We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Broadmoor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Broadmoor to your Saves list
The Broadmoor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Allen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Historic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel has quite a bit of history, but not necessarily my taste. The rooms were elegant, but old. When I went they were not fully staffed, but service was still good. Very expensive hotel. I think at one time this was an exclusive place to stay, but I do not think it has kept up with the times to make it a future luxury getaway rival.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    214
    70
    47
    23
See reviews for
345
449
45
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went for my wife's birthday. Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by the staff. They always greeting you as you or they passed by. Prior to our atay, I had ordered flowers from the hotwl which works with a local florist. Was advised that they would be there orior to checking in. As we emtered our room, the flowers were there as promised. Noticing that some had drooped, I called the front desk. They immediatley sent up someone to remove them and replaced them at no charge within the hour. Now that is service!! Hotel was just fabulous. Restaurants just as much. It can be expensive, but worth the trip for a special occasion. I highly recommend spending at least two nights to enjoy the hotel and area. We are booked again for a couple of nights later this year,

Room Tip: All the rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Treat yourself to The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs. It is an incomparable property surrounded by stunning views and first class accommodations. It's worth every penny!
While in Colorado Springs, visit all the landmarks that Pikes Peak county has to offer, including Manitou Springs, Pikes Peak, Garden of the Gods, Cave of the Winds and, of course, the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have wanted to stay at the Broadmoor for 20 years and finally got the chance. I am in the hotel business and expected the ultimate and got very good but not perfection.

The things that were right: at check in the agent asked if we were celebrating anything special and I said yes, and a little while later a bottle of French champagne was delivered to our room with a note...really exceeded my expectations. They also gave me a printed confirmation of my restaurant reservation at check in. The room was perfectly cleaned and exceptionally well maintained. Dinner in the Tavern was old-school perfection....the meal was absolutely the best part of our visit. Great drinks and service in the "Hotel Bar" as well.

Now for the not perfect stuff: the bellman had his "spiel" down as he escorted us to the room...so much so that my husband and I felt like we were just a number. It was not the personalized service I expected. The bellman also kind of confronted another guest as we were waiting for the elevator and it was pretty uncomfortable. When the bellman realized he was in fact wrong he never apologized or anything to this other guest. Also in the English Pub the Golden Bee, they incorrectly had Bass Beer on the Boddington's tap. My husband and I have been to London and know our English Beer....and that was NOT Boddington's.

Overall a a great stay. None of these things were a big deal, but I just expected pefection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Broadmoor is the epitome of gracious hospitality from the time of arrival until the door of your car is closed by one of the staff saying goodby and "Thank you for staying with us." We had our fourth and fifth visits this past summer and my wife and I believe this Resort may be the finest we have experienced in 40 years of travel. THe facilities and amenities are, of course, first class in a beautiful verdant mountain setting; however; it is the well trained and thoughtful Staff that make the difference! You have to experience it to appreciate it--and you should!

Ronald C. Spradley
Kansas City, Missouri

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Broadmoor is such a relaxing and scenic venue. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are adequate in size and beds are so comfortable. Waking up with a view of the mountains was fantastic, there is also a nice lake onsite and grounds are well maintained. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Our second trip (first was honeymoon one year ago). We are not the type to go to the same place twice when we have the opportunity to travel but the Broadmoor calls you back with its opulence. We didn't leave the property this time. It has enough restaurants, shops, bars, activities, and places to relax and take it all in that it is a vacation in itself. Staff is friendly but not overbearingly so. Amazing art galleries. The property is awash in cool, old photographs, artifacts, and museum-quality historical pieces that make even the walk to the restroom interesting. Views of Cheyenne and Pikes make you stop every time you look up. I haven't played golf yet but hope to next year.

Also worth noting is the Broadmoor's constant self-criticism, whether manifested in the recent opening of their bowling alley and casual restaurant, Play (go for the milkshakes if nothing else) and the recent expansion of the Golden Bee. The Broadmoor has the old world charm that you rarely experience these days and while not the cheapest place, really is worth it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Broadmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadmoor

Address: 1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Broadmoor 5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BROADMOOR is the longest-running consecutive winner of both the AAA Five-Diamond and Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star awards. Our Colorado Springs resort is located on 5,000 lush acres, plus an additional 2,000 acres at The Broadmoor Wilderness Experience properties of The Ranch at Emerald Valley, Cloud Camp and the Fly Fishing Camp (scheduled to open in Spring of 2015), under the shadow of the Rocky Mountains and offers an award-winning day spa, fitness center, mountain biking, mountain climbing, hiking, two swimming pools, three outdoor hot tubs, one lap pool, 54 holes of championship golf, six tennis courts with tennis camps, children's programs, 24-hour room service, valet parking, 26 specialty retail shops, 19 distinct dining options and we are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Broadmoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs
Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broadmoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.