We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent In Every Way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs to your Saves list
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Omaha
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent In Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Sometimes when you make reservations at a hotel based on websites and price you are disappointed. Not at the Academy. In fact this hotel so exceeded our expectations had we not made reservations for the rest of the week up in Denver, we would have stayed here the entire 5 days we were in Colorado. The room was great, the beds comfortable, the television was twice as big as any television we have ever seen at any hotel and the lobby was just beautiful. The staff was very helpful, the free breakfast buffet was fantastic. Hey, I can't praise this hotel enough. If you are in the Colorado Springs area, and are on a budget, you cannot go wrong staying at the Academy Hotel. Thanks, Academy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    399
    161
    57
    43
See reviews for
581
251
57
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My 12-year-old claims this is the best hotel he's ever stayed in. The staff were all super friendly. We made good use of the pool, hot tub, and ping pong table while we were there. They also had a foosball table and a Wii station in the lobby. If we'd been there longer, I would have enjoyed hanging out on one of the comfy sofas by the many fireplaces in the lobby--they looked totally inviting! Rooms were quiet & comfortable, and I loved that they had a clothesline over the tub so I could hang our swimsuits to dry without dripping all over the floor (sometimes it's the little things). Breakfast had everything you could ask for, including the omelet chef, who was both friendly and more than competent! We're hoping to go back again sometime soon.

Green Features: Soap & shampoo dispensers in the shower instead of wasting lots of little plastic bottles.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 2 days while attending a funeral. One of the best assets is the value you receive for the cost of the room. The staff were helpful...the property is clean...the breakfast in the morning is top-notch. We enjoyed our short visit. If we could change one thing it would be having more electrical outlets in the room. I don't think my wife are that unusual in that we each have a cell-phone, each brought a Kindle, and used one laptop for work.

Our room was clean and comfortable. We would stay here again, but would ask for a room with more electrical outlets.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

From the time we go there until we left was a great experience. Our room was very nice, clean with very little noise. The pool area was awesome with 24hr access to the pool for adults. The free breakfast that was part of our package was beyond great. It had everything you could think of from omelets to fruit, coffee juice and more. The restaurant was very well priced with excellent food. The best thing about the hotel was the great friendly service. second to none.
There is no doubt that we will be back there again and recommend this to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is an older hotel and definitely needs an upgrade but the price was right. The outside of the hotel needs grooming. My first impression driving up to the hotel was "oh no, it's a dive" but once inside, I felt better. The staff was very nice and helpful. Our room was clean and roomy. There was mold in the bathroom and around the A/C and heater. The bathroom fan did not work. The beds were a little hard for me but good size. The walls were thin (typical in any hotel) and could hear all conversations. The outside trash container was overflowing during our 4 day stay (empty boxes laying around). It has a good size pool and jacuzzi, games available for the young at heart. It has a pretty decent breakfast bar (made to order omelettes) and free! The hotel is right off of I25. It is near many restaurants, stores (Walmart), etc. All in all, I am pleased with my hotel stay for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Will definatly stay next time in area. Breakfast free with room even comes with omlets cooked to taste. The beds were not very comfortable to sit on but were so comfortable to sleep on. I hated to leave that bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is the best value in a hotel we have had. The room was very clean and had a large flat screen tv which was extremely clear. The bed had two different types of pillows and the soft one almost cured my week old sore neck the first night. The pillows are the best I have ever slept on and I will purchase two soon. The bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was the best complimentary buffet we have ever had and the omelet chef really moves. Everything was fresh. The food at the restaurant was fine and the $10 coupon almost paid for the pizza and did pay for the giant hamburger we enjoyed. We only had one hors d'oeuvre but the nacho plate was large and good. The only negative we had was the beer is pretty expensive but that may be a state tax thing. We were amazed that we didn't smell any chlorine in the restaurant area even thought the pool is pretty close. The rooms are very quiet as there were kids everywhere but we didn't hear them running around. We have already recommended this place to a couple who are heading west soon. The location is perfect.

Room Tip: Stay in the "tower" for the discount offered. We did not go to the spa if they have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#12 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#13 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO® movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been renovated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 32" flat screen TVs, traditional quality furnishings, microwaves and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! "Exceptional service & amenities - incomparable value." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.