintained and maid service almost perfect. Staff was without exception very polite and helpful and must be at a high ratio to guests. Prices were in line with similar properties and ok, EXCEPT for a gouging resort fee/parking (both ridiculous nickel-diming for the tariff paid for the rooms). Will not recommend to friends/associates because of resort fee/parking charges.

Room Tip: Main tower, high floor for fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Broadmoor for two nights. That was plenty unless you desire a destination resort with not much to do other than golfing or overpriced spa services. Now, I totally understand this type of resort and appreciate its majestic beauty and location that is ideal and pristine however there are improvements needed if they want to remain a top resort. One being simply offer bottled water to your guests free of charge or better yet install filtered water stations throughout the resort and give out reusable water bottles. Being in high desert/high altitude you need water and being charged $5++ for a tiny 8-10oz bottle of water gets old. Even though you do get two comp bottles nightly, that is not enough. Two: eliminate the outdoor patio cigar smoking-it is awful and ruins the whole point of attempting to be able to sit outside, lakeside and enjoy the fresh air and incredible views. It's offensive. You can designate a smoking area far from the main areas. Now I do recall the last time I stayed here over 10 years no one could smoke but now, it seems everyone is smoking from the golf clubhouse to the main patio.
The good: obvious the views and serenity of the resort itself. We had a tremendous room with a vast terrace with 180 degree views-absolutely stunning. The best part was the new Natural Epicurian restaurant located in the West Bldg. Outstanding. Opened just three weeks ago, its like a mini True Food Kitchen. We ate there twice. Highly recommend. The staff was all very nice and friendly, even the young international kids that are recruited by the resort to work there for the summer. I think it is great for families with children who want a place to just sit and remain and not have to go anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Truly a first class experience. The hotel was spotless and extremely well maintained. I attended a conference for work and added a few days to my trip. The food at the Sunday Brunch was incredible - you can't miss it! Staff was friendly and accommodating. The walk outside around the lake is peaceful and serene. The concierge service was remarkable.

Be sure to venture out and see the Garden of the Gods - truly spectacular site - breathtaking views. The Zoo was a nice place to visit too. Stay in the resort because the local town didn't offer much other than nightclubs and bars - it didn't appeal to me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

So much has been said about this place that it is hard to add a unique accolade. We love it here! We had the opportunity to stay in the new West building. It is magnificent. However, it appears that there are still service kinks to be worked out. It took 6 tries before we received keys that worked. For 10 days, we went with a lightbulb out in our bathroom. No one fixed it even after 3 calls. Dirty room service dishes sat in our room for 24 hours despite 2 calls. We also ran out of shampoo despite requests for more. My husband had to use body wash on his head! This does not equate to a 4 star standard.

To add, the service at the pool is as bad as it was on our last visit 7 years ago. Despite an abundance of staff, they are all young kids without a clue. Dirty towels sit piled up. You don't get condiments or utensils with lunch unless you ask. I witnessed a number of wrong orders delivered to other guests. Again, not what you'd expect.

Still, I hold the place in high regard. I just wish they could make all these little nuisances go away. My heart wants to say "excellent", but my mind recognizes there are shortcomings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Needs to be on every serious vacationer's Bucket List, especially if you're a golfer. Add a side trip to the Garden of the Gods in your convertible and you will be rewarded with some incredible photos.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A true legend in Colorado Springs. Absolutely pristine and made you think of the summer resort in Dirty Dancing. Friendly staff, amazing spa, nice pool. I don't think I would stay anywhere else in Colorado Springs.

Room Tip: "Double beds" are quite small for people planning on sharing a bed. Still doable, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
6.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#6 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham G...
#3 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
10.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#26 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 13 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force A...
#5 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
10.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#4 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadmoor

Address: 1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#3 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Broadmoor 5*
Number of rooms: 779
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BROADMOOR is the longest-running consecutive winner of both the AAA Five-Diamond and Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star awards. Our Colorado Springs resort is located on 5,000 lush acres, plus an additional 2,000 acres at The Broadmoor Wilderness Experience properties of The Ranch at Emerald Valley, Cloud Camp and the Fly Fishing Camp (scheduled to open in Spring of 2015), under the shadow of the Rocky Mountains and offers an award-winning day spa, fitness center, mountain biking, mountain climbing, hiking, two swimming pools, three outdoor hot tubs, one lap pool, 54 holes of championship golf, six tennis courts with tennis camps, children's programs, 24-hour room service, valet parking, 26 specialty retail shops, 19 distinct dining options and we are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Broadmoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs
Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broadmoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.