We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel stay i have had.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs to your Saves list
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rate + $10 Dining
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
“The best hotel stay i have had.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a good stay at the hotel,very pleased with the stay at the hotel the four days my family stayed there. The service staff was very friendly and helpfull especially kristy in the morning while at breakfast, she told us where to go and how to get there also different places to go.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    386
    158
    55
    42
See reviews for
555
244
55
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is an older but very well maintained hotel. There are lots of options for kids (pool, Wii, ping pong, foosball, etc.) The complimentary breakfast buffet was one of the better ones that I have seen. This hotel was a very good value for the price. We would definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We love the Academy Hotel. Even thought it is a slightly older hotel, it is clean and comfortable and we have stayed there twice now. The breakfast is amazing. Dinner at the Falcon was not as exciting. Bar food that is not anything special (we expected better). I think they desperately need to update their rooms with more outlets/technology. There was one available plug in the wall we could use (the other plug in the outlet was used by a lamp). One more plug that was attached to a lamp base. All other outlets were behind furniture and not accessible, or in the bathroom. Current technology demands more outlets and even usb ports (which I have seen in some hotel rooms). We traveled light - 2 phones and a computer. No plugs by the night stands. The wifi was all 'booked' up on Thursday & Friday, couldn't use it at all. We ended up back in our room about 4 -4:30pm each day and the 1st 3 days our room was not cleaned. The maid came in and because we were resting we had her take care of the bathroom and garbage. I wish she would have spoken at least few essential words of English so I could convey to her what I wanted to be done instead of pointing to everything. Aside from those issues (which are totally fixable by the Academy Hotel) I would stay there again and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room that is directly above the lobby - there is no sunlight and if you open you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Currently staying at the Academy Hotel and nothing but nice things to say about the staff. When you arrive they treat you so well but even after 3 days they are just as obliging to assist you. Jaton is such a pleasant person. She will go out of her way to assist and does it all with a smile.
When you have breakfast, Alan(sp?) will greet you and offer more coffee. Try the happy hour and get crazy. People of all ages can be seen at the morning buffet and most have smiles from the good sleep due to comfortable beds, to the great housekeeping staff and doing it all while staying green. Yes, use those towels twice. It does make a difference in a tourist town. I am a returning local and I will continue to return even after I find a home….

Green Features: Excellent. Signs everywhere to encourage you to be aware of little things you can do to assist their environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was by far the best place we stayed at on our travels to and from Colorado Springs. The best hotel breakfast at any place I have ever stayed at and the food was good at the grill as well. The room was very clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable with fluffy pillows. The kids loved the pool and quickly made friends with other kids and joined in some pool games. Overall, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I always stay at the Academy Hotel when I'm in the Colorado Springs area, as do a great many other people. You'll never find a complimentary breakfast that'll beat the Academy's. Some come close but never better.... BiggsAFB

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkburnett, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

When booking this hotel I was unsure of exactly what we were walking in to. Normally hotels put there best pictures online and then when you arrive it's totally different. However with this hotel this what the total opposite. Hotel was great, rooms were extremely nice, very clean, comfortable beds and friendly staff. Only thing that I found was off was, the prices of drinks were a little high, and the micro fridge in the room was not working (it was never fixed even after I informed the front desk). I highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I've stayed in many. BTW - the made to order breakfasts were awesome! One other secret....if you book directly with the hotel, you will receive a $10 voucher which you can apply to your dinner or drinks at the hotel nightly...nice touch! Hope you enjoy this hotel as much as my wife and I did.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel for coupons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#15 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO® movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been renovated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 32" flat screen TVs, traditional quality furnishings, microwaves and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! "Exceptional service & amenities - incomparable value." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.