We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing in the area in this price range” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs to your Saves list
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Rate Guaranteed!
Ranked #19 of 107 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best thing in the area in this price range”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Large beautiful atrium like lobby, indoor pool, clean room, nice staff. Free breakfast buffet was FANTASTIC! French toast, waffle maker, breakfast burritos, chef making custom omlets, yogurt & fruit, oatmeal, the works. Definitely will be my #1 pick to stay again if I need to come back to Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COsnowflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Littleton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Everything about this hotel is fantastic from the price to the decor to the lobby to the rooms and service. I could not be more satisfied. I travel a lot and this is great for any traveler or family. Excellent!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTWLittleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife, our Pomeranian, and I stayed here for a week and would definitely come back again. The pet rooms are clean and spacious with a large comfortable king bed. The regular rooms are three times as amazing as the pet rooms and well worth checking out. They have a great indoor pool and outside Jacuzzi. The atmosphere is very peaceful and friendly. The restaurant is not the best in the area but still serves up some decent steak and trout. They seem to have a lot of conferences on the weekends and the bar seemed to be rather busy almost every night on the weekends. The complimentary hot breakfast is much better than most hotel complimentary breakfasts and includes someone cooking omelets. The hotel is in the northern part of town (best part of town) by the Air Force Academy and close to many restaurants and the Chapel Hills Mall. Overall with everything included, I rate this hotel between a 4-5 especially for pet owners.

Room Tip: If you stay in a regular room, ensure you ask for a renovated room and possibly a view of Cheyenne M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snuphiluphigus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I usually stay at a budget hotel nearby because I get a sports deal at $46 per night. Decided to stay at the Academy for a change since it was closer to the venue. Internet rate was $79, but they only charged me $50. The atrium is very nice. My kids enjoyed the pool. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was something you'd expect for a $150 per night hotel, complete with omelettes made to order. I stay overnight in the Springs at least 10 times per year. The Academy is my new place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have stayed here many times. I am a travel agent and can get good rates at quite a few hotels. Everytime I think we may want to stay a little closer to the location we need to be in Colorado Springs my kids beg to stay back at the Academy Hotel. We travel to Colorado Springs frequently for volleyball and always recommend it to our teammates families. They have great rates for everyone not just travel agents. The pool is actually a decent size in a nice atrium setting. The lobby is beautiful and many places to hang out with some privacy. There isnt a staff member that you will encounter that isnt extremely nice and helpful. It has a great location and near lots of shopping and restaurants. But the knockout punch is the complimentary breakfast...amazing! It has to be worth at least 10.00 per person. The Omelette guy (sorry can't remember his name) is so friendly and even recognizes us even though we are only there a few times a year. There is also, waffles, french toast, sausage, fruit...well just about everything. It all tastes delicious and unlike other breakfasts at other hotels your kids will not let anything go to waste here.

The only downside is the beds I thought this time didn't seem as comfortable. Maybe because we were on the older side of the hotel this time. I am not sure. Not like the super soft beds at some chains but still a good nights sleep.

Dont pass on this hotel because it is not a chain hotel now. It is excellent, clean, and the staff is amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower- the newer addition. And if you arent a native coloradoan and used to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samdl2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Very welcoming staff and atmosphere. Cant forget the AMAZING breakfast. Close to shopping and restaurants. Looking forward to future visits.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_B_Archuleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My Husband and I enjoyed our stay very much. Everything was exquisite and the food was delightful. It was the first time I paid for a hotel room and The Academy Hotel made it very easy for me. Everything was very clean and everyone was very friendly. I plan to come back to this hotel for anything I may need a hotel for. The Academy Hotel made my wedding night one of the best nights ever!!!! However, we didn't travel far because we live in the springs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anaed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#4 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
2.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#1 of 107 in Colorado Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#11 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham G...
#2 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,492 reviews
5.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#5 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#12 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Address: 8110 North Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs! Our Family owned and operated full service hotel is nestled around the Colorado Rocky Mountains with glorious views of Pike's Peak and is conveniently located off I-25 near the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy Hotel consistently offers unbeatable value, amazing amenities and exceptional service. Lodging at our hotel provides leisure and business travelers with a wide variety of famous Colorado Springs attractions such as the historic Manitou Cliff Dwellings, Garden of The Gods, Cave of The Winds, Royal Gorge, the Cog Rail Way and more! Guests marvel about The Academy Hotel's luxurious atrium filled with majestic fountains and lush greenery, a warm and inviting fireside lounge, indoor pool, sun deck with hot tub, fitness center, business center, children's arcade and onsite dining at the Falcon's Bar & Grill - with delicious American Cuisine daily specials and happy hour from 3:00 p.M.-6:00 P.M. Late arrivals enjoy the new 24 Hour Convenient Store located by the front desk. Wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with waffle and made to order omelet bar! Other free amenities include: high speed Internet, HBO(R) movies, business center services, parking and unlimited local calls.Nine conference, banquet and meeting rooms accommodate 350 people -making The Academy Hotel the ideal location for weddings, reunions, social events, holiday buffets and corporate conferences. Tower rooms have been updated with a warm blend of natural earth tone decor, 50" flat screen TVs,Gel Memory Foam Mattresses, traditional quality furnishings, microwave, mini fridge and upper floors are served by Elevator. All rooms feature comfortable beds with luxurious triple sheeted linens,mini fridge & Microwave.Whether your stay is for business, pleasure or special event, the attentive staff at The Academy Hotel will ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable! Family Owned and Operated for over 30 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Best Western
Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing