We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Save Saved
You added The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Rate+$10 Dining
Ranked #16 of 105 hotels in Colorado Springs
La Salle, Colorado
2 reviews
“Overall Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The front desk was really nice. they got me a room by the door even tho they were all booked up. I love the pool in the lobby. I the only thing I was not to happy about was the service in the restaurant. They were under staff and you can tell.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    328
    125
    45
    35
See reviews for
478
211
50
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I reserved 3 rooms for 2 nights for a family event in Colorado Springs. This hotel is very conveniently located right off I-25. We had some rooms in the executive tower and some in the original part of the hotel. The room in the original part of the hotel was a little dated but all rooms were very clean and comfortable. The full breakfast was very good with fresh made omelets or scrambled eggs along with the normal continental breakfast items. The atrium is very nice with an area for relaxing in comfy chairs around a fire, a pool for the kids and a bar for the adults. The spa is outside but was not working while we were there. This hotel is a very good deal for the money. One caution, I Googled the hotel to make the reservation and ended up at a 3rd party booking site (not Trip Advisor). The best deal is to make the reservation directly through the hotel at their own website.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Executive Tower are a little more money but are a little nicer and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Room was so clean! So nice as well! Would have been nice to know there was tons of vb groups going because that just ruined the enviroment with half dressed teens running around.
However biggest issue was no one told us where our room was. Second when we got in our room first thing was i seen in the bathroom was a piece of dried up old floss stuck to the counter and trash debris, even a dried up old spagetti noodle in the bathtub. Also the ice machine on the 3rd floor did not work.
Breakfast great. Dinner to the resturaunt was ugh.

Room Tip: Stay away from pool area if you want it quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved it! Was very easy and nice to use just took what I needed and didnt have to take bottles or open any soaps.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Ridge, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our stay at The Academy Hotel was a wonderful introduction to Colorado Springs. From check-in to check-out the hospitality, the service, the accommodations, the facilities, the professionalism of the staff were outstanding. Each staff member we encountered was personable and very helpful. Our room was spacious, attractive and well maintained.
Breakfast was incredible and deserves an independent review. Without a doubt, the breakfast buffet at The Academy Hotel is an event like no other breakfast at a hotel we have experience in our travels in this country. Patrick, beyond being an excellent chef, is an excellent ambassador for The Academy Hotel. He made sure each guest had a great breakfast experience.
Our stay at The Academy Hotel was memorable and an experience that we will share with friends and relatives.
We strongly recommend The Academy Hotel to all Colorado Springs travelers.

Room Tip: Our room in the was in the Executive Tower Building.
See more room tips
Green Features: We found The Academy Hotel to be very environmentally friendly..
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I would definitely recommend The Academy Inn to friends and family. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and curteous and the price was right for such a nice hotel. I was actually surprised that they were pet friendly too! I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family and I checked in late due to the weather but the staff was nice, room was clean, but the room had no heat. I turned the heater up to 80 but all that would blow out was cold air. The breakfast was great and filling and when we told the front desk about the heat they were very apologetic and was going to check the problem.

Room Tip: Everything was great but the room had no heat, and we thought it would get warmer as the night went...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Owner at The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your valued feedback and please accept my sincere apology for the malfunction of your heater during your stay with us. During the Winter months we make every effort to have a warm room waiting for every guest upon arrival. It is disappointing to me and I do feel bad that this was not the case with your stay. I have followed up with my Maintenance staff and Housekeepers in order to make every effort in preventing this from happening again in the future. I’m happy you enjoyed everything else and once again can assure you that occurrences like this are very rare. My Staff and I hope to see you on your next visit to Colorado Springs. Your business is greatly appreciated and valued.
Sincerely,
John Wilkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was a reasonably-priced hotel with lots of amenities. The rooms were very nice and suites are available. Indoor pool, outdoor hot tub, ping pong, fooseball, & Wii consul are available to keep the kids entertained. Breakfast was excellent with selections such as french toast, sausage, biscuits & gravy, pastries, cereal, and fruit. Best part of breakfast is the omelet master who will make an omelette of your choice. He seems to love his job, too! This is a great place to gather with friends & family and hang out between adventures.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#10 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#12 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#15 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO® movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been renovated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 32" flat screen TVs, traditional quality furnishings, microwaves and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! "Exceptional service & amenities - incomparable value." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.