We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Staying; Breakfast is Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Save Saved
You added The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Rate $10 Dining
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Second Time Staying; Breakfast is Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We live in Colorado Springs, and decided to be spontaneous and surprise our 10 y.o. by staying at the hotel overnight. Overall, the experience was good. Check-in was very quick/easy.

We stayed in the B part of the hotel, which doesn't have an elevator. Fortunately, we didn't have lots of luggage; I'd advise you to inquire, when you are making the reservation, on where your room is located, in case dragging luggage up the stairs is an issue for you.

The breakfast is fantastic. Patrick remembered us from our initial 4 day stay two years ago when we were looking to move to CO. He is very personable and does his best to make omelettes to order, but know he sometimes gets the pans/plates mixed up. We didn't complain, but I had asked for vegetables and ham, and was missing the ham, whereas my daughter had asked for no ham and got ham. We liked the crispy bacon, too - yummy!

We booked the hotel because of the indoor pool, thinking we could spend some quality time playing in the pool as a family. Unfortunately, there were three negatives: 1) There was a wedding reception happening, and a sign was posted on the pool that the pool would be closed from 4:00-4:30 - we weren't told this at check-in, so I went down, in my swimsuit, to find out we couldn't be there. 2) The pool was extremely cold - so cold that my husband and I didn't get in. 3) I'm not sure how often the pool is cleaned, but my daughter found a few bandaids, as well as an earring at the bottom of the pool. A negative: the tile, surrounding the pool is crumbling. The positive: it IS an indoor pool, and my daughter had fun. There are kick boards and balls for the kids to play with. We like the atmosphere - it feels like you are in a tropical, private pool area.

Because the pool was so cold, we ventured outside where there is a hot tub - and, boy was it hot! We had to ease into it, but once in, sat for a few minutes. I did observe, while watching my child in the (cold) pool, that lots of adults/teens were saying how cold the pool was, and went to the hot tub, so the hot tub was pretty crowded.

About the room: we were in block B on the second floor and were comfortable. The temperature of the room was perfect. There was a microwave and refrigerator, which we didn't use. The two queen beds/pillows/linens were quite comfortable. The water pressure was good, and the room was somewhat clean. The sheets looked clean, the "eye level" furniture seemed clean, as well as the bathroom. The top of the TV armoire was very dusty. The back of the bathroom door was disgusting. The grout under the soap tray was starting to peel away and was moldy.

Speaking of dust, don't look up while you are eating your breakfast! All the light fixtures, plants, and everything above eye level have a thick layer of dust.

Would I stay again - yes, if my child wanted to. I probably won't go out of my way to stay here again on my own. I think the hotel needs some TLC to update decor and make it cleaner.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is an elevator at this hotel - there wasn't in block B; maybe there is...
See more room tips
Green Features: The bathroom has soap/shampoo/conditioner dispensers. Ours was full, but read where some rooms' were empty. I like this feature - have it at home!
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    370
    149
    55
    42
See reviews for
547
230
54
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I loved the Academy. Not only did they give you an amazing breakfast buffet with an omelette and waffle station, but they also gave you $10 for another meal in the hotel if you booked direct through them. Fireplace, Nintendo wii, ping, pong, foozeball, indoor pool, Jacuzzi, who could ask for more? Rooms were great, people were great. Very pleased!

Green Features: very impressive, even recycling bins in the room and refillable shampoo and soap dispensers in the bathroom!
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ault, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Kids enjoyed it. Breakfast is awesome. Pool didn't seem heated to me. We were in Building B on the second floor, and surprisingly there's no elevator for Building B. Older facilities, but they do a good job trying to keep it up. Probably a very nice hotel in the '90s. Don't recommend it for romantic getaways. Better for families.

Room Tip: A/C didn't work all that great in our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best experiences I've had in a hotel thus far. From the moment you walk in, you are greeted by friendly staff and a beautiful lobby. Rooms are large and comfortable. Continental breakfast is amazing. I would recommend this hotel to all traveling through colorado springs.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Nice convenient location with comfortable rooms and Excellent Breakfast. Very comfortable foam beds with a nice 52 inch TV with mountain view. The pool could have had a bit more privacy. Enjoyed a lot

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Good location, large rooms, free wifi, very nice free breakfast (fresh omelette bar), decent price. Saw a couple hairs in bathroom, and i dislike others' hair. 70s style throwback, you have to roleplay 70s style.

Room Tip: Omelette bar is dank
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Comfortable rooms, nice pool, great restaurant with complementary FULL breakfast. John the hotel manager was always around, saw him several times personally picking up towels and empty dishes around the pool area. It really speaks to the dedication of the staff that the GM cared enough to oversee little details like that. My girls practically lived at the pool which had the nice addition of complementary life jackets for the littler kiddos.There was also a nice game room and free Wii in the main area to keep them occupied. The beds and rooms were nice and comfortable.My room had a rain shower-head, heaven! Much better than the motels in Manitou. The only issue was staying in B block which meant there was no elevator but it was a minor detail (especially because we were on the ground floor). I will plan to stay here again when we visit Colorado Springs!

Room Tip: Room 179 is right off of the parking lot in block B. I was worried at first that the access to the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#13 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#16 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO® movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been renovated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 32" flat screen TVs, traditional quality furnishings, microwaves and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! "Exceptional service & amenities - incomparable value." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.