We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and a great place to stay for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs to your Saves list
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 50% + $10 Dining
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and a great place to stay for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My family and I would definitely return to this hotel. We liked the lobby and the pool. The buffet was good and so were the items we ordered from the bar and grill for dinner. They have great happy hour specials. The air conditioning worked great. The only constructive comments we have are that our room (145) had some mold around the edge of the bathtub and the ceiling and the clock radio was a little dated. But, for the most part, this hotel was a winner in our book. We found it interesting that the pool is located in the hotel lobby, but it didn't stop us from having fun. Also, for those with families, this hotel's pool is a little deeper than the ones that you usually see at hotels.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that face the mountains rather than the highway. Parking can be an issue for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    414
    163
    60
    42
See reviews for
602
257
58
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Caleb at the font desk was friendly, helpful, and had great information about the area. He was even able to get us into our room an hour ahead of check-in so that our baby could nap. The pool area is great! Everything was clean and well taken care of. The rooms are a little dated, but again clean and comfortable. The service at the restaurant for dinner was a little slow, but the wait-staff and chef at breakfast were right on top of everything. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've ever been to.

Room Tip: We chose the two room suit so that our baby could sleep in a room by himself. While a little pricy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hot breakfast vouchers & dinner vouchers along with the already lower nightly rate made this a very economical hotel without sacrificing amenities! Easy access to restaurants, & attractions. my boys loved playing the Wii

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We checked in with Caleb at the front desk. He was went the extra mile for us and got us our room early. Check in was smooth and he got us the coupon vouchers for food. We were traveling from arizona and had a vehicle breakdown and he was patient with us. Thank you Caleb.
During our stay the Alan at the bar was great with information about the hotel and gave us the ins and outs of staying there. Kristen and Colin the mother and son team took great care of us and our granddaughter Aniya. All the wait staff and cooks were great our whole stay. The Pizza, French Dips, appetizers and the Prime Rib were outstanding. The daily breakfast buffet was the best. This hotel knows what customer service means. They all go above and beyond. We will always stay at this hotel when we come home. We are from the springs and are shocked we didn't know what a gem this hotel is. Thank you everyone and we will see you soon! The Waggoner Family Ps The lady assigned to clean our room remembered our names and was happy to make sure our room needs were met.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and will continue to do so when I return to Colorado Springs. The whole staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. Michael the morning chef is very friendly, walking around to make sure that the customers are satisified with the food. A $10 food coupon for the evening meal was a welcome surprise. The Reuben sandwich is top of the line.
I like this hotel for many reasons but perhaps the main one is that it is not a chain and privately owned. I like my money staying in the community.

Room Tip: A great breakfast buffet as good as Embassy Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was an affordable one night stay on our way to Denver, CO. I was very impressed with Lauren who checked us in. She was very nice, big smile and gave us all the information we needed. We had arrived at 9pm and were hungry. Lauren gave us our $10 coupon and we basically got a light meal for $10. Salad for my mom and a Mediterranean wrap for me. Great deal. Breakfast was included and the omelette station was perfect for my mom. I asked them to sautee some vegetables for me and made a vegan burrito with some tasty Cholula on the side. Comfortable beds and quiet room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Late last Tuesday night, we were evacuated from our home during the Black Forest fire. From our late night check-in until we were able to return home, five days later, the staff at this hotel treated us with such care, consideration, and an effort to meet our every need! It became more complicated when my 89 year old mother was also evacuated but in the midst of all the chaos due to the fire and a busy summer season, the staff was able to change our room to two directly adjoining rooms so that we could take care of my mother. They were able to work with our constantly changing check out dates and keep us in our rooms....all this with two weddings going on in their beautiful lobby. The owners of the hotel had given all evacuees a discount on our rooms---very generous! We enjoyed wonderful dinners in their restaurant every night which was especially helpful for my disabled mother. It was so nice not to have to go out and find a restaurant! (note: everything was delicious from the excellent prime rib to great hamburgers to terrific hot wings! Their complimentary breakfast buffet was incredible!
All to say, we are very thankful to the staff and owners of this wonderful hotel! (A special thanks to the staff Jonathan, Karen, and Richard...and a fellow whose name I did not get!)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#14 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.