We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Broadmoor

Save Saved
You added The Broadmoor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Broadmoor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 105 hotels in Colorado Springs
Brownwood
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The property is perfect! The scenery is perfect! The staff were attentive to each guest all the time and all over the property. The rooms were amazing and amenities were excellent. Whether or not you can come and stay for one day or multiple it is a must see and experience!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,101
    199
    69
    47
    22
See reviews for
326
417
43
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Easily one of the best hotel/resorts I have ever stayed in. Fantastic. Great service, super food, good value, super golf and the staff were extremely friendly. Rarely do I go back to places but I will go back here as often as I can. Wow!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was my second stay at the Broadmoor (first in 2003). One thing that cannot be topped is the exceptional service. There is not a single door unmanned in the entire resort. It honestly felt like there were 3 hotel employees per every 1 guest. And they were not pushy or expectant of gratuities like other hotels.

The grounds are amazing and the food is great at every restaurant on property. I was there for on a golf trip with 3 buddies and it was comparable to some of the better golf trips I've been on (Scottsdale, Vegas, Pebble, Hilton-Head) but the exception was that there was zero nightlife. It's not the fault of the resort, it's just that the town is a very sleepy place.

I would suggest the resort to anyone who is looking for a quiet, conservative trip with exceptional natural beauty and service.

Room Tip: South tower room 21 on any floor 1-5 will have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

From the moment we pulled in and the guy at the gate asked our name and welcomed us the two night we spent here were wonderful. Our room was delightful and comfortable. We had two perfect breakfast in the hotel because we visited with friend during the evenings. We walked the property a few times and enjoyed especially the small lake separating the main buildings. My wife loves art and I could not get her to stop walking into every room that had original Remington paintings of life in the west. Frankly we were blown away. Have a drink in the Best Bar West of the Hudson!! It was a treat!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Broadmoor experience May 12-14, 2014. Our overall impression is that we have not stayed at a nicer hotel resort, and we travel a lot! Everything, our room, our meals, the activities were all delightful! One thing that stood out was how every employee,regardless of their function, engaged us in greeting and conversation. All of their people went all out for us! We WILL return soon!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This place was so hit or miss and it really shouldn't be billed as a 5-star resort. First - the good.

The grounds are spectacular. The golf course (East course) is gorgeous. They could be a bit better maintained, though. The rooms are very nice and we loved the 5 piece bath. I love some of the "high tech" additions but they have their drawbacks, too. I let the hotel know that it was my husband's birthday and they were all very quick to wish him a happy one. It was sweet. We also had a fabulous dinner at La Taverne with some truly remarkable service from both our waitress and the Sommelier. We were seated in Le Jardin per my request and it has a beautiful atmosphere.

What gives? First, the service. I felt like I was staying at an academy for newbies in the service industry. There were a few notable exceptions but for the most part they wore robotic smiles and greeted you warmly and thought that was enough to warrant a 5-star rating. Staff are literally EVERYWHERE. We had a running jokes about never seeing a group of less than 3 together. We quickly noticed that they are socializing with each other and not actually serving guests. Upon checkout I was asked "how was your stay"? I replied, "Eh, it was fine." The response back to me was a big smile and "Great! I'm so glad that you really enjoyed it!" I thought he was kidding. My brother-in-law had a similar interaction but the response back to him was one of concern. He said "you have the friendliest, WORST staff I've ever encountered". The woman at the front desk said "Thank you! Whew, I'm so glad that you had a great time!"

Huh?!?!

My husband's clubs (that we checked with the valet staff) were lost the morning of our tee time. We were assured that they had our check-out information and that they would be ready and waiting when we checked out. They were lost again. It took, all told, 40 minutes to find them. My husband and I had to check with several people and then were told that we could drive over to the clubhouse and that they were probably over there. Upon arriving at the clubhouse no one was aware of the situation and it took my husband volunteering to follow them into the club storage room to actually get someone interested in finding them. If we'd had a flight to catch we may have been in trouble.

The rooms are nice but not 5-star nice. The furnishings have a bit of a worn appearance. There are 2 very heavy, hot blankets on the bed and 1 sheet. Take your pick - too hot or too cold. The towels are small and scratchy. Our "high tech" room did have an iPod dock/alarm clock although my brother-in-law's room had a CD player alarm clock; the exact one that he said he had in his first apartment over 20 years ago. The touchscreen tablet that controls the "high tech" functions in the room will open and close the drapes and turn on or off your housekeeping privacy sign and that's about it. I thought that we could look up room service menus or restaurant information on it but no go. The thing is also bolted to the far corner of the bedside table and can't be moved so using it is awkward and necessitates getting completely out of bed.

We had an absolutely terrible experience in the clubhouse/golf course grille. We couldn't get service to save our lives. I kept going inside to the bar and asking for things and carrying our drinks and stuff out to the table myself. Each time I went inside there were no fewer than 4 staff people sitting around. It was a joke. I'll write a separate review.

Overall the place has a very Vegas-y feel with it's theme restaurants and overall flow. There are shops everywhere. This might appeal to families, I get it. It felt a little lowbrow for a 5-star resort.

Finally, be prepared for a $35 (+tax) resort fee per night and this doesn't include $24 additional for parking. I can't stand resort fees. They were quick to point out that this included coffee in our room. Every low budget hotel out there has coffee in the room. That's not a perk. Also, they only give you 2 regular coffee pods per day. The rest are decaf, hot chocolate or tea. If you have 2 coffee drinkers in your room forget about lazing around in the morning unless you want to be robbed for room service.

My husband loved the golf course. It's a shame that you have to stay at the resort to have access to it because at what they charge we won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I stayed here with my friend and parents. It was wonderful, we had just come in from a terrible February blizzard and when we got in it was wonderful! We walked into a cozy looking lobby and my friend and I explored the hotel a little bit. I admired all the cozy and fun little areas to hang out.
My only complaint was that we all had to walk out into the cold weather to get to our rooms; but there were small cans in every building that contained umbrellas for going out in the snow, rain, sleet, hil, etc. Our room was absoulultley amazing! There was a nice, clean, and large bthroom with a TV! Our bed area was large and comfy with two queens and a wonderful chandilier! I was marveled at the wonderful little refreshment room in our small hallway! If you like class and style stay here! I love how there are resturants within walking distance of most rooms! The swimming pool was amazing witha great glass roof and good quality changing room. The service was excelent (my freind was hurt on the escalator and they gave us helpful information of how to cure it). The furniture there is lovely and it is a must stay when you're in Colorado Springs, CO!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Broadmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadmoor

Address: 1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Broadmoor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BROADMOOR is the longest-running consecutive winner of both the AAA Five-Diamond and Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star awards. Our Colorado Springs resort is located on 3,000 lush acres under the shadow of the Rocky Mountains and offers an award-winning day spa, fitness center, two swimming pools, three outdoor hot tubs, one lap pool; 54 holes of championship golf, six tennis courts with tennis camps; children's programs; 24-hour room service, valet parking, 24 specialty retail shops, 19 distinct dining options; and we are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Broadmoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs
Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broadmoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.