We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a wonderful experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs to your Saves list
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Wow, what a wonderful experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My four days and nights here were beyond any reasonable expectation!! A beautiful Atrium with lush plants, a dancing fireplace, and ambient lights streaming through the skylights- captured the warmth and generous experience of a fabulous staff. My room, just off the atrium was exceptionally quiet even though the pool was filled with laughing children....
The bed was very comfortable, the room was more than adequate. The staff frequently checked, asking if anything was needed. Jaton was one of the delightful staff, always smiling with a warm heart presence.They responded to the needs of everyone from children to seniors. I was here for my Vietnam reunion, and I was delighted to hear several soldiers comment on the delightful service received at the Academy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    398
    160
    57
    42
See reviews for
578
250
57
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The facility is gorgeous! I felt bad to be wearing flip flops and shorts but oh well. The mood in the evenings is relaxed and fun, a touch on the fancy side. The rooms were a little smaller than average but we still got two queen beds! We were very pleased with this hotel, and hope to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Nice amenities like pool and lounge area. Breakfast was excellent. Room was clean. Shades in the room kept the light out making for a sound sleep after the sun rose. Cleaning staff even tucked in our daughters' stuffed animals after making the beds. ;)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Don't let the exterior fool you, sure this hotel as been around awhile but it's the inside that counts. As soon as you walk in, you will find the hallways, lobby, and the whole interior in general both clean and well kept up. Modern, clean rooms, with incredible beds (the pillows were perfect,) will surprise you considering the competitive pricing. Staff was friendly, and always available. The breakfast was the best I have experienced yet. Make-your-own fresh waffles, and omelet chef, breakfast buffet (which included bagel barieties, hot cereal, several kinds of dry cereal, fresh fruit, French toast...)
They start serving at 6, and don't start to get busy until 7, so we had it mostly to ourselves.
Indoor pool (saltwater) and outdoor jacuzzi. Also, game room and huge fireplace lounge area.
Of course, an honest review also includes any negative accounts. Only two: the room didn't have any view, but that's just because of the layout of the building, and just depends on where your room is. The bathroom drain in the tub drained slow, not serious, but we notified the staff on checkout and they made a note for maintenance.
Overall, good hotel, good price, good experience. We had two couples sharing the room, and all four of us agreed it was a great deal and good experience. Will definitely recommend this to anyone traveling by here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Loved everything about this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was warm cookies every afternoon and delicious flavored water 24 hours a day in the lobby. The restaurant was very good and we enjoyed happy hour there both afternoons we stayed with great prices and drinks. The lobby and atrium area was fun and gave you a resort feel. No issues with cleanliness in both our room and hotel. The beds were super comfortable. Would stay there again and recommend this hotel. It is in a great location as well just off I-25 so easy to get around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

we stayed here twice during the same vacation. The rates are really great, the breakfast is super, and the executive tower is worth the extra money, if you have the option. We had been upgraded our first few nights and we had an amazing room, memory foam mattress and a view of pikes peak! Also, ample electric plugs. The second couple nights that we stayed we had a room in the "leisure" building, kids running back and forth all night, drunk folks yelling in the halls, a comfortable bed, but the "view" was of the inside of the lobby. People could see into our room if we opened the curtain, and we had to unplug a lamp or 2 to have enough electrical sockets to charge phones/computer/tablet. It was a rather dark couple of days in that room. I'd stay there again, but I'd spend a little extra for the room in the executive tower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for about 3 years now. The staff is awesome, beds are comfortable, and breakfast is unbeatable. We remember Patrick and his excellent breakfast omelets. They are awesome!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#6 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#13 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#13 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO® movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been renovated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 32" flat screen TVs, traditional quality furnishings, microwaves and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! "Exceptional service & amenities - incomparable value." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.