We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient in Colorado Springs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs to your Saves list
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Rate $10 Dining
Ranked #18 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gulf Shores, Alabama, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient in Colorado Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just like other reviewers have stated, you really do get more than you pay for here. its conveniently located right off the freeway. We stayed here the night that all of the flooding happened in Boulder and this was such a welcome sight. Walking into this place is a sight that you just don't see anymore in most modern hotels. Its dimly lit, and looks like something straight out of a seventies lodge. There is a bar and restaurant on one side and on the other is a large sitting area with cozy leather furniture and a fireplace. Just beyond that is an indoor pool and gaming area. The whirlpool is outside. The rooms are quite large and the wi-fi was fast and easy to connect to. The bed was large and comfortable. The room was clean and the shower had good water pressure which is always a big issue for me in hotels, but the

However, the only problem that I had with this hotel was the staff acted as if they could care less about my complaints. The hallways and stair cases were wet from the rain and people coming in and out of the pool and no warning signs were put up. No elevators so you have to lug your belongings up the stairs. They allow pets and someone's dog was barking in the room down the hall and woke us up. I was not happy about that.

The breakfast made up for it though. By far the best lay out of food options for a hotel of this caliber. Hot, tasty, and well prepared.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor and away from the pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: I enjoyed that they did not use bars of soap and bottles of shampoo and conditioner. They have pump-based containers in the shower with body soap, shampoo and conditioner.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    375
    151
    55
    42
See reviews for
549
237
54
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late and our reservation couldn't be found. No big deal. They made accommodations for us, except the rate was $20 higher than what I had booked online. We had come to the Springs to visit our son. He came to the hotel to have breakfast with us. The breakfast was fine. We were given 2 vouchers for my husband and I. A nice variety, but we've seen the same at many other hotels. My husband went to pay for our son's breakfast. $16!! Ridiculous! That alone has probably steered us away from staying at this hotel again. $8-10 would have been reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights when we visited Colorado Springs during weekdays. The room rate is quite reasonable or even cheaper than hotels with the same ranking. There are some details I don't like, for example, there is no central air conditioning. I need to turn on AC to keep the air circulation. And the mattress is too soft for me, I didn't sleep quite well on puffy bed. The bath tub outlet seems clogged, the water flow is very slow.
The hotel has it's own strengths too!
The room is spacious, the included breakfast is wonderful, many choices and delicious. The location is close to shopping area. The staff are very friendly. The room rate is a bargain!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Checked into hotel and got free upgrade. Didn't spend anytime there except to sleep and breakfast however we were very impressed with what they offered especially for the price. King updated room with a hot breakfast with fresh omelette station cooked by Patrick and waffles. Yum! Easy check out and next to highway. Nice view from the room except the hotel Comfort Inn was blocking view a bit. That's minor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brillion, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

After reading the reviews and seeing the photos, we were disappointed after our stay. Checkin was smooth and they allowed us to checkin a few hours early. We were given a room at the end of the hallway by a side exit. That was convenient but found out later that it left big problems getting a good wifi signal. We contacted the desk a few times but they blew us off. There were others in the hotel with the same problem. It is very important for many people to be able to access the internet consistently. Breakfast left much to be desired. My made to order omelet was burned on the edges. One of the outlets in the room was falling apart and there were large water stains on the ceiling. The first thing I had to do after we got in our room was kill a bug in the bathroom. Then I woke up with bug bites on my neck and chest and foot...bed bugs? Don't know... Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Owner at The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience and please accept my sincere apology for the issues during your stay with us. I am disappointed and feel bad that we fell so short of our goal to provide each and every guest with a completely positive and memorable stay. I only wish these issues had been brought to my attention during your stay when corrective action could have been implemented. I will follow up with my Front Desk Staff to better communicate issues brought to them in the future. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance to myself and Staff, and is the primary reason we have been in business for over 32 years. In addition to a regular pest control program, our Housekeepers are specifically trained to detect any and all signs of bed bugs. To date, The Academy Hotel has been free of this problem. I would appreciate you contacting me directly at the Hotel so that I may properly follow up on this matter. As with the best kept home, an occasional bug can appear such as the one you had in the bath. While it is a rare occurrence, it is impossible to mitigate completely. I’m also surprised to hear about the issues with connecting to the WIFI during your stay and this was not resolved. Several years ago we brought fiber optic in to the Hotel and increased the bandwidth to about 3 times what most chain Hotels offer. I feel bad that you were not able to enjoy this complimentary amenity during your stay and will have my Maintenance Staff double check all access points throughout the Hotel for proper function and coverage. The Academy Hotel is proud to have received the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence for the last 4 years in a row and I can assure you that your experience with us was extremely unusual. It is my hope that you will see fit to give us another chance on your next visit to Colorado Springs. I am positive you won’t be disappointed and we will gain another happy and loyal guest. Thank you again for your input which is always taken in a constructive manner in our ongoing effort for improvement.
Sincerely,
John Wilkins
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin Tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our 4th year here. Since we come every year, we are ecstatic that we found you, Academy Hotel! Wilkins family, you do well. There is nothing lacking....all is wonderful, from the very clean and spacious rooms to the awesome omelet maker and his great personality.
There is a marked difference in a "family owned and operated" hotel from a corporate owned one. Since we travel a lot, we will ask for that in the future. ALL staff were cordial and polite. We truly thank you for making our experience unforgettable. See you next fall if not before.., THE BEDS were sooo comfortable. We gave a 5 star rating but would have given more if possible.
Randy and Mary Harkins, San Antonio,Tx.

Room Tip: Well, being from San Antonio, we hoped for a mountain view, and Caleb did his best and so we did see...
See more room tips
Green Features: We liked the idea of saving water, etc because we do the same at home. Good job, Academy.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We celebrated a ship's union @ the Academy Hotel. The staff, the facilities and their benefits to customers are extremely appreciated, If I ever travel to Colorado Springs again, I would certainly book my hotel there. Everything was professionally handle to my liking. Highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: You need a lot of time there to see soooo much!
See more room tips
Green Features: Signage in the hotel rooms covered on a lot of this topic. They are doing their part.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#16 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO® movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been renovated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 32" flat screen TVs, traditional quality furnishings, microwaves and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! "Exceptional service & amenities - incomparable value." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.