We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Colorado” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Broadmoor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Broadmoor to your Saves list
The Broadmoor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at the Broadmoor in December. Wow that really put us in the Christmas spirit. They always do everything perfect for every holiday. We took our dog this time and had so much fun. Our dog is now a Broadmoor dog, after we checked in the door bell rang and a young man delivered a very comfy dog bed, dog treats and a tag that said Broadmoor DOG :) What a special treat! We love the Broadmoor it is one of the prettiest places in Colorado and there is so much to do. Cheyenne Mountain Zoo is a must. They have the most incredible zoo and animals from all over the world (animals that we had never knew existed) . It is built into the side of Cheyenne Mountain which is spectacular. The staff are wonderful and the food at the restaurants some of the best in the world. Be sure to have a cocktail in the Lobby Bar overlooking the lake and in front of a warm outdoor fireplace (very romantic).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    239
    79
    49
    23
See reviews for
382
505
49
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenville, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not only will the resort surroundings remind you of a different age, the service will remind you of an era when hospitality employees were trained to treat guests like they matter.

The grounds really are lovely. There are several buildings which house guestrooms, and several more which provide conference services. The grounds are pretty "sprawling" which is great. If you are in a remote location and prefer not to walk (the elevation will affect your stamina), there is constant shuttle service to and from the front doors.

The Christmas lights were still up when I visited in mid-January, and they looked very nice. There is a large pond behind the back of the building surrounded by lighted trees, and the light filled trees lining the drive are super pretty.

I didn't dine in the restaurants, but ate one of their catered meals while attending an even at the Olympic Training Center. It was absolutely fantastic, so I have no reason to doubt the tastiness of the on-site preparation. I did visit two on-site bars. "The Hotel Bar" is located on the mezzanine level, and was packed with conference attendees. Service at the bar was a commodity, but there were plenty of floor servers wandering around to provide drinks. "The Tavern" (no, I didn't intentionally drink at the two most boring-ly named venues) was far quieter. Service from the 30 year veteran bartender was attentive and friendly.

The Golden Bee was closed for renovations, but should be a fun "period" dining experience once it reopens. The plan is to have it reflect a British Isle's tavern.

If you prefer to get off property, you'll find local establishments within minutes.

I'd highly recommend a stay here, if your timing and budget allow.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the main building offer a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Broadmoor is one of my favorite hotels in the world! I have travelled extensively both in the USA and abroad, and I have had the pleasure of staying at exquisite properties (e.g.The Connaught and The Dorchester in London, the George V and Le Bristol in Paris, The Peninsula in Hong Kong, the Carlyle in New York, the Huntington in San Francisco, etc). Everytime I have the opportunity to be in Colorado, I try to visit the Broadmoor. I grew up in Denver, and the Broadmoor has always been a place to celebrate important events---my parents' twenty-fifth wedding anniversary, my mother's eightieth birthday party, Easter dinners, etc. There is a special something about this wonderful hotel that makes it unique and one-of-a-kind in all the world---its beautiful architecture, its breathtaking setting, the elegance of its historic public spaces, the luxury of its rooms and suites, its beautiful spa, the quality of its cuisine, and its exceptional staff. I last visited the Broadmoor on my last birthday (10-31-2012), and it was like coming home. I can't wait to return . . .again and again and again. . .

Room Tip: I always like to stay in the Main Building or the South Tower with a view of the lake and the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have been coming here every other year for about 5 days starting on Christmas Day. We have a group of 17 family members who come from various states and this is just such a great place for us to reunite. Apparently, the rates are very good during this time (off season; room arrangements are a gift) of the year. My 10 and 7 yr. old, and husband fit nicely into their rooms. We use their excellent fitness center and the indoor pool daily. We also rent the tennis courts for some family activities. The restaurants can be a bit pricey, but the quality of food is excellent. We rented a mini-fridge for some breakfast items/drinks (there is a Safeway nearby). We ate at the Summit a couple of times (excellent, and fairly good value) and for good reasonable meals, at the Grill (casual restaurant near golf shop). The Concierge was really helpful in assisting us with restaurant recommendation/reservation off-campus. For a resort, it's very well run- friendly and professional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I never imagined I would make it to this little corner of the world but have to say the service was impressive.

On arrival day I spoke with the General Manager for 15 or 20 minutes in the bar before I even realized he was the GM.

The rooms are nice but the service is phenomenal. Though I was only there three nights the staff greeted me by name daily. The turndown service was beyond typical and evenings at the Golden Bee were truly special.

Nice job all around.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The attention we received was nothing less than what one would expect at a 5* hotel. It was excellent in every way. Bed and room were very comfortable. The Sunday brunch was incredible (was just a bit disappointed that we were seated in the overflow room... oh well.) The spa/exercise facility was a bit too far and inconvenient, especially in the cold weather. You have to walk outside to get to it. But what a beautiful walk. Our only disappointment was that we were so busy with business outside the hotel, we didn't really get to fully appreciate it. We look forward to returning for a special occasion, and really savoring the stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Broadmoor is truly a spectacular place during the holidays.Not only is every tree on the grounds decorated with amazing lights, every lobby has an unbelievable tree and best part is, it is less expensive than other times of year. They do a terrific Holiday program that has been different every year we have been there. ( 8 total so far)There are carolers that will surprise you with a wonderful tune as well. We have stayed in both the main building and the west wing. The main building has alot of charm and charisma, where the west wing is more traditional. Be careful when booking a room with two double beds. If you are 2 adults and one child thinking this is a good fit, know that the "double beds" in the west wing, because of the way the pillow top mattresses fit, make it more like a twin. They are very small. We have previously had almost perfect stays but this time there were clearly some details that were amiss. Perhaps the ownership? Where you used to get a card, with your name and a box of chocolates waiting for you in your room welcoming you back, you now get a generic box, handed to you over the counter upon check in. We found a washcloth from the previous guest in the shower ( something that would never happen), room not cleaned until almost 5:00pm and a true cluster at the valet on the morning of check out. The gentleman who sold us drink tickets at the Christmas show was surley...something we have never encountered at the Broadmoor. EVER! Only other disappointment this time was the lack of the "WOW" factor at the ginger bread display. ( I know, not a big deal.) Otherwise, off duty employees will look you in the eye and greet you, the service staff is amazing, the atmosphere is "to die for!" Truly a wonderful holiday experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view in the west wing but get a King. Doubles are too small! The lake facing rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Broadmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadmoor

Address: 1 Lake Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Broadmoor 5*
Number of rooms: 779
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BROADMOOR is the longest-running consecutive winner of both the AAA Five-Diamond and Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star awards. Our Colorado Springs resort is located on 5,000 lush acres, plus an additional 2,000 acres at The Broadmoor Wilderness Experience properties of The Ranch at Emerald Valley, Cloud Camp and the Fly Fishing Camp (scheduled to open in Spring of 2015), under the shadow of the Rocky Mountains and offers an award-winning day spa, fitness center, mountain biking, mountain climbing, hiking, two swimming pools, three outdoor hot tubs, one lap pool, 54 holes of championship golf, six tennis courts with tennis camps, children's programs, 24-hour room service, valet parking, 26 specialty retail shops, 19 distinct dining options and we are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Broadmoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs
Broadmoor Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broadmoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.