We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value -” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs to your Saves list
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 50% + $10 Dining
Ranked #18 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great Value -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The facility was good. Other reviews describe the condition of the rooms and other amenities well. We stayed on the 4th floor for the Mountain View. It is pretty good, but another hotel adjacent detracts a bit from what we were expecting. The value of the overall experience was excellent with the daily restaurant voucher and the breakfast set up.

The one area we had was the inconsistent performance of the staff. Most were great. But a few really were not too concerned about how they impacted guests. Housekeeping was inconsistent. Not a huge deal to pick up the phone and get things addressed. One day; no housekeeping. Went to front desk at about 5 pm who was a little dismissive initially, but agreed to help. At that point, all we wanted were some clean towels as we hadn't messed up the room that much, could stand a little trash, etc. Not too much later one of the service staff came up and we exchanged towels, and then told me that housekeeping was going to get to our room -our part of the hotel was at the end of the rounds despite the fact it was very obvious no cleaning carts or staff had been on the floor at all the previous hour since we had returned to the room. Again, big deal? Maybe not. The other encounter was around the elevator when a group of housekeeping staff had blocked off the hall with their carts which prevented movement to the elevator of the stairs and were either on their cell phones or complaining about something related to work - but weren't too concerned about providing some access to the hall and acted as if I was a nuisance to them simply trying to get down stairs. Maybe this is all petty, but the potential for this to have been an outstanding stay was stymied by more than a couple of folks who just didn't seem that interested to the extent you would hope.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    424
    168
    62
    46
See reviews for
608
267
60
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Academy Hotel was worth the gamble. It was very clean and attractive. I got my bang for my buck! I would definitively stay here again! The front desk clerk was very informative. The breakfast was an added bonus, omelet chef!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised with the decor and overall feel. The breakfast is phenomenal and if you book through the hotel directly you get an additional $10 voucher per day for food and drink! So take at least $10 a day of your cost per day for the breakfast per person! And an additional $10 per room for the voucher! Really nice place and incredible value for the cost!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moriarty, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

First I would like to say I am very particular about my hotel stay when traveling. So with this being said I wasn't impressed with the room 223 because it was a bit old. I presume that because we took one off the online specials we got this room. Though it served its purpose of resting it was not what I expected from the pics. HOWEVER!!!!!! The service was outstanding!!! From the desk to the restaurant. The chef from the egg station acknowledged us from the moment we came into the area. The free breakfast was awesome. They had servers who picked up your plates. There was a sausage, egg/omelet, hashbrown and waffle station. They have a business center that allows you to print your coupons. Hot tub was nice and hot in the nice cool air. We didn't do the pool but glad to know it was there. It has an upscale feel with a motel price. Love it! Also its convenient to everything around. If you book directly through the site they give you a $10.00 voucher off dinner each night you stay. If you need a place to stay this is it. 2 stories no elevator so keep that in mind. So overalll this was the best hotel experience! I

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Staff was very friendly and the $10 voucher for the restaurant each night was a wonderful bonus. Breakfast was awesome, lots to choose from! The king sized bed was the most comfortable we had had at a hotel. Also upon check in, we were early and our room was ready, plus they provided us with a map of the area and all kinds of activites for us to enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I made my reservation online and was very impressed with the prices. I was an extremely late check-in on my first night, and was pleased with the ease of that process. There is ample parking available on-site and the hotel is easy to find -- even in the middle of the night! I had a nicely decorated king room on the 4th floor. The bed was very comfortable and there were lots of pillows! I didn't hear any hallway noises on any of my nights there. The bathroom looked a little dated and was small, however, the shower was lovely -- great water pressure, large sized, and huge shower head! I appreciated the hotel's efforts to save energy and opted to reuse my bedding and towels. My room had a very large flat-screen television with an extensive channel lineup. I appreciated the free WiFi as well. The fitness center was somewhat basic, but it did the job. It had two treadmills, two elliptical machines, one bike, and weights. The breakfast was fantastic! I loved that it was available until 10:00. It included things like fruit, yogurt, muffins, biscuits & gravy, potatoes, scrambled eggs, French toast, made-to-order omelets, toast, breakfast sandwiches, and probably other things that I'm forgetting. There was also unlimited orange juice, apple juice, milk, water, and coffee. I didn't use the pool but it was a good size and available 24 hours for adult swim.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and will plan to stay here in the future when I visit Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our trip was amazing! We showed up 2 hours before check in and they had our room all ready for us. For booking through the hotel we received $10 vouchers for food at the Falcon grill. That was a nice added plus we weren't expecting. The bed was extremely comfortable ( executive king suite ). I would recomend this hotel for anyone who likes good bfast and great customer service.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#6 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#12 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#14 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.