We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs to your Saves list
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
50" HDTV & Mem foam
Ranked #19 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were traveling over the Christmas holiday. On the way to our relatives' house, we stayed at a different hotel in C Springs that was rated very highly. I was SHOCKED at the state of the hotel and vowed never to stay there again. So, on the way back home, I tentatively booked The Academy Hotel (also rated highly...but now I'm totally suspect of these ratings given my last stay) and crossed my fingers.
I'm very pleased to say that this hotel lives up to its ratings. We were in the "pet wing" which wasn't much to look at and does not have an elevator (I had to carry my 15 year old dog up and down the stairs...but then again, I have to do that at home too) but it was CLEAN (most important) and comfortable. And they actually serve a REAL breakfast in the morning. What a welcome and unexpected surprise. I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    437
    179
    69
    49
See reviews for
637
282
62
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for New Years eve dinner and bus to Cripple Creek to gamble. Was great price for all that they included. Dinner was great with prime rib and salmon yummy. Breakfast in lobby was good too with cooks to make you a personal omlet. Staff was friendly, helpful and seemed to really care if we were having a good time and were comfortable. The lobby is real nice with cozy couches and armchairs to sit and enjoy the fireplace. Indoor heated pool always a plus for me. Tower room was good size, only complaint is the comforter was not warm enough but did find extra blanket in the closet. The view of the mountains was awesome stayed in Tower room. Was thinking should have just stayed at the hotel to relax!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here in December 2012 and were not dissappointed.The staff were friendly rooms were clean and breakfast was not your ordinary hotel breakfast and if you get tired of being in your room you can enjoy their spacious lobby with a fireplace plenty of sitting areas or enjoy the indoor heated pool or spa.there was a great family enviroment the kids will love it .its close to everything you want to do in Colorado springs.make your reservation and enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is amazing.What a pleasant stay we had.We extended our vacation just because of this hotel.The staff was really friendly and helpful.The breakfast was great and happy hour a bonus.The rooms were very clean and spacious.The view of the mountains amazing.We stayed at the tower room 429.Overall a wonderful experience.A must stay when in Colorado springs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Have stayed in numerous hotels in the Colorado Springs area since my Son's family lives in Monument. This hotel is by far the best we have stayed in. The staff is friendly, the rooms are large, the beds are very comfortable, and the breakfast is hard to beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinger, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Breakfast was great, but same thing every day. It would be nice to rotate a few items. Staying more than three days you will be sick of the breakfast items. Overall a great experience. Staff was all very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffe, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I/ we have stayed at Academy 4 times - they are wonderfully helpful and courteous - the rooms are clean and spacious - it is quiet, even at the location. Have yet to use the pool but it always has swimmer in it. The sitting area with fireplace is a delight and the business center exceptional and out of the way. Now, for the breakfast - it is unsurpassed. custom omelets, baked goods, toast and bagels, scrambled eggs, home fries, sausage, ham, biscuits and gravy, french toast and waffles - coffee, juices and plenty of space for seating....just remember your coupon for the free breakfast......come stay with them!

Room Tip: frig and microwave in the room - great blackout shades
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#6 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#11 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#16 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#19 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.