We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs to your Saves list
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
50" HDTV & Mem foam
Ranked #19 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Academy is a well maintained older hotel with some amazing perks. We booked direct with the hotel for a very reasonable price that included breakfast and a $10 voucher per day for food and drinks. The breakfast was as good as any at any price, with made-to-order omelets and pretty much anything else you could want. The lobby is beautiful and staff very friendly. We had a great view of the mountains from our room. Only downside was a somewhat noisy air conditioner. But all in all, a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    437
    179
    70
    49
See reviews for
638
282
62
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel really is just ok as far as needing updates--but it works. The lobby decor is nice, and the indoor pool (which is located in the lobby) is more open and "festive" than your typical run of the mill indoor hotel pool. There's a door off the pool that leads to an outdoor sitting area that has a hot tub too. The price of the room is inclusive of breakfast each morning, and it is wonderful. The best breakfast of any hotel I have ever had, "free" or paid-for, and there is not one breakfast item I can think of that is not offered. Rooms are not terribly large, but they are comfortable enough. Overall, a good value and a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was very pleased with our stay. The room was clean and cozy. Love the pool! The service was wonderful. The staff was polite and helpful. To top it off, there was a great breakfast. Was a wonderful getaway for
our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

cheap price, decent room and pretty nice hotel for the cost. the omelet guy is awesome!!! super friendly. (forgot the man's name) we went on sturgis 2013 road trip and stop at colorado spring, we are glad that we decided to stop here for the night. highly recommended. will come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Close to the highway...Rooms were large and bed was comfy. Bathrooms in need of an update. What also was with the used razor dispenser in the bathroom? Also, free breakfast was just ok..waaaay to crowded though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a great stay here at the Academy Hotel. The hotel is beautiful and if you book through Academy Hotel you get $10 voucher per day to eat in the restaurant plus breakfast which is not your normal hotel continental breakfast. They have a waffle bar, breakfast bar and delicious omlets cooked to order. The hotel is also close to the freeway and short driving distance to the main Colorado Springs attractions. Definitely worth the money for a clean family friendly hotel. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in hotels all over the country and world. The Academy is very close to the top of our list. The comfortable atmosphere in the atrium and the friendly staff make you feel at home. The rooms are nice. They could use some updating, but they are very nice. The restaurant has great food. And after a day of mountain hiking and adventure in Colorado Springs, having a nice restaurant just downstairs was handy so we didn't have to go out. The best part is the breakfast! Wowowow! It's amazing! Most hotels' free breakfast are sub-par pastries, juices, and cereals. This breakfast was better than most that you have to pay for. There is a guy waiting to make you any omelet creation you want! And they're delicious! Any other food you can think of, too. Did I mention the waffles? Yum. We were blown away every morning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#11 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#16 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#19 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.